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On February 1, 2008, Central Arkansas Water (“CAW™) filed a Petition to Initiate Third-
Party Rulemaking to Amend Regulation No. 6, Regulations for State Administration of the
National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES). Pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 8-4-
202(c), the Arkansas Pollution Control and Ecology Commission (*Commission”) has sixty {(60)
days in which to either institute rulemaking proceedings or to give written notice denying the
petition for rulemaking. The Petition has been designated as Docket No. 07- -R.

The Commission’s Regulations Committee met on February 22, 2008 to review the
Petition and it recommends that the Commission institute a rulemaking proceeding to consider
adopting the proposed amendments to Regulation No. 6. The Regulations Committee also
recommends adoption of the following procedures and schedule.

1. CAW and the Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality ("ADEQ”) shall file an
original and one (1) copy and a computer disk in Word of all materials required under this
Minute Order. This requirement does not apply to transcripts.

2. Persons submitting written public comments shall submit them to ADEQ and ADEQ
will deliver the originals of all comments to the Commission Secretary at the conclusion of the
proceeding.

3. CAW will submit to the ADEQ’s Public Outreach and Assistance Division (“POA),
the following:

a. A proposed public notice to be used in mailing notice to interested persons, for
publishing in appropriate industry, trade, or professional publications as the Comimission
may select. The proposed public notice may, in the ADEQ’s discretion, be approved for
use or ADEQ may choose to prepare its own public notice. The public notice shall
conform to the requirements of Regulation No. 8, Section 3.1.3. The public notice shall
be published not later than 45 days prior to the first public hearing. By agreement, CAW
shall pay the costs of the newspaper publications and the costs of the appropriate industry,
trade or professional publications chosen by the Commission and shall file only the
original proof of publication with the Commission. ADEQ shall be responsible for
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mailing the public notice to all persons who have requested advance notice of rulemaking
proceedings and the cost of the mailing.

b. Fifty (50) copies of the executive summary of the proposed rulemaking.

c. Bound copies of the Petition and all supporting documentation, the number of
which is to be determined by POA.

4. A public hearing shall be conducted on April 17, 2008 in the Commission Room at the
Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality, 5301 Northshore Drive, North Little Rock, AR
72118-5317

5. The period for receiving all written comments from CAW, the public, and ADEQ shall
conclude ten (10) business days after the date of the public hearing, unless an extension of time
is granted.

6. CAW and ADEQ shall each file, not later than 14 days before the Commission meets
to consider adoption of the proposed regulation, a Statement of Basis and Purpose and
Responsive Summary as required by Regulation No. 8, Part 3, Section 3.6.2(1), (2) and (3). In
addition, CAW and ADEQ shall file a proposed Minute Order deciding this matter.

7. ADEQ shall seek review of the proposed rule from the Joint Interim Committee on
Public Health and Welfare and/or from the Joint Interim Committee on Administrative Rules and

Regulations.

8. Regulations Committee and the Commission may consider this matter at their June
2008 meeting. In the event the appropriate legislative committees do not complete review of the
proposed rule by the above date, the Regulations Committee and the Commission will consider
the proposed amendments to the regulation after review by the appropriate legislative
committees. Members of the Regulations Committee may ask questions of any persons that made
oral or written comments and it will make a recommendation to the Commission.
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9. At the Commission meeting, the presentation of oral statements and legal arguments
will be regulated as follows:

a. The Chair of the Commission will permit members of the public to make a
statement to the Commission. No more than three (3) mmutes will be allowed for each
statement. The period for statements will close at the end of one (1) hour, or sooner if all
interested persons have completed their statements. At the discretion of the Chair, the one
(1) hour oral statement period may be extended.

b. At the discretion of the Chair, an attorney representing one or more individuals, a
corporation or other legal entity may be permitted five (5) minutes in which to address the
Commission.

c. Legal counsel or other designated persons representing CAW and ADEQ shall be
permitted ten (10) minutes in which to address the Commission.

d. At the conclusion of all statements, the Chair will call on each Commissioner for
the purpose of asking the attorneys or persons sponsoring statements who are present, any
questions they may have. Attorneys will not be permitted to respond or ask follow-up
questions of any person questioned by a Commissioner.

After each Commissioner has had an opportunity to ask questions, the Chair will entertain
a motion on the matter, allow discussion, and call for a vote of the Commission members.

10. If CAW desires a transcript of the public hearing, Regulations Committee meeting,
and Commission meetings, or if required by the Commission, CAW agrees to pay all costs for
the preparation of a transcript of the public hearings, Regulations Committee meetings and
Commission meetings that concern this docket and occur after the adoption of the Minute Order.
If a transcript is required, CAW will employ the court reporter and the court reporter shall
deliver the original transcript to the Commission Secretary.
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11. In compliance with Act 143 of 2007, an Economic Impact Statement was submitted
to the Arkansas Department of Economic Development (“ADED”). An approval letter from
ADED was received and attached to the Petition to Initiate Third Party Rulemaking.

The Commission accepts the recommendation of the Regulations Committee and initiates
the rulemaking proceeding in this docket. The Commission adopts, without modification, the
procedural schedule set forth above.

COMMISSIONERS:
1.. Bengal L. Sickel
S. Henderson J. Stmpson
D. Hendrix W. Thompson
C. McGrew E. Valdez
D. Samples B. White
T. Scheuck R. Young
J. Shannon

Submitted by: Ray F. Cox DATE PASSED:

Chair, T. Schueck



