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On April 10, 2014, the Ozark Society and the Arkansas Public Policy Panel, “petitioners,”
filed a Petition to Initiate Third-Party Rulemaking to Amend Regulation No. 6, Regulations for State
Administration of the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System. Pursuant to Ark. Code Ann.
8-4-202(c), the Arkansas Pollution Control and Ecology Commission (Commission) has sixty (60)
days in which to either institute rulemaking proceedings or to give written notice denying the petition
for rulemaking. The Petition has been designated as Docket No. 14-002-R.

The Commission’s Regulations Committee met on April 25, 2014, to review the Petition and
it recommends that the Commission institute a rulemaking proceeding to consider adopting the
proposed amendments to Regulation No. 5. The Regulations Committee also recommends adoption
of the following procedures and schedule.

1. Petitioners and the Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality (ADEQ) shall file an
original and one (1) copy and a computer disk in Word of all materials required under this Minute
Order. This requirement does not apply to transcripts.

2. Persons submitting written public comments shall submit them to ADEQ, and ADEQ will
deliver the originals of all comments to the Commission Secretary at the conclusion of the
proceeding.

3. Petitioners will submit to the ADEQ’s Public Outreach and Assistance Division (POA),
the following:

a. A proposed public notice to be used in mailing notice to interested persons, for
publishing in appropriate industry, trade, or professional publications as the Commission
may select. The proposed public notice may, in the ADEQ’s discretion, be approved for
use, or ADEQ may choose to prepare its own public notice. The public notice shall
conform to the requirements of Regulation No. 8.803. The public notice shall be
published not later than 45 days prior to the first public hearing. By agreement,
petitioners shall pay the costs of the newspaper publications and the costs of the
appropriate industry, trade or professional publications chosen by the Commission, and
shall file only the original proof of publication with the Commission. ADEQ shall be
responsible for mailing the public notice to all persons who have requested advance
notice of rulemaking proceedings, and the costs of the mailing.

b. Fifty (50) copies of the executive summary of the proposed rulemaking.
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C. Bound copies of the Petition and all supporting documentation, the number of which is to
be determined by POA.

4. A public hearing shall be conducted on June 17, 2014, at 6:00 p.m. in the Durand
Conference Center, Room A, at North Arkansas College, 303 N. Main St., Harrison, AR 72601.

5. The period for receiving all written comments from petitioners, the public, and ADEQ
shall conclude ten (10) business days after the date of the public hearing, unless an extension of time
is granted.

6. Petitioners and ADEQ shall each file, not later than 14 days before the Commission meets
to consider adoption of the proposed regulation, a Statement of Basis and Purpose and Responsive
Summary as required by Regulation No. 8.815. In addition, petitioners and ADEQ shall file a
proposed Minute Order deciding this matter.

7. ADEQ shall seek review of the proposed rule from the Joint Interim Committee
on Public Health and Welfare and/or from the Joint Interim Committee on Administrative Rules and
Regulations.

8. The Regulations Committee and the Commission may consider this matter at their August
22, 2014, meeting. In the event the appropriate legislative committees do not complete review of the
proposed rule by the above date, the Regulations Committee and the Commission will consider the
proposed amendments to the regulation after review by the appropriate legislative committees.
Members of the Regulations Committee may ask questions of any persons that made oral or written
comments and it will make a recommendation to the Commission.

9. At the Commission meeting, the presentation of oral statements and legal arguments will
be regulated as follows:

a. The Chair of the Commission will permit members of the public to make a statement to
the Commission. No more than three (3) minutes will be allowed for each statement.
The period for statements will close at the end of one (1) hour, or sooner if all interested
persons have completed their statements. At the discretion of the Chair, the one (1) hour
oral statement period may be extended.
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b. At the discretion of the Chair, an attorney representing one or more individuals, a
corporation or other legal entity may be permitted five (5) minutes in which to address
the Commission.

C. Legal counsel or other designated persons representing petitioners and ADEQ shall be
permitted ten (10) minutes in which to address the Commission.

d. At the conclusion of all statements, the Chair will call on each Commissioner for the
purpose of asking the attorneys or persons sponsoring statements who are present, any
questions they may have. Attorneys will not be permitted to respond or ask follow-up
questions of any person questioned by a Commissioner.

After each Commissioner has had an opportunity to ask questions, the Chair will entertain a
motion on the matter, allow discussion, and call for a vote of the Commission members.

10. If petitioners desire a transcript of the public hearing, Regulations Committee
meeting, and Commission meetings, or if required by the Commission, petitioners agree to pay all
costs for the preparation of a transcript of the public hearings, Regulations Committee meetings and
Commission meetings that concern this docket and occur after the adoption of the Minute Order. If a
transcript is required, petitioners will employ the court reporter and the court reporter shall deliver
the original transcript to the Commission Secretary.

COMMISSIONERS:

Lynn Sickel Darwin Hendrix
Williams Thompson Ann Henry
Stan Jorgenson Joe Fox

John Chamberlin John Simpson
Joseph Bates Bekki White
Lawrence Bengal Randy Young

Mike Armstrong
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