
 

 

Permit Number: AR0050784 

AFIN: 32-00515 

AUTHORIZATION TO DISCHARGE WASTEWATER UNDER 

THE NATIONAL POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION SYSTEM AND  

THE ARKANSAS WATER AND AIR POLLUTION CONTROL ACT 

In accordance with the provisions of the Arkansas Water and Air Pollution Control Act (Ark. Code Ann. 

8-4-101 et seq.), and the Clean Water Act (33 U.S.C. § 1251 et seq.),  

Southside Public Water Authority 

Wastewater Treatment Plant 

is authorized to discharge treated municipal wastewater from a facility located as follows: 115 King 

George Street, Southside, AR, in Independence County.  

Facility Coordinates:   Latitude: 35 41’ 1.45” N; Longitude: 91 37’ 21.84” W 

Receiving stream: Caney Creek, thence to Salado Creek, thence to the White River in Segment 

4F of the White River Basin. 

The permitted outfall is located at the following coordinates:  

Outfall 001: Latitude: 35 40’ 52” N; Longitude: 91 37’ 22” W 

Discharge shall be in accordance with effluent limitations, monitoring requirements, and other conditions 

set forth in this permit. Per Part III.D.10, the permittee must re-apply 180 days prior to the expiration date 

below for permit coverage to continue beyond the expiration date. 

Effective Date: October 1, 2024 

Expiration Date: September 30, 2029 

 

 

 

_____________________________________   ____________________________ 

Stacie R. Wassell Issue Date 

Associate Director, Office of Water Quality 

Arkansas Department of Energy and Environment 

Division of Environmental Quality 

Stacie.Wassell
Typewritten Text
September 24, 2024
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PART I 

PERMIT REQUIREMENTS 

SECTION A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS: OUTFALL 001 - treated municipal wastewater. 

During the period beginning on the effective date and lasting until the date of expiration, the permittee is authorized to discharge from Outfall 001. 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below as well as Parts II and III. See Part IV for all definitions. 

Effluent Characteristics 

Discharge Limitations Monitoring Requirements 

Mass 

(lbs/day, else 

specified) 

Concentration 

(mg/l, else specified) Frequency Sample Type 

Monthly Avg. Monthly Avg. 7-Day Avg. 

Flow N/A Report, MGD 
Report, MGD 

(Daily Max.) 
five/week instantaneous 

Overflows Monthly Total SSOs (occurrences/month) see comments1 

Overflow Volume Monthly Total Volume of SSOs (gallons/month) see comments1 

Carbonaceous Biochemical Oxygen 

Demand (CBOD5) 
 

(May – October) 16.7 8 12 once/quarter grab 

(November – April) 20.9 10 15 once/quarter grab 

Total Suspended Solids (TSS) 31.3 15.0 22.5 once/quarter grab 

Ammonia Nitrogen (NH3-N)  

(April) 11.3 5.4 5.4 once/month grab 

(May – October) 8.1 3.9 5.4 once/quarter grab 

(November – March) 14.6 7.0 10.5 once/5 months grab 

Dissolved Oxygen (DO) N/A 7.0 (Inst. Min.) once/quarter grab 

Fecal Coliform Bacteria (FCB)  (colonies/100ml)  

(January – April) N/A 1000 2000 once/4 months grab 

(May – June) N/A 200 400 once/2 months grab 

(July – September) N/A 200 400 once/quarter grab 

(October – December) N/A 1000 2000 once/quarter grab 

pH N/A 
Minimum 

6.0 s.u. 

Maximum 

9.0 s.u. 
once/quarter grab 

 
1 See Part II.6 (SSO Condition). If there are no overflows during the entire month, report “zero” (0). 

Oil, grease, or petrochemical substances shall not be present in receiving waters to the extent that they produce globules or other residue or any 

visible, colored film on the surface or coat the banks and/or bottoms of the waterbody or adversely affect any of the associated biota. There 

shall be no visible sheen as defined in Part IV of this permit. 

Samples and measurements taken as required herein shall be representative of the volume and nature of the monitored discharge during the 

entire monitoring period. Samples shall be taken after final treatment, prior to the receiving stream. 
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SECTION B. PERMIT COMPLIANCE SCHEDULE 

None 
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PART II 

OTHER CONDITIONS 

1. The operator of this wastewater treatment facility shall be licensed as at least Class III by the 

State of Arkansas in accordance with APC&EC Rule 3. 

2. For publicly owned treatment works, the 30-day average percent removal for Carbonaceous 

Biochemical Oxygen Demand (CBOD5) and Total Suspended Solids (TSS) shall not be less 

than 85 percent unless otherwise authorized by the permitting authority in accordance with 40 

C.F.R. § 133.102. 

3. In accordance with 40 C.F.R. §§ 122.62(a)(2) and 124.5, this permit may be reopened for 

modification or revocation and/or reissuance to require additional monitoring and/or effluent 

limitations when new information is received that actual or potential exceedance of State water 

quality criteria and/or narrative criteria are determined to be the result of the permittee’s 

discharge(s) to a relevant water body or a Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) is established 

or revised for the water body that was not available at the time of the permit issuance that 

would have justified the application of different permit conditions at the time of permit 

issuance. 

4. Other Specified Monitoring Requirements 

The permittee may use alternative appropriate monitoring methods and analytical instruments 

other than as specified in Part I.A of the permit without a major permit modification under the 

following conditions: 

• The monitoring and analytical instruments are consistent with accepted scientific practices. 

• The requests shall be submitted in writing to the Permits Branch of the Office of Water 

Quality of the DEQ for use of the alternate method or instrument. 

• The method and/or instrument is in compliance with 40 C.F.R. Part 136 or approved in 

accordance with 40 C.F.R. § 136.5. 

• All associated devices are installed, calibrated, and maintained to ensure the accuracy of 

the measurements and are consistent with the accepted capability of that type of device. 

The calibration and maintenance shall be performed as part of the permittee’s laboratory 

Quality Assurance/Quality Control (QA/QC) program. 

Upon written approval of the alternative monitoring method and/or analytical instruments, 

these methods or instruments must be consistently utilized throughout the monitoring period. 

DEQ must be notified in writing and the permittee must receive written approval from DEQ if 

the permittee decides to return to the original permit monitoring requirements. 

5. Best Management Practices (BMPs), as defined in Part IV.7, must be implemented for the 

facility along with the collection system to prevent or reduce the pollution of waters of the 

State from stormwater runoff, spills or leaks, sludge or waste disposal, or drainage from raw 

sewage. The permittee must amend the BMPs whenever there is a change in the facility or a 

change in the operation of the facility. 
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6. Sanitary Sewer Overflow (SSO) Reporting Requirements: 

All Sanitary Sewer Overflows are prohibited. 

A. A sanitary sewer overflow is any spill, release or diversion of wastewater from a sanitary 

sewer collection system including:  

1. Any overflow, whether it discharges to the waters of the state or not. 

2. An overflow of wastewater, including a wastewater backup into a building (other than 

a backup caused solely by a blockage or other malfunction in a privately owned sewer 

or building lateral), even if that overflow does not reach waters of the state.  

B. 24-Hour Reporting: 

When an SSO is detected – no matter how small – it must be reported within 24 hours of 

its discovery to DEQ’s Water Quality Enforcement by using the online form in paragraph 

C below (the preferred method), by phone at (501) 682-0624, or by email 

at EE.WaterEnf.SSO@arkansas.gov.  

This initial 24-hour report should include the following information: 

1. Permit Number 

2. Location of overflow (manhole number or street address) 

3. The receiving water (if applicable) 

4. Cause of overflow (if known) 

5. Estimated volume of overflow so far 

6. Total duration of the overflow 

C. 5-Day Follow-Up Written Web Reporting: 

A written report of overflows shall be provided to DEQ within 5 days of the 24-hour report. 

A follow-up written report (5-day report) can be filled-in and submitted on the DEQ Office 

of Water Quality/Enforcement Branch Web page at: 

https://www.adeq.state.ar.us/water/enforcement/sso/submit.aspx?type=s 

D. 24-Hour and 5-Day Reporting: 

If the 24-hour report submitted includes all of the information requested above, then a 

follow-up 5-day report is not required. 

E. Reporting for All SSOs on DMR: 

At the end of the month, total the daily occurrences and volumes from all locations 

on your system and report this number on the DMR. For counting occurrences, each 

location on the sanitary sewer system where there is an overflow, spill, release, or diversion 

of wastewater on a given day is counted as one occurrence. For example, if on a given day 

overflows occur from a manhole at one location and from a damaged pipe at another 

location then you should record two occurrences for that day. 

mailto:EE.WaterEnf.SSO@arkansas.gov
https://www.adeq.state.ar.us/water/enforcement/sso/submit.aspx?type=s
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7. Contributing Industries and Pretreatment Requirements 

A. The following pollutants may not be introduced into the treatment facility:  

1. Pollutants which create a fire or explosion hazard in the publicly owned treatment 

works (POTW), including, but not limited to, wastestreams with a closed cup flashpoint 

of less than 140 degrees Fahrenheit (°F) or 60 degrees Centigrade (°C) using the test 

methods specified in 40 C.F.R. § 261.21; 

2. Pollutants which will cause corrosive structural damage to the POTW, but in no case 

discharges with pH lower than 5.0 s.u., unless the works is specifically designed to 

accommodate such discharges; 

3. Solid or viscous pollutants in amounts which will cause obstruction to the flow in the 

POTW, resulting in Interference or Pass Through (as defined in Part IV of the permit); 

4. Any pollutant, including oxygen demanding pollutants (BOD, etc.), released in a 

discharge at a flow rate and/or pollutant concentration which will cause Pass Through 

or Interference with the POTW; 

5. Heat in amounts which will inhibit biological activity in the POTW resulting in 

Interference, but in no case heat in such quantities that the temperature at the POTW 

treatment plant exceeds 40 °C (104 °F) unless the Approval Authority, upon request of 

the POTW, approves alternate temperature limits; 

6. Petroleum oil, non-biodegradable cutting oil, or products of mineral oil origin in 

amounts that will cause Interference or Pass Through; 

7. Pollutants which result in the presence of toxic gases, vapors, or fumes within the 

POTW in a quantity that may cause acute worker health and safety problems; 

8. Any trucked or hauled pollutants, except at discharge points designated by the POTW. 

B. The permittee shall require any indirect discharger to the treatment works to comply with 

the reporting requirements of Sections 204(b), 307, and 308 of the Clean Water Act 

(CWA), including any requirements established under 40 C.F.R. Part 403. 

C. The permittee shall provide adequate notice to the Division of the following:  

1. Any new introduction of pollutants into the treatment works from an indirect discharger 

which would be subject to Sections 301 or 306 of the CWA if it were directly 

discharging those pollutants; and 

2. Any substantial change in the volume or character of pollutants being introduced into 

the treatment works by a source introducing pollutants into the treatment works at the 

time of issuance of the permit. 

Any notice shall include information on (i) the quality and quantity of effluent to be 

introduced into the treatment works, and (ii) any anticipated impact of the change on the 

quality or quantity of effluent to be discharged from the POTW. 
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8. Monitoring Frequency Reductions 

The monitoring frequencies for Carbonaceous Biochemical Oxygen Demand (CBOD5), Total 

Suspended Solids (TSS), Ammonia-Nitrogen (NH3-N), and Fecal Coliform Bacteria (FCB) 

were reduced in the previous permit in accordance with Office of Water Quality (OWQ) 

memorandum “OWQ Monitoring Frequency Reduction Guidelines,” April 13, 2022. The 

monitoring frequencies for Dissolved Oxygen (DO) and pH have been reduced in this permit. 

The facility must remain in compliance with all limitations and requirements of the permit, 

(including, but not limited to: no exceedance of effluent limitations of the parameters for which 

reductions have been granted or failure to submit DMRs), and must not be subject to a new 

formal enforcement action, or the permit may be reopened to increase the monitoring 

frequencies of the above noted parameters in accordance with Part II.3 of the permit.   

The facility is not eligible for any further monitoring frequency reductions for CBOD5, TSS, 

NH3-N, DO, FCB, or pH. 
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PART III 

STANDARD CONDITIONS 

SECTION A – GENERAL CONDITIONS 

1. Duty to Comply 

The permittee must comply with all conditions of this permit. Any permit noncompliance 

constitutes a violation of the federal Clean Water Act and the Arkansas Water and Air Pollution 

Control Act and is grounds for enforcement action; for permit termination, revocation and 

reissuance, or modification; and/or for denial of a permit renewal application. Any values 

reported in the required Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR) which are in excess of an 

effluent limitation specified in Part I shall constitute evidence of violation of such effluent 

limitation and of this permit. 

2. Penalties for Violations of Permit Conditions 

The Arkansas Water and Air Pollution Control Act provides that any person who violates any 

provisions of a permit issued under the Act shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and upon 

conviction thereof shall be subject to imprisonment for not more than one (1) year, or a fine of 

not more than twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) or by both such fine and imprisonment 

for each day of such violation. Any person who violates any provision of a permit issued under 

the Act may also be subject to civil penalty in such amount as the court shall find appropriate, 

not to exceed ten thousand dollars ($10,000) for each day of such violation. The fact that any 

such violation may constitute a misdemeanor shall not be a bar to the maintenance of such civil 

action. 

3. Permit Actions 

This permit may be modified, revoked and reissued, or terminated for cause including, but not 

limited to the following: 

A. Violation of any terms or conditions of this permit. 

B. Obtaining this permit by misrepresentation or failure to disclose fully all relevant facts. 

C. A change in any conditions that requires either a temporary or permanent reduction or 

elimination of the authorized discharge. 

D. A determination that the permitted activity endangers human health or the environment 

and can only be regulated to acceptable levels by permit modification or termination. 

E. Failure of the permittee to comply with the provisions of APC&EC Rule 9 (Permit fees) as 

required by Part III.A.11 herein. 

The filing of a request by the permittee for a permit modification, revocation and reissuance, 

or termination, or a notification of planned changes or anticipated noncompliance, does not 

stay any permit condition. 
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4. Toxic Pollutants 

Notwithstanding Part III.A.3, if any toxic effluent standard or prohibition (including any 

schedule of compliance specified in such effluent standard or prohibition) is promulgated 

under APC&EC Rule 2, as amended, or Section 307(a) of the Clean Water Act for a toxic 

pollutant which is present in the discharge and that standard or prohibition is more stringent 

than any limitations on the pollutant in this permit, this permit shall be modified or revoked 

and reissued to conform to the toxic effluent standards or prohibition and the permittee so 

notified. 

The permittee shall comply with effluent standards, narrative criteria, or prohibitions 

established under APC&EC Rule 2, as amended, or Section 307(a) of the Clean Water Act for 

toxic pollutants within the time provided in the regulations that establish those standards or 

prohibitions, even if the permit has not yet been modified to incorporate the requirement. 

5. Civil and Criminal Liability 

Except as provided in permit conditions for “Bypass of Treatment Facilities” (Part III.B.4), 

and “Upset” (Part III.B.5), nothing in this permit shall be construed to relieve the permittee 

from civil or criminal penalties for noncompliance. Any false or materially misleading 

representation or concealment of information required to be reported by the provisions of this 

permit or applicable state and federal statutes or regulations which defeats the regulatory 

purposes of the permit may subject the permittee to criminal enforcement pursuant to the 

Arkansas Water and Air Pollution Control Act (Ark. Code Ann. § 8-4-101 et seq.). 

6. Oil and Hazardous Substance Liability 

Nothing in this permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of any legal action or 

relieve the permittee from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee 

is or may be subject to under Section 311 of the Clean Water Act. 

7. State Laws 

Nothing in this permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of any legal action or 

relieve the permittee from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties established pursuant to 

any applicable State law or regulation under authority preserved by Section 510 of the Clean 

Water Act. 

8. Property Rights 

The issuance of this permit does not convey any property rights of any sort, or any exclusive 

privileges, nor does it authorize any exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to 

private property or any invasion of personal rights, nor any infringement of Federal, State, or 

local laws or regulations. 
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9. Severability 

The provisions of this permit are severable, and if any provision of this permit, or the 

application of any provisions of this permit to any circumstance is held invalid, the application 

of such provision to other circumstances, and the remainder of this permit, shall not be affected 

thereby. 

10. Applicable Federal, State or Local Requirements 

Permittees are responsible for compliance with all applicable terms and conditions of this 

permit. Receipt of this permit does not relieve any operator of the responsibility to comply 

with any other applicable federal, state, or local requirement, statute, ordinance, or regulation. 

11. Permit Fees 

The permittee shall comply with all applicable permit fee requirements (i.e., including annual 

permit fees following the initial permit fee that will be invoiced every year the permit is active) 

for wastewater discharge permits as described in APC&EC Rule 9 (Rule for the Fee System 

for Environmental Permits). Failure to promptly remit all required fees shall be grounds for 

the Director to initiate action to terminate this permit under the provisions of 40 C.F.R. §§ 

122.64 and 124.5(d), as adopted in APC&EC Rule 6 and the provisions of APC&EC Rule 8. 

SECTION B – OPERATION AND MAINTENANCE OF POLLUTION CONTROLS 

1. Proper Operation and Maintenance 

A. The permittee shall at all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and systems of 

treatment and control (and related appurtenances) which are installed or used by the 

permittee to achieve compliance with the conditions of this permit. Proper operation and 

maintenance also includes adequate laboratory controls and appropriate quality assurance 

procedures. This provision requires the operation of backup or auxiliary facilities or similar 

systems which are installed by a permittee only when the operation is necessary to achieve 

compliance with the conditions of the permit. 

B. The permittee shall provide an adequate operating staff which is duly qualified to carryout 

operation, maintenance, and testing functions required to ensure compliance with the 

conditions of this permit. 

2. Need to Halt or Reduce not a Defense 

It shall not be a defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it would have been 

necessary to halt or reduce the permitted activity in order to maintain compliance with the 

conditions of this permit. Upon reduction, loss, or failure of the treatment facility, the permittee 

shall, to the extent necessary to maintain compliance with its permit, control production or 

discharges or both until the facility is restored or an alternative method of treatment is provided. 

This requirement applies, for example, when the primary source of power for the treatment 

facility is reduced, is lost, or alternate power supply fails. 
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3. Duty to Mitigate 

The permittee shall take all reasonable steps to minimize or prevent any discharge in violation 

of this permit which has a reasonable likelihood of adversely affecting human health or the 

environment or the water receiving the discharge. 

4. Bypass of Treatment Facilities 

“Bypass” means the intentional diversion of waste streams from any portion of a treatment 

facility, as defined at 40 C.F.R. § 122.41(m)(1)(i). 

A. Bypass not exceeding limitation  

The permittee may allow any bypass to occur which does not cause effluent limitations to 

be exceeded, but only if it also is for essential maintenance to assure efficient operation. 

These bypasses are not subject to the provisions of Parts III.B.4.B and 4.C. 

B. Notice  

1. Anticipated bypass. If the permittee knows in advance of the need for a bypass, it shall 

submit prior notice, if possible at least ten days before the date of the bypass. 

2. Unanticipated bypass. The permittee shall submit notice of an unanticipated bypass as 

required in Part III.D.6 (24-hour notice). 

C. Prohibition of bypass 

1. Bypass is prohibited and the Director may take enforcement action against a permittee 

for bypass, unless: 

(a) Bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, personal injury, or severe property 

damage; 

(b) There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, such as the use of auxiliary 

treatment facilities, retention of untreated wastes, or maintenance during normal 

periods of equipment downtime. This condition is not satisfied if the permittee 

could have installed adequate backup equipment to prevent a bypass which 

occurred during normal periods of equipment downtime or preventive 

maintenance; and 

(c) The permittee submitted notices as required by Part III.B.4.B. 

2. The Director may approve an anticipated bypass, after considering its adverse effects, 

if the Director determines that it will meet the three conditions listed above in Part 

III.B.4.C(1). 

5. Upset Conditions 

A. Effect of an upset. An upset constitutes an affirmative defense to an action brought for 

noncompliance with such technology based permit effluent limitations if the requirements 



Permit Number: AR0050784 

AFIN: 32-00515 

Page 5 of Part III 

 

 

of Part III.B.5.B of this section are met. No determination made during administrative 

review of claims that noncompliance was caused by upset, and before an action for 

noncompliance, is final administrative action subject to judicial review. 

B. Conditions necessary for demonstration of upset. A permittee who wishes to establish the 

affirmative defense of upset shall demonstrate, through properly signed, contemporaneous 

operating logs, or other relevant evidence that: 

1. An upset occurred and that the permittee can identify the specific cause(s) of the upset. 

2. The permitted facility was at the time being properly operated. 

3. The permittee submitted notice of the upset as required by Part III.D.6. 

4. The permittee complied with any remedial measures required by Part III.B.3. 

C. Burden of proof. In any enforcement proceeding, the permittee seeking to establish the 

occurrence of an upset has the burden of proof. 

6. Removed Substances 

A. Solids, sludges, filter backwash, or other pollutants removed in the course of treatment or 

control of wastewaters shall be disposed of in a manner such as to prevent any pollutant 

from such materials from entering waters of the State. The Permittee must comply with all 

applicable state and Federal regulations governing the disposal of sludge, including but not 

limited to 40 C.F.R. Parts 257, 258, and 503. 

B. Any changes to the permittee’s disposal practices described in the Statement of Basis, as 

derived from the permit application, will require at least 180 days prior notice to the 

Director to allow time for additional permitting. Please note that the 180 day notification 

requirement may be waived if additional permitting is not required for the change. 

7. Power Failure 

The permittee is responsible for maintaining adequate safeguards to prevent the discharge of 

untreated or inadequately treated wastes during electrical power failure either by means of 

alternate power sources, standby generators, or retention of inadequately treated effluent. 

SECTION C – MONITORING AND RECORDS 

1. Representative Sampling 

Samples and measurements taken as required herein shall be representative of the volume and 

nature of the monitored discharge during the entire monitoring period. All samples shall be 

taken at the monitoring points specified in this permit and, unless otherwise specified, before 

the effluent joins or is diluted by any other waste stream, body of water, or substance. 

Monitoring points shall not be changed without notification to and the approval of the Director. 

Intermittent discharge shall be monitored. 
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2. Flow Measurement 

Appropriate flow measurement devices and methods consistent with accepted scientific 

practices shall be selected and used to ensure the accuracy and reliability of measurements of 

the volume of monitored discharges. The devices shall be installed, calibrated, and maintained 

to ensure the accuracy of the measurements are consistent with the accepted capability of that 

type of device. Devices selected shall be capable of measuring flows with a maximum 

deviation of less than +/- 10% from true discharge rates throughout the range of expected 

discharge volumes and shall be installed at the monitoring point of the discharge. 

Calculated Flow Measurement 

For calculated flow measurements that are performed in accordance with either the permit 

requirements or a Division approved method (i.e., as allowed in the Other Specified Monitoring 

Requirements condition under Part II), the +/- 10% accuracy requirement described above is 

waived. This waiver is only applicable when the method used for calculation of the flow has 

been reviewed and approved by the Division. 

3. Monitoring Procedures 

Monitoring must be conducted according to test procedures approved under 40 C.F.R. Part 

136, unless other test procedures have been specified in this permit. The permittee shall 

calibrate and perform maintenance procedures on all monitoring and analytical instrumentation 

at intervals frequent enough to ensure accuracy of measurements and shall ensure that both 

calibration and maintenance activities will be conducted. An adequate analytical quality 

control program, including the analysis of sufficient standards, spikes, and duplicate samples 

to ensure the accuracy of all required analytical results shall be maintained by the permittee or 

designated commercial laboratory. At a minimum, spikes and duplicate samples are to be 

analyzed on 10% of the samples. 

4. Penalties for Tampering 

The Arkansas Water and Air Pollution Control Act provides that any person who falsifies, 

tampers with, or knowingly renders inaccurate, any monitoring device or method required to 

be maintained under the Act shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction thereof 

shall be subject to imprisonment for not more than one (1) year or a fine of not more than ten 

thousand dollars ($10,000) or by both such fine and imprisonment. 

5. Reporting of Monitoring Results 

40 C.F.R. § 127.11(a)(1) and 40 C.F.R. § 127.16(a) require that monitoring reports must be 

reported on a Discharge Monitoring Reports (DMR) and filed electronically. Signatory 

Authorities must initially request access for a NetDMR account. Once a NetDMR account is 

established, use the following link to access electronic filing: https://cdx.epa.gov. Permittees 

who are unable to file electronically may request a waiver from the Director in accordance 

with 40 C.F.R. § 127.15. Monitoring results obtained during the previous monitoring period 

shall be summarized and reported on a DMR dated and submitted no later than the 25th day of 

https://cdx.epa.gov/
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the month, following the completed reporting period beginning on the effective date of the 

permit. 

6. Additional Monitoring by the Permittee 

If the permittee monitors any pollutant more frequently than required by this permit, using test 

procedures approved under 40 C.F.R. Part 136 or as specified in this permit, the results of this 

monitoring shall be included in the calculation and reporting of the data submitted in the DMR. 

Such increased frequency shall also be indicated on the DMR. 

7. Retention of Records 

The permittee shall retain records of all monitoring information, including all calibration and 

maintenance records and all original strip chart recordings for continuous monitoring 

instrumentation, copies of all reports required by this permit, and records of all data used to 

complete the application for this permit for a period of at least 3 years from the date of the 

sample, measurement, report, or application. This period may be extended by request of the 

Director at any time. 

8. Record Contents 

Records and monitoring information shall include: 

A. The date, exact place, time, and methods of sampling or measurements, and preservatives 

used, if any. 

B. The individual(s) who performed the sampling or measurements. 

C. The date(s) and time analyses were performed. 

D. The individual(s) who performed the analyses. 

E. The analytical techniques or methods used. 

F. The measurements and results of such analyses. 

G. The chain of custody that records the sequence of custody, control, transfer, analysis, and 

measurement of the analyses. 

9. Inspection and Entry 

The permittee shall allow the Director, or an authorized representative, upon the presentation 

of credentials and other documents as may be required by law, to: 

A. Enter upon the permittee’s premises where a regulated facility or activity is located or 

conducted, or where records must be kept under the conditions of this permit. 

B. Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any records that must be kept under the 

conditions of this permit. 

C. Inspect at reasonable times any facilities, equipment (including monitoring and control 

equipment), practices, or operations regulated or required under this permit. 

D. Sample, inspect, or monitor at reasonable times, for the purposes of assuring permit 

compliance or as otherwise authorized by the Clean Water Act, any substances or 

parameters at any location. 
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SECTION D – REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

1. Planned Changes 

The Permittee shall give notice to the Director as soon as possible but no later than 180 days 

prior to any planned physical alterations or additions to the permitted facility [40 C.F.R. § 

122.41(l)]. Notice is required only when: 

A. The alteration or addition to a permitted facility may meet one of the criteria for new 

sources at 40 C.F.R. § 122.29(b). 

B. The alteration or addition could significantly change the nature or increase the quantity of 

pollutants discharged. This notification applies to pollutants which are subject neither to 

effluent limitations in the permit, nor to the notification requirements under 40 C.F.R. § 

122.42(b). 

2. Anticipated Noncompliance 

The permittee shall give advance notice to the Director of any planned changes in the permitted 

facility or activity which may result in noncompliance with permit requirements. 

3. Transfers 

The permit is nontransferable to any person except after notice to the Director. The Director 

may require modification or revocation and reissuance of the permit to change the name of the 

permittee and incorporate such other requirements as may be necessary under the Act. 

4. Monitoring Reports 

Monitoring results shall be reported at the intervals and in the form specified in Part III.C.5. 

Discharge Monitoring Reports must be submitted even when no discharge occurs during 

the reporting period. 

5. Compliance Schedule 

Reports of compliance or noncompliance with, or any progress reports on, interim and final 

requirements contained in any compliance schedule of this permit shall be submitted no later 

than 14 days following each schedule date. Any reports of noncompliance shall include the 

cause of noncompliance, any remedial actions taken, and the probability of meeting the next 

scheduled requirement. 

6. Twenty-four Hour Report 

Please be aware that the notifications can be sent by email to 

EE.Water.Enforcement.Report@arkansas.gov or at 501-682-0624 for immediate reporting: 

A. The permittee shall report any noncompliance which may endanger health or the 

environment within 24 hours from the time the permittee becomes aware of the 

circumstances to the Enforcement Branch of the Office of Water Quality of DEQ. A written 

submission shall also be provided within 5 days of the time the permittee becomes aware 

of the circumstances. The written submission shall contain the following information: 

mailto:EE.Water.Enforcement.Report@arkansas.gov
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1. A description of the noncompliance and its cause. 

2. The period of noncompliance, including exact dates and times, and if the 

noncompliance has not been corrected, the anticipated time it is expected to continue. 

3. Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and prevent reoccurrence of the 

noncompliance. 

B. The following must be reported within 24 hours: 

1. Any unanticipated bypass which exceeds any effluent limitation in the permit. 

2. Any upset which exceeds any effluent limitation in the permit. 

3. Violation of a maximum daily discharge limitation for any of the pollutants listed by 

the Director in Part I of the permit. 

C. The Director may waive the written report on a case-by-case basis if the notification has 

been received within 24 hours by the Enforcement Branch of the Office of Water Quality 

of the DEQ. 

7. Other Noncompliance 

The permittee shall report all instances of noncompliance not reported under Parts III.D.4, 5, 

and 6, at the time monitoring reports are submitted. The reports shall contain the information 

listed at Part III.D.6. 

8. Changes in Discharge of Toxic Substances for Industrial Dischargers including Existing 

Manufacturing, Commercial, Mining, and Silvicultural Dischargers 

The Director shall be notified as soon as the permittee knows or has reason to believe: 

A. That any activity has occurred or will occur which would result in the discharge on a routine 

or frequent basis of any toxic pollutant including those listed in 40 C.F.R. § 401.15 which 

is not limited in the permit, if that discharge will exceed the highest of the “notification 

levels” described in 40 C.F.R. § 122.42(a)(1). 

B. That any activity has occurred or will occur which would result in any discharge on a non-

routine or infrequent basis of a toxic pollutant including those listed in 40 C.F.R. § 401.15 

which is not limited in the permit, if that discharge will exceed the highest of the 

“notification levels” described in 40 C.F.R. § 122.42(a)(2). 

9. Duty to Provide Information 

The permittee shall furnish to the Director, within a reasonable time, any information which 

the Director may request to determine whether cause exists for modifying, revoking and 

reissuing, or terminating this permit, or to determine compliance with this permit. The 

permittee shall also furnish to the Director, upon request, copies of records required to be kept 

by this permit. Information shall be submitted in the form, manner and time frame requested 

by the Director. 
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10. Duty to Reapply 

If the permittee wishes to continue an activity regulated by this permit after the expiration date 

of this permit, the permittee must apply for and obtain a new permit. The complete application 

shall be submitted at least 180 days before the expiration date of this permit. The Director may 

grant permission to submit an application less than 180 days in advance but no later than the 

permit expiration date. Continuation of expiring permits shall be implemented through 

procedures outlined by APC&EC Rule 6. 

11. Signatory Requirements 

All applications, reports, or information submitted to the Director shall be signed and certified 

as follows: 

A. All permit applications shall be signed as follows: 

1. For a corporation: by a responsible corporate officer. For the purpose of this section, a 

responsible corporate officer means: 

(a) A president, secretary, treasurer, or vice-president of the corporation in charge of a 

principal business function, or any other person who performs similar policy or 

decision-making functions for the corporation. 

(b) The manager of one or more manufacturing, production, or operation facilities, 

provided: the manager is authorized to make management decisions which govern 

the operation of the regulated facility including having the explicit or implicit duty 

of making major capital investment recommendations, and initiating and directing 

other comprehensive measures to assure long term environmental compliance with 

environmental laws and regulations; the manager can ensure that the necessary 

systems are established or actions taken to gather complete and accurate 

information for permit application requirements; and where authority to sign 

documents has been assigned or delegated to the manager in accordance with 

corporate procedures. 

2. For a partnership or sole proprietorship: by a general partner or proprietor, respectively. 

3. For a municipality, State, Federal, or other public agency, by either a principal 

executive officer or ranking elected official. For purposes of this section, a principal 

executive officer of a Federal agency includes: 

(a) The chief executive officer of the agency. 

(b) A senior executive officer having responsibility for the overall operations of a 

principal geographic unit of the agency. 

B. All reports required by the permit and other information requested by the Director shall 

be signed by a person described above or by a duly authorized representative of that person. 

A person is a duly authorized representative only if: 
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1. The authorization is made in writing by a person described above. 

2. The authorization specified either an individual or a position having responsibility for 

the overall operation of the regulated facility or activity, such as the position of plant 

manager, operator of a well or a well field, superintendent, or position of equivalent 

responsibility. (A duly authorized representative may thus be either a named individual 

or any individual occupying a named position).  

3. The written authorization is submitted to the Director. 

C. Certification. Any person signing a document under this section shall make the following 

certification: 

“I certify under penalty of law that this document and all attachments were prepared under 

my direction or supervision in accordance with a system designed to assure that qualified 

personnel properly gather and evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry of 

the person or persons who manage the system, or those persons directly responsible for 

gathering the information, the information submitted is, to the best of my knowledge and 

belief, true, accurate, and complete. I am aware that there are significant penalties for 

submitting false information, including the possibility of fine and imprisonment for 

knowing violations.” 

12. Availability of Reports 

Except for data determined to be confidential under 40 C.F.R. Part 2 and APC&EC Rule 6, all 

reports prepared in accordance with the terms of this permit shall be available for public 

inspection at the offices of the Division of Environmental Quality. As required by the 

Regulations, the name and address of any permit applicant or permittee, permit applications, 

permits, and effluent data shall not be considered confidential. 

13. Penalties for Falsification of Reports 

The Arkansas Water and Air Pollution Control Act provides that any person who knowingly 

makes any false statement, representation, or certification in any application, record, report, 

plan, or other document filed or required to be maintained under this permit shall be subject to 

civil penalties specified in Part III.A.2 and/or criminal penalties under the authority of the 

Arkansas Water and Air Pollution Control Act (Ark. Code Ann. § 8-4-101 et seq.). 

14. Other Information 

Where the permittee becomes aware that it failed to submit any relevant facts in a permit 

application, or submitted incorrect information in a permit application or in any report to the 

Director, it shall promptly submit such facts or information. 
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PART IV 

DEFINITIONS 

All definitions contained in Section 502 of the Clean Water Act and 40 C.F.R. § 122.2 shall apply 

to this permit and are incorporated herein by reference. Additional definitions of words or phrases 

used in this permit are as follows: 

1. “7-Day Average” means the highest allowable average of “daily discharges” over a calendar 

week, calculated as the sum of all “daily discharges” measured during a calendar week, divided 

by the number of “daily discharges” measured during that week (also known as “average 

weekly”). The 7-Day Average for Fecal Coliform Bacteria (FCB), or E. coli, is the geometric 

mean of the “daily discharges” of all effluent samples collected during a calendar week in 

colonies, or most probable number (MPN) per 100 ml. 

2. “Act” means the Clean Water Act, Public Law 95-217 (33.U.S.C. 1251 et seq.) as amended. 

3. “Administrator” means the Administrator of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. 

4. “APC&EC” means the Arkansas Pollution Control and Ecology Commission. 

5. “Applicable standards and limitations” means all State, interstate, and federal standards and 

limitations to which a “discharge,” a “sewage sludge use or disposal practice,” or a related 

activity is subject under the Act, including “effluent limitations,” water quality standards, 

standards of performance, toxic effluent standards or prohibitions, “best management 

practices,” pretreatment standards, and “standards for sewage sludge use or disposal” under 

sections 301, 302, 303, 304, 306, 307, 308, 403, and 405 of the Act. 

6. “Applicable water quality standards” means all water quality standards to which a discharge 

is subject under the Act and which has been (a) approved or permitted to remain in effect by 

the Administrator following submission to the Administrator pursuant to Section 303(a) of the 

Act, or (b) promulgated by the Director pursuant to Section 303(b) or 303(c) of the Act, and 

standards promulgated under (APC&EC) Rule 2, as amended. 

7. “Best Management Practices (BMPs)” means activities, practices, maintenance procedures, 

and other management practices designed to prevent or reduce the pollution of waters of the 

State. BMPs also include treatment technologies, operating procedures, and practices to control 

plant site runoff, spillage or leaks, sludge or waste disposal, or drainage from raw material 

storage. BMPs may include structural devices or nonstructural practices. 

8. “Bypass” means the intentional diversion of waste streams from any portion of a treatment 

facility, as defined at 40 C.F.R. § 122.41(m)(1)(i). 

9. “Composite sample” means a mixture of grab samples collected at the same sampling point 

at different times, formed either by continuous sampling or by mixing a minimum of 4 effluent 

portions collected at equal time intervals (but not closer than one hour apart) during operational 

hours, within the 24-hour period, and combined proportional to flow or a sample collected at 

more frequent intervals proportional to flow over the 24-hour period. 

10. “CV” means coefficient of variation. 

11. “Daily Discharge” means the discharge of a pollutant measured during a calendar day or any 

24-hour period that reasonably represents the calendar day for purposes of sampling.  

A. Mass Calculations: For pollutants with limitations expressed in terms of mass, the “daily 

discharge” is calculated as the total mass of pollutant discharged over the sampling day.  
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B. Concentration Calculations: For pollutants with limitations expressed in other units of 

measurement, the “daily discharge” is calculated as the average measurement of the 

pollutant over the day. 

12. “Daily Maximum” discharge limitation means the highest allowable “daily discharge” during 

the calendar month. 

13. “Director” means the Director of the Division of Environmental Quality. 

14. “Dissolved oxygen limit” means 

A. when limited in the permit as a minimum monthly average, the lowest acceptable monthly 

average value, determined by averaging all samples taken during the calendar month; OR 

B. when limited in the permit as an instantaneous minimum value, that no value measured 

during the reporting period may fall below the stated value. 

15. “Division” means the Division of Environmental Quality (DEQ). 

16. “E. coli” means a sample that consists of one effluent grab portion collected during a 24-hour 

period at peak loads. For E. coli, report the Daily Maximum as the highest “daily discharge” 

during the calendar month, 7-Day Average as the geometric mean of all “daily discharges” 

within a calendar week, and the Monthly Average as the geometric mean of all “daily 

discharges” within a calendar month, in colonies or MPN per 100 ml. 

17. “Fecal Coliform Bacteria (FCB)” means a sample that consists of one effluent grab portion 

collected during a 24-hour period at peak loads. For FCB, report the Daily Maximum as the 

highest “daily discharge” during the calendar month, 7-Day Average as the geometric mean of 

all “daily discharges” within a calendar week, and the Monthly Average as the geometric mean 

of all “daily discharges” within a calendar month, in colonies or MPN per 100 ml. 

18. “Grab sample” means an individual sample collected in less than 15 minutes in conjunction 

with an instantaneous flow measurement. 

19. “Industrial User” means a source of Indirect Discharge. Indirect Discharge means the 

introduction of pollutants into a POTW from any non-domestic source regulated under section 

307(b), (c), or (d) of the Act. 

20. “Instantaneous flow measurement” means the flow measured during the minimum time 

required for the flow-measuring device or method to produce a result in that instance. To the 

extent practical, instantaneous flow measurements coincide with the collection of any grab 

samples required for the same sampling period so that together the samples and flow are 

representative of the discharge during that sampling period. 

21. “Instantaneous Maximum” (when limited in the permit as an instantaneous maximum value) 

means that no value measured during the reporting period may fall above the stated value. 

22. “Instantaneous Minimum” (when limited in the permit as an instantaneous minimum value) 

means that no value measured during the reporting period may fall below the stated value. 

23. “Interference” means a discharge which, alone or in conjunction with a discharge or 

discharges from other sources, both: 

A. Inhibits or disrupts the POTW, its treatment processes or operations, or its sludge 

processes, use, or disposal; and 

B. Therefore is a cause of a violation of any requirement of the POTW’s NPDES permit 

(including an increase in the magnitude or duration of a violation), or of the prevention of 

sewage sludge use or disposal in compliance with the following statutory provisions and 

regulations, or permits issued thereunder (or more stringent State or local regulations): 

Section 405 of the Clean Water Act (CWA), the Solid Waste Disposal Act (SWDA) (including 

Title II, more commonly referred to as the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act 
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(RCRA), and including State regulations contained in any State sludge management plan 

prepared pursuant to subtitle D of the SWDA), the Clean Air Act, the Toxic Substances 

Control Act, and the Marine Protection, Research and Sanctuaries Act. 

24. “Monitoring and Reporting” 

NPDES permits specify monitoring and reporting requirements for specific periods defined as 

follows: 

A. “MONTHLY” means a calendar month, or any portion of a calendar month, for 

monitoring requirement frequency of once/month or more frequently. 

B. “BI-MONTHLY” means two (2) calendar months or any portion of 2 calendar months for 

monitoring requirement frequency of once/2 months or more frequently. 

C. “QUARTERLY” means: 

1. a fixed calendar quarter (or any part of the fixed calendar quarter) for a non-seasonal 

effluent characteristic with a measurement frequency of once/quarter. Fixed calendar 

quarters are: January through March, April through June, July through September, and 

October through December; OR 

2. a fixed three month period (or any part of the fixed three month period) of, or 

dependent upon, the seasons specified in the permit for a seasonal effluent 

characteristic with a monitoring requirement frequency of once/quarter that does not 

coincide with the fixed calendar quarter. Seasonal calendar quarters are: May through 

July, August through October, November through January, and February through April. 

D. “SEMI-ANNUAL” means the fixed time periods January through June, and July through 

December (or any portion thereof) for an effluent characteristic with a measurement 

frequency of once/6 months. 

E. “ANNUAL” or “YEARLY” means a fixed calendar year, or any portion of the fixed 

calendar year, for an effluent characteristic or parameter with a measurement frequency of 

once/year. A calendar year is January through December, or any portion thereof. 

25. “Monthly Average” means the highest allowable average of “daily discharges” over a 

calendar month, calculated as the sum of all “daily discharges” measured during a calendar 

month, divided by the number of “daily discharges” measured during that month. For Fecal 

Coliform Bacteria (FCB) or E. coli, report the Monthly Average as the geometric mean of all 

“daily discharges” within a calendar month. 

26. “National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES)” means the national program 

for issuing, modifying, revoking and reissuing, terminating, monitoring and enforcing permits, 

and imposing and enforcing pretreatment requirements under Sections 307, 402, 318, and 405 

of the Act. 

27. “NOEC” means No Observed Effect Concentration. 

28. “Pass Through” means a discharge which exits the POTW in quantities or concentrations 

which, alone or in conjunction with a discharge or discharges from other sources, is a cause of 

a violation of any requirement of the POTW’s NPDES permit (including an increase in the 

magnitude or duration of a violation). 

29. “Percent Removal” means a percentage expression of the removal efficiency across a 

treatment plant for a given pollutant parameter, as determined from the 30-day average values 

of the effluent pollutant concentrations for a given time period. 

30. “PMSD” means Percent Minimum Significant Difference. 

31. “POTW” means Publicly Owned Treatment Works, as defined in 40 C.F.R. § 403.3(q).  
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32. “Severe property damage” means substantial physical damage to property, damage to the 

treatment facilities which causes them to become inoperable, or substantial and permanent loss 

of natural resources which can reasonably be expected to occur in the absence of a bypass. 

Severe property damage does not mean economic loss caused by delays in products. 

33. “Sewage sludge” means any solid, semi-solid, or liquid residue removed during the treatment 

of municipal waste water or domestic sewage. Sewage sludge includes, but is not limited to, 

solids removed during primary, secondary, or advanced waste water treatment, scum, septage, 

portable toilet pumpings, type III marine sanitation device pumpings (33 C.F.R. Part 159), and 

sewage sludge products. Sewage sludge does not include grit or screenings, or ash generated 

during the incineration of sewage sludge. 

34. “Treatment works” means any devices and systems used in storage, treatment, recycling, and 

reclamation of municipal sewage and industrial wastes, of a liquid nature to implement section 

201 of the Act, or necessary to recycle reuse water at the most economic cost over the estimated 

life of the works, including intercepting sewers, sewage collection systems, pumping, power 

and other equipment, and alterations thereof; elements essential to provide a reliable recycled 

supply such as standby treatment units and clear well facilities, and any works, including site 

acquisition of the land that will be an integral part of the treatment process or is used for 

ultimate disposal of residues resulting from such treatment. 

35. Units of Measure: 

A. “cfs” means cubic feet per second. 

B. “MGD” means million gallons per day. 

C. “µg/l” means micrograms per liter, or parts per billion (ppb). 

D. “mg/l” means milligrams per liter, or parts per million (ppm). 

E. “ppb” means parts per billion. 

F. “ppm” means parts per million. 

G. “s.u.” means standard units. 

H. “lb/d” means pounds per day. 

I. “col/100 ml” means colonies per 100 milliliters, or most probable number (MPN) per 100 

milliliters. 

36. “Upset” means an exceptional incident in which there is unintentional and temporary 

noncompliance with technology-based permit effluent limitations because of factors beyond 

the reasonable control of the permittee. Any upset does not include noncompliance to the extent 

caused by operational error, improperly designed treatment facilities, lack of preventive 

maintenance, or careless or improper operations. 

37. “Visible sheen” means the presence of a film or sheen upon or a discoloration of the surface 

of the discharge. A sheen can also be from a thin glistening layer of oil on the surface of the 

discharge. 

38. “Week” means a calendar week, consisting of the 7-day period of Sunday through Saturday. 

39. “Weekday” means Monday – Friday. 

 

https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-33/part-159


 

 

Final Statement of Basis 

This Statement of Basis is for information and justification of the permit requirements only. Please 

note that it is not enforceable. This permitting decision is for renewal of the discharge Permit 

Number AR0050784 with Arkansas Department of Energy and Environment – Division of 

Environmental Quality (DEQ) Arkansas Facility Identification Number (AFIN) 32-00515 to 

discharge to Waters of the State. 

1. PERMITTING AUTHORITY 

The issuing office is:  

Division of Environmental Quality 

5301 Northshore Drive 

North Little Rock, Arkansas 72118-5317  

2. APPLICANT 

The applicant’s mailing address is: 

Southside Public Water Authority - Wastewater Treatment Plant 

1401 Batesville Blvd. 

Batesville, AR 72501 

The facility address is: 

Southside Public Water Authority - Wastewater Treatment Plant 

115 King George Street 

Southside, AR 72501 

3. PREPARED BY 

The permit was prepared by: 

Guy Lester, P.E. Jessica Sears, P.E. 

Staff Engineer Senior Operations Manager 

NPDES Discharge Permits Section NPDES Discharge Permits Section 

Office of Water Quality Office of Water Quality 

(501) 519-0304 (501) 682-0621 

Email: guy.lester@arkansas.gov  Email: jessica.sears@adeq.state.ar.us  

4. PERMIT ACTIVITY 

Previous Permit Effective Date:  March 1, 2019 

Previous Permit Expiration Date:  February 29, 2024 

The permittee submitted a permit renewal application on August 10, 2023, and all additional 

information was received by October 10, 2023. The previous discharge permit is being reissued 

for a 5-year term in accordance with regulations promulgated at 40 C.F.R. § 122.46(a). 

mailto:guy.lester@arkansas.gov
mailto:jessica.sears@adeq.state.ar.us
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The facility is considered a municipality because a public water authority (PWA) meets the 

definition of a “municipality” in 40 C.F.R. § 122.2 because it is an association created under 

State law having jurisdiction over disposal of sewage. This facility is therefore subject to the 

Federal Secondary Treatment Standards in 40 C.F.R. Part 133. This permit contains 

requirements specific to municipal NPDES permits, including sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) 

reporting, minimum percent removal requirements for CBOD5 and TSS, Monthly Average and 

7-day Average pollutant concentration limits and/or reporting requirements, and Monthly 

Average only mass loading limits and/or reporting requirements. 

This facility is not subject to the trust fund requirements in Ark. Code Ann. § 8-4-203 since it 

is a PWA. 

DOCUMENT ABBREVIATIONS 

In the document that follows, various abbreviations are used. They are as follows: 

APC&EC - Arkansas Pollution Control and Ecology Commission 

BAT - best available technology economically achievable 

BCT - best conventional pollutant control technology  

BMP - best management practice 

BOD5 - five-day biochemical oxygen demand 

BPJ - best professional judgment 

BPT - best practicable control technology currently available 

CBOD5 - carbonaceous biochemical oxygen demand 

CD - critical dilution 

C.F.R. - Code of Federal Regulations 

cfs - cubic feet per second 

COD - chemical oxygen demand 

COE - United States Corp of Engineers 

CPP - continuing planning process 

CWA - Clean Water Act 

DMR - discharge monitoring report 

DO - dissolved oxygen 

ELG - effluent limitation guidelines 

EPA - United States Environmental Protection Agency 

ESA - Endangered Species Act 

FCB - fecal coliform bacteria 

gpm - gallons per minute 

MGD - million gallons per day 

MQL - minimum quantification level 

NAICS - North American Industry Classification System 

NH3-N - ammonia nitrogen 

NO3 + NO2-N - nitrate + nitrite nitrogen 

NPDES - National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 

O&G - oil and grease 

Rule 2 - APC&EC Rule 2 

Rule 6 - APC&EC Rule 6 
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Rule 8 - APC&EC Rule 8 

Rule 9 - APC&EC Rule 9 

RP - reasonable potential 

SIC - standard industrial classification 

SSO - sanitary sewer overflow 

TDS - total dissolved solids 

TMDL - total maximum daily load 

TP - total phosphorus 

TRC - total residual chlorine 

TSS - total suspended solids 

UAA - use attainability analysis 

USF&WS - United States Fish and Wildlife Service 

USGS - United States Geological Survey 

WET - whole effluent toxicity 

WQMP - water quality management plan 

WQS - Water Quality standards 

WWTP - wastewater treatment plant 

Compliance and Enforcement History:  

The compliance and enforcement history for this facility can be reviewed by using the 

following web link: 

https://www.adeq.state.ar.us/downloads/WebDatabases/PermitsOnline/NPDES/PermitInform

ation/AR0050784_Enforcement_Review_20231004.pdf  

5. SIGNIFICANT CHANGES FROM THE PREVIOUSLY ISSUED PERMIT 

The permittee is responsible for carefully reading the permit in detail and becoming familiar 

with all of the changes therein: 

1. The permittee mailing address and driving directions have been removed from the cover page. 

2. The monitoring frequencies for FCB have been revised. See Section 13 below for details. 

3. The monitoring frequencies for DO and pH have been reduced. See Section 13 below for details. 

4. Part II.9 has been included in the permit to prohibit any further reductions in monitoring 

frequencies for all parameters. 

5. Chain of custody requirements have been added as Part III.C.8.G. 

6. The Twenty-four Hour Report condition in Part III.D.6 has been revised. 

7. The Changes in Discharge of Toxic Substances for Industrial Dischargers condition in Part 

III.D.8 has been revised. 

8. The definitions in Part IV have been revised for clarity. 

6. RECEIVING STREAM SEGMENT AND DISCHARGE LOCATION 

The outfall is located at the following coordinates based on the previous permit, and confirmed 

with Google Earth using WGS84: 

Latitude: 35 40’ 52” N; Longitude: 91 37’ 22” W  

https://www.adeq.state.ar.us/downloads/WebDatabases/PermitsOnline/NPDES/PermitInformation/AR0050784_Enforcement_Review_20231004.pdf
https://www.adeq.state.ar.us/downloads/WebDatabases/PermitsOnline/NPDES/PermitInformation/AR0050784_Enforcement_Review_20231004.pdf
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The receiving waters named: 

Caney Creek, thence to Salado Creek, thence to the White River in Segment 4F of the White 

River Basin. The receiving stream with Assessment Unit AR_11010004_012 is a Water of the 

State classified for primary and secondary contact recreation, raw water source for domestic 

(public and private), industrial, and agricultural water supplies; propagation of desirable 

species of fish and other aquatic life; and other compatible uses. 

Approximately 4 miles downstream of the outfall, the receiving stream flows into Assessment 

Unit AR_11010004_912 of Salado Creek, which is classified as an Extraordinary Resource 

Water (ERW).  

7. 303(d) LIST, TOTAL MAXIMUM DAILY LOADS, ENDANGERED SPECIES, AND 

ANTI-DEGRADATION CONSIDERATIONS 

A. 303(d) List 

The receiving stream is not listed on the 2020 303(d) list. Therefore no permit action is 

needed. 

B. Applicable Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) Reports 

There are no applicable TMDLs for the receiving stream. 

C. Endangered Species 

No comments on the application were received from the USF&WS.  

D. Anti-Degradation 

The limitations and requirements set forth in this permit for discharge into waters of the 

State are consistent with the Anti-degradation Policy and all other applicable water quality 

standards found in APC&EC Rule 2. 

8. OUTFALL, TREATMENT PROCESS DESCRIPTION, AND FACILITY 

CONSTRUCTION 

The following is a description of the facility described in the application:  

A. Design Flow: 0.25 MGD  

B. Type of Treatment: solids grinder, grit removal, extended aeration activated sludge, 

clarification, UV disinfection, post aeration, and aerobic sludge digestion 

C. Discharge Description: treated municipal wastewater 

D. Facility Status: This facility is classified as a minor municipal since the design flow of the 

facility listed above is less than 1.0 MGD. 
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E. Facility Construction: This permit does not authorize or approve the construction or 

modification of any part of the treatment system or facilities. Approval for such 

construction must be by permit issued under Rule 6.202. 

9. ACTIVITY 

Under the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) code of 4952 or North American Industry 

Classification System (NAICS) code of 221320, the applicant’s activities are the operation of 

a sewage treatment plant. 

10. INDUSTRIAL WASTEWATER CONTRIBUTIONS 

This facility receives industrial process wastewater from one Categorical Industrial User 

(TWH Enterprises).  Based on the applicant’s effluent compliance history and the type of 

industrial contributions, standard Pretreatment Program implementation conditions are 

deemed appropriate at this time. 

11. SEWAGE SLUDGE PRACTICES 

Sludge generated by the treatment process is aerobically digested, and either land applied at a 

permitted site, or otherwise disposed of in accordance with Part III.B.6.A of the permit.  Any 

change to the sludge disposal method shall be in accordance with Part III.B.6 of the permit. 

12. DEVELOPMENT AND BASIS FOR PERMIT CONDITIONS 

The Division of Environmental Quality has determined to issue a permit for the discharge 

described in the application. Permit requirements are based on federal regulations (40 C.F.R. 

Parts 122, 124, and Subchapter N), the National Pretreatment Regulation in 40 C.F.R. Part 403, 

and rules promulgated pursuant to the Arkansas Water and Air Pollution Control Act (Ark. 

Code Ann. § 8-4-101 et seq.). All of the information contained in the application, including all 

of the submitted effluent testing data, was reviewed to determine the need for effluent limits 

and other permit requirements. 

The following is an explanation of the derivation of the conditions of the permit and the reasons 

for them or, in the case of notices of intent to deny or terminate, reasons suggesting the 

decisions as required under 40 C.F.R. § 124.7. 

Technology-Based Versus Water Quality-Based Effluent Limitations and Conditions 

Following regulations promulgated at 40 C.F.R. § 122.44, the permit limits are based on either 

technology-based effluent limits pursuant to 40 C.F.R. § 122.44(a) or on State water quality 

standards and requirements pursuant to 40 C.F.R. § 122.44(d), whichever are more stringent 

as follows: 
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Parameter 

Water Quality- 

Based 

Technology-

Based/BPJ 
Previous Permit Permit Limit 

Monthly 

Avg. 

mg/l 

7-day 

Avg. 

mg/l 

Monthly 

Avg. 

mg/l 

7-day 

Avg. 

mg/l 

Monthly 

Avg. 

mg/l 

7-day 

Avg. 

mg/l 

Monthly 

Avg. 

mg/l 

7-day 

Avg. 

mg/l 

CBOD5  

(May – October) 8 12 25 40 8.0 12.0 8 12 

(November – April) 10 15 25 40 10.0 15.0 10 15 

TSS 15.0 22.5 30.0 45.0 15.0 22.5 15.0 22.5 

NH3-N  

(April) 5.4 5.4 N/A N/A 5.4 5.4 5.4 5.4 

(May – October) 3.9 5.4 N/A N/A 3.9 5.4 3.9 5.4 

(November – April) 7.0 10.5 N/A N/A 7.0 10.5 7.0 10.5 

DO 7.0 (Inst. Min.) N/A 7.0 (Inst. Min.) 7.0 (Inst. Min.) 

FCB (col/100 ml)  

(May – September) 200 400 N/A N/A 200 400 200 400 

(October – April) 1000 2000 N/A N/A 1000 2000 1000 2000 

pH 6.0-9.0 s.u. 6.0-9.0 s.u. 6.0-9.0 s.u. 6.0-9.0 s.u. 

 

A. Justification for Limitations and Conditions of the Final Permit 

Parameter 
Water Quality 

or Technology 
Justification 

CBOD5 Water Quality  
Water Quality Model dated October 18, 2018 (and reviewed 

January 4, 2024), CWA § 402(o), and previous permit 

TSS Water Quality  
Water Quality Model dated October 18, 2018 (and reviewed 

January 4, 2024), CWA § 402(o), and previous permit 

NH3-N Water Quality 
Rule 2.512, Water Quality Model dated October 18, 2018 (and 

reviewed January 4, 2024), CWA § 402(o), and previous permit 

DO Water Quality 
Rule 2.505, Water Quality Model dated October 18, 2018 (and 

reviewed January 4, 2024), CWA § 402(o), and previous permit 

FCB Water Quality Rule 2.507, CWA § 402(o), and previous permit 

pH Water Quality Rule 2.504, CWA § 402(o), and previous permit 

 

No new information was received to warrant adding, removing, or revising any limitations 

in the permit. Therefore, the limitations in the permit are consistent with the limitations in 

the previous permit. 

B. Anti-backsliding 

The permit is consistent with the requirements to meet Anti-backsliding provisions of the 

Clean Water Act (CWA), Section 402(o) [40 C.F.R. § 122.44(l)]. The final effluent 

limitations for reissuance permits must be as stringent as those in the previous permit, 



Page 7 of Statement of Basis 

Permit Number: AR0050784 

AFIN: 32-00515 

 

 

unless the less stringent limitations can be justified using exceptions listed in CWA § 

402(o)(2), CWA § 303(d)(4), or 40 C.F.R. § 122.44(l)(2)(i). 

The permit meets or exceeds the requirements of the previous permit.  

C. Limits Calculations  

1. Mass Limits: 

In accordance with 40 C.F.R. § 122.45(f)(1), all pollutants limited in permits shall have 

limitations expressed in terms of mass if feasible. 40 C.F.R. § 122.45(f)(2) allows for 

pollutants which are limited in terms of mass to also be limited in terms of other units 

of measurement. 

The calculation of the loadings (lbs per day) uses a design flow of 0.25 MGD and the 

following equation:  

Mass (lbs/day) = Concentration (mg/l) × Flow (MGD) × 8.34 

2. 7-Day Average Limits: 

The 7-day average limits for CBOD5 and TSS are based on Section 5.4.2 of the 

Technical Support Document for Water Quality-based Toxics Control: 

7-day average limits = monthly average limits × 1.5 

The 7-day average NH3-N limits are based on the requirements of Rule 2.512. 

The 7-day average limits for FCB are based on Rule 2.507. 

D. 208 Plan (Water Quality Management Plan) 

The 208 Plan, developed by the DEQ under provisions of Section 208 of the federal Clean 

Water Act, is a comprehensive program to work toward achieving federal water goals in 

Arkansas. The initial 208 Plan, adopted in 1979, provides for annual updates, but can be 

revised more often if necessary.  

There are no changes to the 208 Plan occurring with this permit renewal. 

13. SAMPLE TYPE AND FREQUENCY 

Regulations require permits to establish monitoring requirements to yield data representative 

of the monitored activity [40 C.F.R. § 122.48(b)] and to ensure compliance with permit 

limitations [40 C.F.R. § 122.44(i)(l)]. 

Requirements for sample type and sampling frequency have been based on the previous 

discharge permit, except for DO and pH. A monitoring frequency reduction was implemented 

in the previous permit for CBOD5, TSS, NH3-N, and FCB. A review of the monthly DMR data 

shows that there have been no reported exceedances for any of these parameters. Therefore, no 

change to the monitoring frequencies for CBOD5, TSS, NH3-N, or FCB is required, based on 

compliance with the permit limits. The monitoring frequencies for FCB have been revised to 

have monitoring results reported 4 times per year. 
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The review of the monthly DMR data also shows that there have been no reported exceedances 

for DO or pH. Based on this review, and the best engineering judgment of the permit writer, 

the monitoring frequencies for DO and pH have been reduced to once/quarter.    

Parameter 

Previous Permit Final Permit 

Frequency of 

Sample 
Sample Type 

Frequency of 

Sample 
Sample Type 

Flow five/week instantaneous five/week instantaneous 

CBOD5 once/quarter grab once/quarter grab 

TSS once/quarter grab once/quarter grab 

NH3-N  

(April) once/month grab once/month grab 

(May – October) once/quarter grab once/quarter grab 

(November – March) once/5 months grab once/5 months grab 

DO two/month grab once/quarter grab 

FCB  

(May – September) two/5 months grab N/A N/A 

(October – April) two/7 months grab N/A N/A 

(January – April) N/A N/A once/4 months grab 

(May – June) N/A N/A once/2 months grab 

(July – September) N/A N/A once/quarter grab 

(October – December) N/A N/A once/quarter grab 

pH two/month grab once/quarter grab 

 

14. PERMIT COMPLIANCE SCHEDULE 

A Schedule of Compliance has not been included in this permit. Compliance with all permit 

requirements is required on the effective date of the permit.  

15. MONITORING AND REPORTING 

The applicant is at all times required to monitor the discharge on a regular basis and report the 

results monthly. The monitoring results will be available to the public. 

16. SOURCES 

The following sources were used to write the permit: 

A. Application No. AR0050784 received August 10, 2023, and all additional information 

received by October 10, 2023. 

B. Arkansas Water Quality Management Plan (WQMP). 

C. APC&EC Rule 2.  

D. APC&EC Rule 3. 

E. APC&EC Rule 6, which incorporates by reference certain federal regulations included in 

Title 40 of the Code of Federal Regulations at Rule 6.104. 
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F. 40 C.F.R. Parts 122, 125, 133, and 403. 

G. Discharge permit file AR0050784.  

H. Discharge Monitoring Reports (DMRs). 

I. “2020 Integrated Water Quality Monitoring and Assessment Report,” DEQ. 

J. “2020 List of Impaired Waterbodies (303(d) List),” DEQ. 

K. USGS Streamstats web-based program. 

L. Continuing Planning Process (CPP). 

M. “OWQ Guidelines for Decimal Places and Rounding Conventions in NPDES Permits” 

documented in a June 12, 2020 Interoffice Memorandum. 

N. Technical Support Document for Water Quality-based Toxic Control. 

O. Inspection Report dated November 17, 2023.  

P. Enforcement Review Memo dated October 4, 2023.  

Q. Planning Review Memo dated October 4, 2023.  

R. Operator License Class III.  

S. Water Quality Model dated October 18, 2018 (and reviewed January 4, 2024).  

17. PUBLIC NOTICE 

The public notice of the draft permit was published for public comment on August 18, 2024. 

The last day of the comment period was thirty (30) days after the publication date. No public 

comments were received on the draft permit. 

Copies of the draft permit and public notice were sent via email to the Corps of Engineers, the 

Regional Director of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, the Department of Parks, Heritage, 

and Tourism, the EPA, and the Arkansas Department of Health. 

18. PERMIT FEE 

In accordance with Rule 9.403(C)(1), the annual fee for the permit is calculated from the 

Design Flow (Q, in MGD) as follows: 

Fee = $200 + (5,600 × Q) = $200 + (5,600 × 0.25) = $1,600 

This facility is billed under Fee Code B. 

19. POINT OF CONTACT 

For additional information, contact:  

Guy Lester, P.E. 

Permits Branch, Office of Water Quality 

Division of Environmental Quality  

5301 Northshore Drive 

North Little Rock, Arkansas 72118-5317  

Telephone: (501) 519-0304 

 

https://www.adeq.state.ar.us/downloads/WebDatabases/InspectionsOnline/126301-insp.pdf
https://www.adeq.state.ar.us/downloads/WebDatabases/PermitsOnline/NPDES/PermitInformation/AR0050784_Enforcement_Review_20231004.pdf
https://www.adeq.state.ar.us/downloads/WebDatabases/PermitsOnline/NPDES/PermitInformation/AR0050784_Planning%20Review_20231004.pdf
https://www.adeq.state.ar.us/downloads/WebDatabases/PermitsOnline/NPDES/PermitInformation/AR0050784_Operator%20License%20Class%20III_20231003.pdf
https://www.adeq.state.ar.us/downloads/WebDatabases/PermitsOnline/NPDES/PermitInformation/AR0050784_WQMP%20Summary_20240104.pdf
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