## NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT DEADLINE EXTENSION

Pursuant to provisions in Reg. 8.806 (D) in Regulation 8 of the Arkansas Pollution Control and Ecology Commission (APC&EC), the APC&EC has extended the deadline for written public comments to be submitted on a third-party proposal by UMETCO Minerals Corporation (UMETCO) to change APC&EC Regulation 2, the Arkansas Water Quality Standards. The new comment deadline is 4:30 p.m. September 20, 2010.

A public hearing on the proposal was held at Hot Springs August 16, 2010, at which time a request to extend the comment period was made by one of the persons presenting oral comments, and the APC&EC's presiding officer for the hearing granted the request.

UMETCO proposes to revise Regulation 2 by changing the water quality standards for Wilson Creek, which receives the discharge primarily of treated storm water runoff from UMETCO's mineral mining and processing facility located at 4285 Malvern Road (U.S. Highway 270) east of Hot Springs. Wilson Creek is a tributary to Lake Catherine.

Additional details concerning the proposed changes, along with notice of the public hearing, were originally published in a legal notice printed in the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette June 30 and July 1, 2010.

Detailed copies of the proposed UMETCO regulation change, along with support documents and summary information, are available for public inspection during normal business hours in the ADEQ Public Outreach and Assistance Division, located on the second floor of the ADEQ's North Little Rock office, and in ADEQ information depositories located in public libraries at Arkadelphia, Camden, Hot Springs, and the main branch of the Little Rock Public Library, 100 Rock Street; and the Arkansas State Library, 900 West Capitol, Suite 100, Little Rock.

In addition, summary information concerning the proposal is available at other ADEQ information depositories located in public libraries at Batesville, Blytheville, Clinton, Crossett, El Dorado, Fayetteville, Fort Smith, Forrest City, Harrison, Helena, Hope, Jonesboro, Magnolia, Mena, Monticello, Mountain Home, Pocahontas, Russellville, Searcy, Stuttgart, Texarkana, and West Memphis; and in campus libraries at the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff and the University of Central Arkansas at Conway.

Information concerning the proposed changes also can be viewed and downloaded at the ADEQ's Internet web site at the following URL address: <a href="www.adeq.state.ar.us">www.adeq.state.ar.us</a>.

Written or electronic mail comments on the UMETCO proposal will be accepted if received no later than 4:30 p.m. September 20, 2010. Written comments should be sent to Doug Szenher, Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality, Public Outreach and Assistance Division, 5301 Northshore Drive, North Little Rock, AR 72118. Electronic mail comments should be sent to the following e-mail address: <a href="mailto:reg-comment@adeq.state.ar.us">reg-comment@adeq.state.ar.us</a>.

Published August 26, 2010,

Teresa Marks, Director, Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality