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On the 13th day of June, 2008, the Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality, 
(“ADEQ”) filed a Petition to Initiate Rulemaking to Amend Regulation No.11, Regulations for 
Solid Waste Disposal Fees; Landfill Post-closure Trust Fees; Illegal Dumps Program; and 
Recycling Grants Program.  Pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 8-4-202(c), the Arkansas Pollution 
Control and Ecology Commission (“Commission”) has sixty (60) days in which to either 
institute rulemaking proceedings or to give written notice denying the petition for rulemaking. 
The Petition has been designated as Docket No. 08-011-R.  

 
The Commission=s Regulations Committee met on the 27th day of June, 2008, to review 

the Petition and it recommends that the Commission institute a rulemaking proceeding to 
consider adopting the proposed amendments to Regulation No. 11.  The Regulations Committee 
also recommends adoption of the following procedures and schedule.   
 
 1. The Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality (“ADEQ”) shall file an original 
and one (1) copy and a computer disk in Word of all materials required under this Minute Order.  
This requirement does not apply to transcripts.   
 
 2.  Persons submitting written public comments shall submit them to ADEQ and ADEQ 
will deliver the originals of all comments to the Commission Secretary. 

 
3. A public hearing shall be conducted on August 21, 2008 at 2:00 p.m. in the 

Commission Room at 5301 Northshore Drive, North Little Rock, Arkansas. 
  
 4.  The period for receiving all written comments shall conclude ten (10) business days 
after the date of the public hearing, unless an extension of time is granted.  
 
 5. ADEQ shall file, not later than 14 days before the Commission meets to consider 
adoption of the proposed rule, a Statement of Basis and Purpose and Responsive Summary as 
required by Regulation No. 8, Part 3, Section 3.6.2(1), (2) and (3).   
 
 6. ADEQ shall file, not later than 14 days before the Commission meets to consider 
adoption of the proposed rule, a proposed Minute Order deciding this matter.    
 
 7. ADEQ shall seek review of the proposed rule from the Joint Interim Committee on 
Public Health and Welfare and/or from the Joint Interim Committee on Administrative Rules and 
Regulations.  
 
 8.  The Regulations Committee and the Commission may consider this matter at their 
October 2008 meeting.  In the event the appropriate legislative committees do not complete 
review of the proposed rule by the above date, the Regulations Committee and the Commission 
will consider the proposed amendments to the regulation after review by the appropriate 
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legislative committees.  Members of the Regulations Committee may ask questions of any 
persons that made oral or written comments and it will make a recommendation to the 
Commission.   
 
 9. At the Commission meeting, the presentation of oral statements and legal arguments 
will be regulated as follows: 
 
 a. The Chair of the Commission will permit members of the public to make a 
statement to the Commission.  No more than three (3) minutes will be allowed for each 
statement.  The period for statements will close at the end of one (1) hour, or sooner if all 
interested persons have completed their statements.  At the discretion of the Chair, the one (1) 
hour oral statement period may be extended. 
 
 b. At the discretion of the Chair, an attorney representing one or more individuals, a 
corporation or other legal entity may be permitted five (5) minutes in which to address the 
Commission. 
 
 c. Department legal counsel or other designated Department employee shall be 
permitted ten (10) minutes in which to address the Commission. 
 
 d. At the conclusion of all statements, the Chair will call on each Commissioner for 
the purpose of asking the attorneys or persons sponsoring statements who are present, any 
questions they may have.  Attorneys will not be permitted to respond or ask follow-up questions 
of any person questioned by a Commissioner. 
 

After each Commissioner has had an opportunity to ask questions, the Chair will 
entertain a motion on the matter, allow discussion, and call for a vote of the Commission 
members. 
 

10.  The Commission finds the proposed regulation is exempt from Act 143 of 2007 
because the proposed rule is federally mandated or it codifies existing state law or federal law.  
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