NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Arkansas Pollution Control and Ecology Commission will hold a public hearing at Little Rock June 6, 2002, to receive comments on proposed revisions to Commission Regulation No. 12, which governs the Regulated Storage Tank Program (RST) in Arkansas. The hearing will begin at 2:00 p.m. in the Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality's (ADEQ) Building D, 8101 Interstate Highway 30.

Authority for adopting and revising regulations dealing with regulated storage tanks is found in Arkansas Statute 8-7-802.

Proposed changes to Regulation No. 12 include: Revision of eligibility requirements for reimbursement of corrective action costs and third-party claims covered by the state Petroleum Storage Tank Trust Fund (PSTTF); amendment of the PSTTF eligibility requirements; adoption by reference recent changes to the federal RST program; a decrease in the deductible amount for PSTTF coverage from \$15,000 to \$7,500 each for corrective action costs and third-party claims; inclusion of provisions which would allow injured parties the right of appeal of ADEQ director's decisions involving the PSTTF directly to the Pollution Control and Ecology Commission; and addition of bond forfeiture provisions involving licensees or contractors failing to comply with state laws and regulations. In addition, the proposed changes include clarification of several provisions, and other changes to conform with standardized Commission regulation format.

Copies of the proposed changes are available for public inspection in the Customer Service Division in the ADEQ's Building D at Little Rock; in ADEQ information depositories located in public libraries at Arkadelphia, Batesville, Blytheville, Camden, Clinton, Crossett, El Dorado, Fayetteville, Forrest City. Fort Smith, Harrison, Helena, Hope, Hot Springs, Jonesboro, Little Rock, Magnolia, Mena, Monticello, Mountain Home, Pocahontas, Russellville, Searcy, Stuttgart, Texarkana, and West Memphis; in campus libraries at the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff and the University of Central Arkansas at Conway; and in the Arkansas State Library located on the State Capitol grounds in Little Rock.

In addition, the proposal may be viewed or downloaded at the ADEQ's Internet web site located at www.adeq.state.ar.us.

Oral and written comments will be accepted at the hearing, but written comments are preferred in the interests of accuracy. In addition, written and electronic mail comments will be considered if received no later than 4:30 p.m. June 20, 2002. Written comments should be sent to Doug Szenher, public affairs supervisor, Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 8913, Little Rock, AR 72219-8913. Electronic mail comments should be sent to reg-comment@adeq.state.ar.us.

Dated this 3rd day of May, 2002,

Marcus Devine, Director, Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality