## NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Arkansas Pollution Control and Ecology Commission will hold a public hearing in Little Rock August 30, 2004, to receive comments on proposed changes to Commission Regulation No. 28, which deals with county recycling programs in Arkansas. The hearing will begin at 2:00 p.m. in the Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality's (ADEQ) Building D training room, 8101 Interstate 30.

The Commission's authority for adopting and amending the regulation is found in Arkansas Statutes Annotated Section 8-6-701, et seq.

Most of the proposed changes to the regulation involve revising the regulation's format and structure to conform to the standardized format adopted for other Commission regulations. Proposed substantive changes to Regulation No. 28 include changing the various recycling program reporting requirements for regional solid waste management districts from a semi-annual to an annual basis, and the addition of electronics, whole tires, yard waste, and lead acid batteries to the list of acceptable recyclable materials in the regulation.

Copies of the proposed changes are available for public inspection during regular business hours at the ADEQ's Little Rock office in the Customer Service Division, located in Building D, 8101 Interstate 30, or ADEQ information depositories located in public libraries at Arkadelphia, Batesville, Blytheville, Camden, Clinton, Crossett, El Dorado, Fayetteville, Forrest City, Fort Smith, Harrison, Helena, Hope, Hot Springs, Jonesboro, Little Rock, Magnolia, Mena, Monticello, Mountain Home, Pocahontas, Russellville, Searcy, Stuttgart, Texarkana, and West Memphis; in campus libraries at the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff and the University of Central Arkansas at Conway; or in the Arkansas State Library located on the State Capitol grounds at Little Rock. In addition, a copy of the regulation showing the proposed changes is available for viewing or downloading at the ADEQ's Internet web site located at <u>www.adeq.state.ar.us</u>.

Oral and written comments will be accepted at the hearing, but written comments are preferred in the interests of accuracy. In addition, written and electronic mail comments will be considered if received no later than 4:30 p.m. September 14, 2004. Written comments should be mailed to Doug Szenher, Customer Service Division, Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 8913, Little Rock, AR 72219-8913. Electronic mail comments should be sent to: reg-comment@adeq.state.ar.us .

Published July 28, 29, and 30, 2004,

Marcus C. Devine, Director, Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality