## NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING FOR REGULATION CHANGES

The Arkansas Pollution Control and Ecology Commission will hold a public hearing at North Little Rock December 17, 2007, to receive comments on proposed changes to Commission Regulation No. 3, which deals with licensing of wastewater treatment plant operators in Arkansas. The hearing will begin at 2:00 p.m. in the Commission Room of the Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality (ADEQ) headquarters, 5301 Northshore Drive, North Little Rock.

Commission authority to amend Regulation No. 3 is found in Arkansas Code Annotated, Section 8-5-201 et seq.

Proposed changes to the regulation include:

- Changing the renewal period for wastewater operator licenses from one year to two years.
- Replacing the current single Industrial Wastewater Operator License with two licenses, a
  Basic Industrial Wastewater Operator License and an Advanced Industrial Wastewater
  Operator License, and establishing procedures for conversion of a current industrial
  license into one of the new classifications.
- Clarifying the requirements for training necessary for license renewal.
- Amending portions of the classification system for municipal wastewater treatment plants, and establishing a classification system for industrial wastewater treatment plants to correspond to the new industrial operator license classifications.
- Revising and clarifying the initial licensing requirements, including elimination of a three-month waiting period following passed examinations.

Copies of the proposed changes to Regulation No. 3 are available for public inspection during normal business hours at the ADEQ Public Outreach and Assistance (POA) Division on the second floor of the ADEQ headquarters, or at ADEQ information depositories located in public libraries at Arkadelphia, Batesville, Blytheville, Camden, Clinton, Crossett, El Dorado, Fayetteville, Forrest City, Fort Smith, Harrison, Helena, Hope, Hot Springs, Jonesboro, Little Rock, Magnolia, Mena, Monticello, Mountain Home, Russellville, Pocahontas, Searcy, Stuttgart, Texarkana, and West Memphis; in campus libraries at the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff and the University of Central Arkansas at Conway; and in the Arkansas State Library located on the State Capitol grounds in Little Rock. In addition, a copy of the proposed changes, along with related support documents, is available for viewing or downloading at the ADEQ's Internet web site at www.adeq.state.ar.us.

Oral and written comments will be accepted at the hearing, but written comments are preferred in the interest of accuracy. In addition, written or electronic mail comments will be accepted if submitted no later than 4:30 p.m. January 3, 2008. Written comments should be sent to Doug Szenher, POA Division, Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality, 5301 Northshore Drive, North Little Rock, AR 72118. Electronic mail comments should be sent to reg-comment@adeq.state.ar.us.

Published October 31, and November 1, 2007,

Teresa Marks, Director, Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality