NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Arkansas Pollution Control and Ecology Commission (APC&EC) will hold a public hearing at North Little Rock March 10, 2014, to receive comments on proposed changes to Commission Regulation 12, which governs the Arkansas Regulated Storage Tanks (RST) program. The hearing will begin at 2:00 p.m. in the Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality's (ADEQ) Headquarters Building Commission Room, 5301 Northshore Drive.

The deadline for submitting comments on the proposed changes is 4:30 p.m. (Central Time) March 24, 2014.

In the event of inclement weather or other unforeseen circumstances, a decision may be made to postpone the hearing. If the hearing is postponed and rescheduled, a new legal notice will be published to announce the details of the new hearing date and comment period.

Authority for the proposed APC&EC action is found in the Arkansas Code Annotated, Sec. 8-7-801 et seq., and Sec. 8-7-901 et seq.

The proposed revisions are designed to make Regulation 12 comply with state legislation affecting the state's RST program, specifically Act 809 of 2011 and Act 406 of 2013.

Proposed changes to the regulation include:

- Clarification of the definition of "de minimis concentration of a regulated substance" in blended materials in storage tanks.
- Clarification of requirements for registration of storage tanks with regard to tanks used for temporary short-term purposes and tanks containing de minimis concentrations of blended materials.
- Establish requirements for reimbursement of equipment costs involved in remedial actions; transfer of Petroleum Storage Tank Trust Fund eligibility; and reimbursement to lenders or secured creditors.

Copies of the proposed changes to Regulation 12 are available for public inspection during normal business hours at the ADEQ Public Outreach and Assistance (POA) Division on the second floor of the ADEQ Headquarters Building, or at ADEQ information depositories located in public libraries at Arkadelphia, Batesville, Blytheville, Camden, Clinton, Crossett, El Dorado, Fayetteville, Forrest City, Fort Smith, Harrison, Helena, Hope, Hot Springs, Jonesboro, Little Rock (main branch), Magnolia, Mena, Monticello, Mountain Home, Russellville, Pocahontas, Searcy, Stuttgart, Texarkana, and West Memphis; in campus libraries at the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff and the University of Central Arkansas at Conway; and in the Arkansas State Library, 900 W. Capitol, Suite 100, Little Rock. In addition, a copy of the regulation showing the proposed changes, along with related support documents, is available for viewing or downloading at the ADEQ's web site located at www.adeq.state.ar.us.

Oral and written comments will be accepted at the hearing, but written comments are preferred in the interest of accuracy. In addition, written or electronic mail comments will be accepted if submitted no later than 4:30 p.m. (Central Time) March 24, 2014. Written comments should be delivered or mailed to Doug Szenher, POA Division, Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality, 5301 Northshore Drive, North Little Rock, AR 72118. Electronic mail comments should be sent to: reg-comment@adeq.state.ar.us.

Published January 29 and 30, 2014,

Teresa Marks, Director, Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality