## ARKANSAS WASTEWATER LICENSING COMMITTEE WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER 14, 2018 Room 1E09 – Conference Room

## **Committee Members**

Rodney Williams, Chairman, Ph.D., University of Arkansas
Jennifer Enos, Vice-Chairman, Springdale Water Utilities
Michael Overstreet, Jacksonville Wastewater
Lance McAvoy, City of Fort Smith
Cecil Zolliecoffer, Ozark Water Department
Richard Healey, Executive Secretary, ADEQ
Jonathan Richardson, Martin Operating Partnership - absent

## **MINUTES**

The meeting of the Arkansas Wastewater Licensing Committee (AWLC) was called to order by Chairman Rodney Williams, at 10:03 A.M. on Wednesday, November 14, 2018.

<u>Public Present</u>: Michael Chitwood, reciprocity applicant from Oklahoma and Bryan Phillips, reciprocity applicant from Texas; Kenny Harvey, AR Environmental Training Academy; Shelby Townsley, AR Rural Water Association; Sandy Luttrell and Leslie Allen-Daniel, ADEQ, Office of Water Quality.

<u>Previous Minutes</u>: After reviewing the August 8<sup>th</sup> meeting minutes, **Mr. McAvoy made a motion to accept the minutes as written, which was seconded by Ms. Enos. The motion was accepted.** 

Financial Report: Ms. Daniel presented the financial reports to the Committee, along with the expenditures.

Licensing Report: Ms. Daniel reported numbers and types of wastewater licenses issued during the past quarter.

<u>Training Updates</u>: Mr. Harvey announced the number of classes held and students in attendance for wastewater training courses offered by the Environmental Training Academy.

Mr. Townsley presented the Committee with a verbal report of wastewater classroom training completed and attendance counts by the Rural Water Association.

There were no additional public comments brought before the Committee.

<u>Old Business</u>: The Committee was presented with the Arkansas Pollution Control & Ecology (APC&E) Commission's minute order appointing Cecil Zolliecoffer for a three-year term on the Wastewater Licensing Committee. On behalf of all the board members, Chairman Williams welcomed Mr. Zolliecoffer.

Mr. Healey presented a resignation letter from committee member, William Wright, effective the end of September. This vacancy on the Board calls for a member employed by a private corporation or industry in the state that is nominated by the same, for service on the committee. Letters for entities with organizations were prepared and sent out the day before this meeting.

The Board discussed presenting Mr. Wright with an appreciation plaque for over four years of service on the Committee. Mr. McAvoy made a motion to recognize his service with ADEQ by sending a plaque to his new address. Mr. Overstreet seconded this motion and it carried.

Continuing under "old business", Ms. Enos asked where we are in the process of bringing up new legislation to remove set fees for testing. Mr. Healey stated that our Legal Division is in the process of drafting legislation which is still being reviewed.

Mr. Williams asked about the Governor "combining/reduction" of state government offices into fewer numbers and if our committee would still be around. Mr. Healey has not heard anything on this, but believes existing Committees will not be affected.

<u>New Business</u>: Mr. Healey presented the Board with three (3) program options available to testing clients of the Association of Boards of Certification (ABC) for the 2019 calendar year. The new test questions for 2019 will eliminate state specific regulatory questions and bring metric conversions into play. After extensive review of each option, Mr. McAvoy made a motion to adopt option 2, allowing an additional six months of the current 2012 test questions to be proctored at no additional charge, then switching over to the new 2019 questions after June 30, 2019. Ms. Enos seconded the motion and it carried.

Reciprocity Requests: Oklahoma applicant Michael Chitwood, who appeared before the Committee to request an Arkansas Class IV license through reciprocity. He currently holds an OK Class A license (equivalent to the Arkansas Class IV), which Oklahoma granted him by reciprocity with Arkansas back in August, 2013. Mr. Chitwood previously held an Arkansas Class IV license (issued March 4, 2009) that remained current until he let it expire in June, 2015. Ms. Enos made a motion to approve an Arkansas Class IV license, contingent to him providing current training hours to ADEQ. The motion was seconded by Mr. Zolliecoffer and it carried.

Also present for this meeting was Texas applicant, Bryan Phillips, who is requesting his TX Class B license be considered for reciprocity with Arkansas (equivalent to Arkansas Class III). His completed application revealed that he had let his Texas license expire last month, on October 23. 2018. **Mr. McAvoy made a motion to deny his request for reciprocity, but allow him to sit for the Arkansas Class III exam immediately. This was seconded by Mr. Overstreet and the motion carried.** 

Discuss Arizona reciprocity applicant, Gregorio Ramon, who is requesting an Arkansas Class III through reciprocity. He currently holds an AZ Grade 3 Wastewater Treatment Operator license which is equivalent with the state. Mr. McAvoy made a motion to grant him an Arkansas Class III license with the opportunity to sit for a Class IV exam, contingent on him providing additional training hours. Mr. Overstreet seconded the motion and it carried.

The last reciprocity applicant to be considered for an Arkansas license is James Robert South. He currently holds a Wastewater Treatment Grade 4 in Iowa, which is equivalent to our Class IV license, which is what he is requesting. After reviewing his completed questionnaire from the Iowa Department of Natural Resources, it was discovered that all state exams are administered through the Association of Boards of Certification (ABC). Ms. Enos made a motion to grant him an Arkansas Class IV license, which was seconded by Mr. McAvoy. The motion carried.

Concluding new business, Mr. Healey informed the Committee that Jennifer Enos' first term of service on the Board would be ending January 31, 2019. She was asked if she would like to continue serving on the Committee for a second term, which she agrees to do. Mr. Healey will recommend this reappointment to the Commission.

Mr. Williams announced the next scheduled meeting: February 13, 2019 at 10:00 a.m.

The meeting adjourned at 11:46 a.m.