## NOTICE OF PROPOSED REGULATION CHANGES, PUBLIC HEARING, AND PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

The Arkansas Pollution Control and Ecology Commission (APC&EC) will hold a public hearing in North Little Rock on January 9, 2019, to receive comments on proposed repeal of APC&EC Regulation 14 (Regulation and Administrative Procedures for the Waste Tire Program). The hearing will begin at 2:00 p.m. in the Commission Room at the Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality (ADEQ) headquarters building, 5301 Northshore Drive, North Little Rock, AR 72118. In the event of inclement weather or other unforeseen circumstances, a decision may be made to postpone the hearing. If the hearing is postponed and rescheduled, a new legal notice will be published to announce the details of the new hearing date and comment period.

The deadline for submitting written comments on the proposed regulation is 4:30 p.m. (Central Time) January 25, 2019. APC&EC authority for proposed repeal of Regulation 14 is Act 317 of 2017, the Used Tire Recycling and Accountability Act, Ark. Code Ann. § 8-9-401 et seq. This law transferred the waste tire program under Regulation 14 to a new program.

The proposed complete repeal of Regulation 14 is necessitated by its obsolescence after the passage of Act 317 of 2017 and the subsequent promulgation of the new, permanent APC&EC Regulation 36 (Tire Accountability Program) that became effective on August 13, 2018, and supersedes Regulation 14. The complete filing with the APC&EC related to the proposed repeal of Regulation 14 can be found on the Draft Regulations page on ADEO's website at www.adeq.state.ar.us/regs/draft regs.aspx under APC&E Commission Docket #18-007-R.

Copies of the proposed repeal of Regulation 14 are available for public inspection during regular business hours at the ADEQ headquarters building, 5301 Northshore Drive, North Little Rock, AR 72118; the Arkansas State Library; the Arkansas Secretary of State; or at ADEQ information depositories located in public libraries at Arkadelphia, Batesville, Blytheville, Camden, Clinton, Crossett, El Dorado, Fayetteville, Forrest City, Fort Smith, Harrison, Helena, Hope, Hot Springs, Jonesboro, Little Rock, Magnolia, Mena, Monticello, Mountain Home, Pocahontas, Russellville, Searcy, Stuttgart, Texarkana, and West Memphis; in campus libraries at the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff and the University of Central Arkansas at Conway.

Oral and written comments will be accepted at the hearing, but written comments are preferred in the interest of accuracy. In addition, written and electronic mail comments will be considered if received no later than 4:30 p.m. (Central Time) January 25, 2019. Written comments should be delivered or mailed to: Raeanne Gardner, Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality, 5301 Northshore Drive, North Little Rock, AR 72118. Electronic mail comments should be sent to: reg-comment@adeq.state.ar.us.

Published December 13 and 14, 2018 Becky W. Keogh, Director, Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality