
BEFORE THE ARKANSAS POLLUTION CONTROL AND ECOLOGY COMMISSION 

IN THE MATTER OF AMENDMENTS TO ) 

REGULATION NO. 9:  FEE REGULATION  )          DOCKET NO. 16-006-R 

 

RESPONSIVE SUMMARY INTRODUCTION 

 

The public comment record for Docket No. 16-006-R contains six (6) comments pertaining to 

changes to Arkansas Pollution Control and Ecology Commission Regulation 9, entitled Fee 

Regulations (Reg.9).  

 

The Notice of Proposed Regulation Changes, Public Hearing, and Comment Period was published 

on September 28 and 29, 2016.  The public comment period ended on November 4, 2016 at 4:30 

P.M. C.T.  The Arkansas Pollution Control and Ecology Commission (APCEC) conducted one (1) 

public hearing on the proposed Reg. 9 in N. Little Rock on October 18, 2016. 

  

RESPONSES TO WRITTEN COMMENTS 
 

The following people or organizations sent comments during the public comment period and 

public hearing.   

 

 Rebecca Miller-Rice, Legislative Attorney of Administrative Rules Review Section of 

 Bureau of Legislative Research 

 

Comment 1 Reg.9.403(B)(1) – I just wanted to make sure that I understood this amendment 

correctly. It is not a change to the fee charged, but merely a rewriting/simplification 

of the formula? 

 

Response:  Yes, that is correct. 

 

Comment 2 Reg.9.403(C)(1)(a) – Can you please provide me with the precise statutory 

authority on which the Department/Commission relies to reduce the maximum fee? 

 

Response:   Ark. Code Ann. § 8-1-103 provides the specific legal authority for 

ADEQ and APC&EC to determine permit fees. This change is warranted because 

facilities classified as minor domestic facilities will not have a value for the term 

“Q” in the formula greater than one million gallons per day (1 mgd). However, 

based on your comment and the agency’s further review, it has been determined that  

the word “Domestic” should be added to the title of Reg. 9.403(C) and read as 

“Minor Municipal and Minor Non-Municipal Domestic Facilities” with a maximum 

fee of $5,800. Additionally, for more clarification, a new Reg.9.403(D) has been  

added for “Minor Non-Municipal Facility” with a maximum fee of $10,000.  The 

remaining subsections of Reg.9.403 will be reindexed to account for the changes 

from adding the new subsection. 
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Proposed revision of Reg.9.403(C) based on Comment 4: 

 

(C) Minor Municipal and Minor Non-Municipal Domestic Facilities 

 

Proposed addition of Reg.9.403(D) based on Comment 4: 

 

(D) Non-Municipal Minor Facilities  

Non-Municipal Minor Facilities with MRAT less than 80 are subject to fees as 

follows: 

(a) Initial and annual fees shall be calculated as follows: 

Fee = $200 + 5600 X Q 

with Maximum Fee = $10,000 

(b) Modification Fee 

(i) Major ............................................................. $2,000 

(ii) Minor ............................................................. $1,000 

 

Comment 3 Reg.9.403(C)(3) – Can you please provide me with the precise statutory authority 

on which the Department/Commission relies in implementing this fee? 

 

Response:  Ark. Code Ann. § 8-1-103 provides the specific legal authority for 

ADEQ and APC&EC to determine permit fees.  

 

Comment 4 Reg.9.407 – The amendment seems to merely set forth that the fee is authorized by 

statute; it does not state if the fee is required, will be collected, and/or how it will be 

calculated, despite Ark. Code Ann. § 8-4-203(b)(4) appearing to set forth some 

parameters. Is there a reason that this fee has not been expounded upon further as 

the other fees contained in the Regulation have been? 

 

Response: Ark. Code Ann. § 8-4-203(b) requires that a Non-municipal Domestic 

Sewage Treatment Works pays the trust fund contribution fee and sets some 

parameters for those fees. The proposed revision below references Ark. Code Ann. 

§ 8-4-203(b), and states that the assessment of trust fund contribution fees are 

limited by it. Ark. Code Ann. § 8-4-203(b) was amended in the 2017 legislative 

session following the close of public comments on APC&EC Regulation No. 9. For 

that reason, further changes are not within the scope of this rulemaking or the public 

notice for this rulemaking.  
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Proposed revision or Reg.9.407 based on Comment 4: 

 

9.407. Nonmunicipal Domestic Sewage Treatment Works Trust Fund Contribution 

Fee. 

 

(A)   A Nonmunicipal Domestic Sewage Treatment Work is required to pay a 

trust fund contribution fee for the Nonmunicipal Domestic Sewage Treatment 

Works Trust Fund.  

 

(B)   The trust fund contribution fee shall be assessed in accordance with Ark. 

Code Ann. § 8-4-203(b). 

 

 

 Commissioner Wesley Stites of Arkansas Pollution Control and Ecology Commission  

 

Comment 5 Reg.9.301 (D) concerns failure to pay. One part reads “[c]ontinued refusal to pay 

the required fees after a reasonable notice shall constitute grounds for legal action 

by the Department…” Is there a particular reason for the use of the word ‘refusal’? 

I, of course, am not a lawyer, but in my mind the use of that word evokes the 

question of intent or willfulness in the act. Might it not be better to use the word that 

is in the title line, ‘failure’, in place of ‘refusal’? Failure is devoid of intent. You 

either pay or don’t and whether you are refusing to pay, or forgot to pay, or couldn’t 

pay, or thought somebody else paid is immaterial. 

 

Response: The use of “refusal” in Reg.9.301(D) is based on Ark. Code Ann. § 8-1-

103(3) which states in part that the Department shall deny a permit, “if and when 

any facility subject to control by the department fails or refuses to pay the fees after 

reasonable notice...”  In order to be consistent with Ark. Code Ann. § 8-1-103(3), 

the word “failure” has been added to that sentence in Reg.9.301(D) to read: 

“Continued failure or refusal to pay the required fees after a reasonable notice…” 

 

Proposed revision of Reg.9.301(D) based on Comment 5: 

 

(D) Failure to Pay Annual Fees 

 

A permitted facility failing or refusing to pay the annual fee in a timely manner 

shall be subject to a late payment charge as established in these regulations. 

Continued failure or refusal to pay the required fees after a reasonable notice shall 

constitute grounds for legal action by the Department, which that may result in 

revocation of the permit. When payment of fees is made by check which that is 

subsequently returned due to insufficient funds, all review work on the particular 

application will shall immediately cease until the fee is paid in cash or by money 

order. 
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Comment 6  Reg. [sic] 9.403 & Chapter 2 – The definition of Q is moved to Chapter 2. That  

  makes sense. However, the new definition in Chapter 2 says “‘Q’ or ‘Quantity’  

  means the flow expressed in million gallons per day (mgd)”. In the old reg, Q is the 

DESIGN flow. This is no longer specified in the proposed changes. If I am applying 

for a permit and my average daily flow is 80% of design, using my average daily 

flow to calculate my fee might save me money. I suggest that ‘design’ or, if that is 

what you intend, ‘average daily’ be inserted ahead of ‘flow’ in the new definition of 

Q in Chapter 2. 

 

Response: The Department acknowledges the comment. For more clarification the 

word “permitted” has been added to the definition of “Q” or “Quantity.” The term 

“Q” or “Quantity” is used in formulas for all permit categories, including those 

permits that do not use “design flow” for the permitted flow.   

 

Proposed definition of “Q” or “Quantity” based on Comment 6: 

 

“Q” or “Quantity” means the permitted flow expressed in million gallons per day 

(mgd), as used in formulas for calculating Water Permit Fees under Chapter 4. 


