

Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality

Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment Rebate Program

The Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality (ADEQ) is working to expand the State's growing electric vehicle charging infrastructure through the Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) Rebate Program.

Through this program, government, private, and non-profit organizations may qualify for a rebate for the installation of an electric vehicle charging station, known as Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE). In order to receive a rebate, eligible participants must submit an application to ADEQ, which will issue rebates on a <u>first-come</u>, <u>first-served basis</u>. No reservations will be accepted.

ADEQ has allocated \$2,081,650.36 to be awarded as rebates under this program. Half of this allocation is reserved for Publically Available DC Fast Charging EVSE rebates for the first two years of the program [Dates]. If any funds reserved for Publically Available DC Fast Charging EVSE rebates are not expended as of [Date], these funds will become available for Level 2 rebates.

The EVSE Rebate Program provides rebates based on the price of the EVSE that was installed on or after _______. Applications must be received by ADEQ within 60 days of the date that the equipment installation was completed.

The EVSE Rebate Program is a new program unique and separate from previous funding opportunities, established by legislation under Act #851 of 2017 (The Arkansas Alternative Motor Fuel Development Act). As such, funding mechanisms established under previous vehicle rebate programs will not apply to this new program.

This document provides rebate eligibility, incentive levels, and terms and conditions for the following types of projects:

- Publicly Available Level 2 EVSE Rebate
- Workplace and Multi-Unit Dwelling Level 2 EVSE Rebate
- Corridor DC Fast Charging EVSE Rebate

Definitions

- "Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment" or "EVSE" means the conductors, including the ungrounded, grounded, and equipment grounding conductors and the electric vehicle connectors, attachment plugs, and all other fittings, devices, power outlets, or apparatus installed specifically for the purpose of delivering energy from the premises wiring to the electric vehicle.
- "Level 2 EVSE" means a freestanding or wall-mounted charging structure capable of being networked that delivers a 208/240V charge via a SAE J1772 or "J" plug.
- "DC Fast Charging EVSE" means a freestanding or wall-mounted structure capable of being networked with an electrical output of 50kW or higher direct current with CHAdeMO and Combined Charging System connectors. <u>Tesla chargers are not eligible for this rebate</u>.
- "Equipment Purchase Price" means the purchase price of the charging mechanism only. The following are not considered to be part of the equipment purchase price for the purposes of this rebate: site acquisition; electrical panels and switchgear; engineering, design, and permitting; utility upgrades; project management; construction; and data service plan costs.
- "Government-owned property available to the public" means any property that is owned by an Arkansas state agency or Arkansas government entity. EVSE at these locations must be available to the general public and must have an open payment method, including acceptance of credit and fleet cards, if payment is required for charging at the EVSE.
- "Non-Government-owned property available to the public" means any property that is not owned by an Arkansas state agency or Arkansas government entity. Types of eligible properties include but are not limited to refueling stations, restaurants, shopping facilities, gyms, etc. EVSE at these locations must be available to the general public and must have an open payment method, including acceptance of credit and fleet cards, if payment is required for charging at the EVSE. *Private residences are excluded*.
- "Workplace (without public access)" means any property where EVSE is installed for use by the employees/staff of that entity. EVSE at these locations is NOT available to the general public.
- "Multi-Unit Dwelling (without public access)" means any property where EVSE is installed for use by the residents living in that specific complex. EVSE at these locations is NOT available to the general public.
- "Networked" means having access to a data network via cellular, Ethernet, WIFI or some other form of connection that provides real-time information to drivers regarding location and availability of the EVSE and collects and transmits data on charging supply utilization, including kilowatt hours dispensed and time of use, to a platform accessible by ADEQ.
- "Site Host" is an entity or organization that has installed EVSE at their location/on their property.

Publicly Available Level 2 EVSE Rebate

Eligibility

- New networked Level 2 EVSE (208/240V with a SAE J1772 or "J" plug) with a minimum of 7kW AC output installed within the State of Arkansas where the EVSE is available to the general public for charging of electric vehicles
- A maximum of ten (10) Level 2 EVSE are eligible under this rebate per property
- The following are NOT ELIGIBLE under this rebate:
 - o EVSE installations completed prior to [INSERT DATE]
 - o EVSE located at a private residence
 - o Leased or pre-owned EVSE
 - Upgrades to or replacement of existing EVSE
 - EVSE owned or installed by Volkswagen AG, Audi AG, Volkswagen Group of America, Inc., and Volkswagen Group of America Chattanooga Operations, LLC, or any subsidiary thereof

Rebate Incentive Amounts

Rebates will be awarded on a first-come, first-served basis up to the equipment purchase price and installation cost of the EVSE multiplied by the eligible rebate percentage, not to exceed the maximum rebate in dollars. The eligible rebate percentage is assigned based on organization type. The maximum rebate cap in dollars is based on the number of charging ports on the eligible EVSE. The table below provides the rebate amounts for publically available Level 2 EVSE:

See Definitions for explanation of each organization type listed below (Page 2)	Rebate	Maximum Rebate in Dollars (One Charging Port)	Maximum Rebate in Dollars (Two or More Charging Ports)
Government-owned property available to the public for charging	90%	\$6,850	\$9,300
Non-Government-owned property available to the public for charging	70%	\$5,325	\$7,225

Rebate will be based on the applicable percentage listed in the table or the applicable maximum rebate amount in dollars, whichever one is less.

Terms and Conditions

- o The effective date of this program is _____. Only installations completed after this date, as identified by the final building permit approval date attached to the application are eligible.
- o An incomplete application will be considered ineligible for consideration until all necessary supporting documents are provided to ADEQ. Complete applications will be considered for rebate funds on a **first-come**, **first-served basis**.
- EVSE must be installed within in the State of Arkansas, available to the public during the site host's normal business hours without calling ahead, and must use an open payment method, including acceptance of credit/debit cards and fleet cards, if payment will be required for charging at the EVSE
- EVSE must be new equipment installed by a qualified and licensed contractor in accordance with all state and local codes, permitting and inspection requirements. All EVSE must utilize the SAE J1772 charge coupler.
- O Dual port charging stations and/or charging stations with the capability of charging multiple vehicles at one time are considered one station under the EVSE Rebate Program.
- o EVSE must maintain for a minimum of five (5) years from the date of rebate application a network data service platform with the following capabilities:
 - o Track station's charge history, including kilowatt hours dispensed and time of use
 - o Support payment by fleet fueling cards, credit cards, debit cards if payment will be required for charging at the EVSE
 - o Provide driver support for all hours the EVSE will be operational, including location, payment support, and real-time availability
 - o Prepare reports on or provide web-based access to kilowatt hours dispensed and time of use at rebate funded EVSE for submission to ADEQ
- o Parking spaces with EVSE funded under this rebate must post signage indicating that the space with the EVSE is reserved for electric vehicle parking while charging only.
- The applicant agrees to provide web-based access to data on kilowatt hours dispensed and time of use of the EVSE to ADEQ for a period of five (5) years from date of application.
- The applicant must authorize ADEQ to obtain data directly from the network service data provider.
- o The applicant agrees to maintain the EVSE in good working order and continuous operation, to promptly repair any non- or under-performing equipment, and to maintain a network data service plan for transmission of usage data to a network data service platform for a minimum of five (5) years from date of application.
 - o Continuous operation and maintenance is considered 95% uptime based on site host's operation hours for Level 2.
 - o If the applicant is unable to continue operation, maintenance, and network data service for the EVSE for the full five (5) year period, the applicant agrees to repay the rebate award prorated based on the remaining period of operation, maintenance, and network data service required for the EVSE.

o The repayment schedule will be based on the period of continuous operation from the application date, maintenance, and network data service rounded to the nearest month according to the table below:

Period of Operation, Maintenance, and Repayment (% of rebate award)

0

Publicly Available Level 2 EVSE Rebate

Data Service	
12 months or less	100%
(365 days or less)	
>12 months, but ≤24 months	80%
(366 days to 730 days)	
>24 months, but ≤36 months	60%
(731 days to 1095 days)	
>36 months, but ≤48 months	40%
(1096 days to 1460 days)	
>48 months, but ≤60 months	20%
(1461 days to 1825 days)	

ADEQ makes no representations, expressed or implied, regarding the design, construction, reliability, performance, operation, maintenance, or use of any equipment awarded under this rebate. Any decision regarding the selection, design, purchase, installation, use and operation of any equipment other than the terms and conditions specified above shall be at the sole discretion and are the sole responsibility of the applicant.

Documentation Needed for a Completed Application

- All applications will be submitted online. Applications submitted via U.S. Mail or other mail entities will **NOT** be accepted.
- The following supporting documentation is to be attached to the application:
 - Photocopy of itemized paid invoice(s), itemized receipt(s) or itemized equivalent proof of payment for EVSE equipment. Must include a detailed, paid vendor invoice with at least the following information:
 - Model number, description, and equipment purchase price of EVSE
 - Network Service Plan price
 - Station Activation price
 - Sales Tax
 - Invoice Date
 - o Photocopy of paid invoice(s), itemized receipt(s), or itemized equivalent proof of payment for installation and labor.
 - o Photocopy of building/electrical permit authorizing operation of installed EVSE
 - o Photo of completed EVSE installation

Workplace and Multi-Unit Dwelling Level 2 EVSE Rebate

Eligibility

- New networked Level 2 EVSE (208/240V with a SAE J1772 or "J" plug) with a minimum of 7kW AC output installed within the State of Arkansas at one of the following property types:
 - A workplace where the EVSE is available to employees but is not typically available to the general public; and
 - A multi-unit dwelling (minimum of eight units) where EVSE is available to residents but is not typically available to the general public.
- A maximum of ten (10) Level 2 EVSE are eligible under this rebate per property
- The following are NOT ELIGIBLE under this rebate:
 - o EVSE installations completed prior to [INSERT DATE]
 - o EVSE located at a private residence
 - o Leased or pre-owned EVSE
 - o Upgrades to or replacement of existing EVSE
 - o EVSE owned or installed by Volkswagen AG, Audi AG, Volkswagen Group of America, Inc., and Volkswagen Group of America Chattanooga Operations, LLC, or any subsidiary thereof

Rebate Incentive Amounts

Rebates will be awarded on a first-come, first-served basis up to the equipment purchase price and installation cost of the EVSE multiplied by the eligible rebate percentage, not to exceed the maximum rebate per charging port in dollars. The percentage rebate is per EVSE regardless of the number of charging ports. The maximum rebate cap in dollars is based on the number of charging ports on the eligible EVSE. The table below provides the rebate amounts for workplace or multi-unit dwelling Level 2 EVSE.:

See Definitions for explanation of each organization type listed below (Page 2)	Rebate	Maximum Rebate in Dollars (One Charging Port)	Maximum Rebate in Dollars (Two or More Charging Ports)
Workplace (without public access)	50%	\$1,875	\$3,375
Multi-Unit Dwelling (without public access)	50%	\$1,875	\$3,375

Rebate will be based on the applicable percentage listed in the table or the applicable maximum rebate amount in dollars, whichever one is less.

Terms and Conditions

- o The effective date of this program is _____. Only installations completed after this date, as identified by the final building permit approval date attached to the application are eligible.
- o An incomplete application will be considered ineligible for consideration until all necessary supporting documents are provided to ADEQ. Complete applications will be considered for rebate funds on a **first-come**, **first-served basis**.
- o EVSE must be installed within in the State of Arkansas.
- EVSE must be new equipment installed by a qualified and licensed contractor in accordance with all state and local codes, permitting and inspection requirements. All EVSE must utilize the CHAdeMO or Combined Charging System connectors.
- o EVSE must maintain for a minimum of five (5) years from the date of rebate application a network data service platform with the following capabilities:
 - o Track station's charge history, including kilowatt hours dispensed and time of use
 - o Prepare reports on or provide web-based access to kilowatt hours dispensed and time of use at rebate funded EVSE for submission to ADEQ
- o Parking spaces with EVSE funded under this rebate must post signage indicating that the space with the EVSE is reserved for electric vehicle parking while charging only.
- o The applicant agrees to provide web-based access to data on kilowatt hours dispensed and time of use of the EVSE to ADEQ for a period of five (5) years from date of application.
- o The applicant must authorize ADEQ to obtain data directly from the network service data provider.
- o The applicant agrees to maintain the EVSE in good working order and continuous operation, to promptly repair any non- or under-performing equipment, and to maintain a network data service plan for transmission of usage data to a network data service platform for a minimum of five (5) years.
 - o Continuous operation and maintenance is considered 95% uptime based on site host's operation hours for Level 2.
 - o If the applicant is unable to continue operation, maintenance, and network data service for the EVSE for the full five year period, the applicant agrees to repay the rebate award prorated based on the period of operation, maintenance, and network data service for the EVSE.

The repayment schedule will be based on the period of continuous operation from the application date, maintenance, and network data service rounded to the nearest month according to the table below:

Period of Operation, Maintenance, and	Repayment (% of rebate award)
Data Service	
12 months or less	100%
(365 days or less)	
>12 months, but ≤24 months	80%
(366 days to 730 days)	
>24 months, but ≤36 months	60%
(731 days to 1095 days)	
>36 months, but ≤48 months	40%
(1096 days to 1460 days)	

_

Workplace and Multi-Unit Dwelling Level 2 EVSE Rebate

>48 months, but ≤60 months	20%
(1461 days to 1825 days)	

• ADEQ makes no representations, expressed or implied, regarding the design, construction, reliability, performance, operation, maintenance, or use of any equipment awarded under this rebate. Any decision regarding the selection, design, purchase, installation, use and operation of any equipment other than the terms and conditions specified above shall be at the sole discretion and are the sole responsibility of the applicant.

Documentation Needed for a Completed Application

- All applications will be submitted online. Applications submitted via U.S. Mail or other mail entities will **NOT** be accepted.
- The following supporting documentation is be attached to the application:
 - o Photocopy of itemized paid invoice(s), itemized receipt(s) or itemized equivalent proof of payment for EVSE equipment. Must include a detailed, paid vendor invoice with at least the following information:
 - Model number, description, and equipment purchase price of EVSE
 - Network Service Plan price
 - Station Activation price
 - Sales Tax
 - Invoice Date
 - o Photocopy of paid invoice (s), itemized receipt(s), or itemized equivalent proof of payment for installation and labor.
 - o Photocopy of building/electrical permit authorizing operation of installed EVSE
 - o Photo of completed EVSE installation.

Corridor DC Fast Charging EVSE Rebate

Eligibility

- New networked DC Fast Charging EVSE (CHAdeMO and Combined Charging System [CCS] connectors) with a minimum of 50kW output located within the State of Arkansas meeting the following criteria:
 - o The DC Fast Charging EVSE is available to the general public for charging of electric vehicles 24 hours daily
 - o The property at which the DC Fast Charging EVSE is installed is located within two miles of an exit onto one of the following highways in Arkansas:
 - Interstate 40
 - Interstate 30
 - Highway 67/167 (Future Interstate 57)
 - Interstate 55
 - Interstate 49
- The following are NOT ELIGIBLE under this rebate:
 - o EVSE installations completed prior to [INSERT DATE]
 - o EVSE located at a private residence
 - Leased or pre-owned EVSE
 - o Upgrades to or replacement of existing EVSE equipment
 - EVSE owned or installed by Volkswagen AG, Audi AG, Volkswagen Group of America, Inc., and Volkswagen Group of America Chattanooga Operations, LLC, or any subsidiary thereof

Rebate Incentive Amounts

Rebates will be awarded on a first-come, first-served basis up to the equipment purchase price and installation cost of the EVSE multiplied by the eligible rebate percentage, not to exceed the maximum rebate in dollars. The eligible rebate percentage is assigned based on organization type. The table below provides the rebate amounts for each DC Fast Charging EVSE:

See Definitions for explanation of each organization type listed below (Page 2)	Rebate	Maximum Rebate per DC Fast Charging EVSE
Government-owned property available to the public for charging	90%	72,000
Non-Government-owned property available to the public for charging	80%	64,000

Rebate will be based on the applicable percentage listed in the table or the applicable maximum rebate amount in dollars, whichever one is less.

Terms and Conditions

- o The effective date of this program is _____. Only installations completed after this date, as identified by the final building permit approval date attached to the application are eligible.
- o An incomplete application will be considered ineligible for consideration until all necessary supporting documents are provided to ADEQ. Complete applications will be considered for rebate funds on a **first-come**, **first-served basis**.
- EVSE must be installed within in the State of Arkansas, available to the public 24 hours a day 7 days a week without calling ahead and must have an open payment method, including acceptance of credit/debit cards and fleet cards, if payment will be required for charging at the EVSE during normal business hours without calling ahead, and must be an open payment method, including acceptance of credit/debit cards and fleet cards,
- EVSE must be new equipment installed by a qualified and licensed contractor in accordance with all state and local codes, permitting and inspection requirements. All EVSE must utilize CHAdeMO and SAE CCS charge couplers.
- o Dual port charging stations and/or charging stations with the capability of charging multiple vehicles at one time are considered one station under the EVSE Rebate Program.
- EVSE must maintain for a minimum of five (5) years from the date of rebate application a network data service platform with the following capabilities:
 - o Track station's charge history, including kilowatt hours dispensed and time of use
 - o Support payment by fleet fueling cards, credit cards, debit cards if payment will be required for charging at the EVSE
 - o Provide driver support for all hours the EVSE will be operational, including location, payment support, and real-time availability
 - Prepare reports on or provide web-based access to kilowatt hours dispensed and time of use at rebate funded EVSE for submission to ADEQ
- o Parking spaces with EVSE funded under this rebate must post signage indicating that the space with the EVSE is reserved for electric vehicle parking while charging only.
- The applicant agrees to provide web-based access to data on kilowatt hours dispensed and time of use of the EVSE to ADEQ for a period of five (5) years from date of application.
- The applicant must authorize ADEQ to obtain data directly from the network service data provider.
- O The applicant agrees to maintain the EVSE in good working order and continuous operation, to promptly repair any non- or under-performing equipment, and to maintain a network data service plan for transmission of usage data to a network data service platform for a minimum of five (5) years from date of application.
 - o Continuous operation and maintenance is based on 24 hours a day, 7 days a week for DC Fast Chargers.
 - o If the applicant is unable to continue operation, maintenance, and network data service for the EVSE for the full five year period, the applicant agrees to repay the rebate award prorated based on the period of operation, maintenance, and network data service for the EVSE.

0

o The repayment schedule will be based on the period of continuous operation from the application date, maintenance, and network data service rounded to the nearest month according to the table below:

Period of Operation, Maintenance, and	Repayment (% of rebate award)
Data Service	
12 months or less	100%
(365 days or less)	
>12 months, but ≤24 months	80%
(366 days to 730 days)	
>24 months, but ≤36 months	60%
(731 days to 1095 days)	
>36 months, but ≤48 months	40%
(1096 days to 1460 days)	
>48 months, but ≤60 months	20%
(1460 days to 1825 days)	

ADEQ makes no representations, expressed or implied, regarding the design, construction, reliability, performance, operation, maintenance, or use of any equipment awarded under this rebate. Any decision regarding the selection, design, purchase, installation, use and operation of any equipment other than the terms and conditions specified above shall be at the sole discretion and are the sole responsibility of the applicant.

Documentation Needed for a Completed Application

- All applications will be submitted online. Applications submitted via U.S. Mail or other mail entities will **NOT** be accepted.
- The following supporting documentation is be attached to the application:
 - Photocopy of itemized paid invoice(s), itemized receipt(s) or itemized equivalent proof of payment for EVSE equipment. Must include a detailed, paid vendor invoice with at least the following information:
 - Model number, description, and equipment purchase price of EVSE
 - Network Service Plan price
 - Station Activation price
 - Sales Tax
 - Invoice Date
 - o Photocopy of paid invoice(s), itemized receipt(s), or itemized equivalent proof of payment for installation and labor.
 - o Photocopy of building/electrical permit authorizing operation of installed EVSE
 - o Photo of completed EVSE installation

