NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Arkansas Pollution Control and Ecology Commission will hold a public hearing at North Little Rock November 30, 2009, to receive public comments on proposed revisions to Commission Regulation 30 (Remedial Action Trust Fund/Hazardous Substances Site Priority List). The hearing will begin at 2:00 p.m. in the Commission Room at the Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality (ADEQ) headquarters building, 5301 Northshore Drive, North Little Rock. The deadline for submitting written comments on the proposed Regulation 30 changes is December 14, 2009.

Regulation 30 establishes the state Hazardous Substances Site Priority List, which identifies Arkansas locations with hazardous substance issues which have been authorized to for funding by the state Hazardous Substances Remedial Action Trust Fund for assessment and possible remedial action.

The Commission's authority for amending Regulation No. 30 is found in Arkansas Code Annotated, Section 8-7-501, et seq. Proposed changes to Regulation 30 include the deletion of six sites which no longer require remedial action from the Priority List and the addition of four new locations for investigation, characterization and remedial action, if needed.

Facilities proposed for removal from the Priority List are:

- Benton Salvage, 108 Willow Street, Benton;
- Huntco Steel/JMS Processing, 5027 North County Road 1015, Blytheville;
- Rixey Iron and Metals Company, 8033 Old Jacksonville Highway, North Little Rock;
- Tankersly/White Dairy, 1009 Grand Avenue, Fort Smith;
- United States Forgecraft, 95 South Third Street, Fort Smith; and
- Valspar Corporation, 1900 East 145th Street, Little Rock.

Facilities proposed to be added to the Priority List are:

- Norphlet Chemical, Inc., Highway 600 MacMillan Road, Norphlet;
- Star Starrett Leer Manufacturing, 1008 U.S. Highway 65 South, Dumas;
- Thompson Scientific Industries, 1605 River Port Road, Scranton; and
- Walgreens Store No. 03425, 159 East Grand Avenue, Hot Springs.

Copies of the proposed changes are available for public inspection during regular business hours at the ADEQ office in the Public Outreach and Assistance (POA) Division, or at ADEQ information depositories located in public libraries at Arkadelphia, Batesville, Blytheville, Camden, Clinton, Crossett, El Dorado, Fayetteville, Forrest City, Fort Smith, Harrison, Helena, Hope, Hot Springs, Jonesboro, Little Rock, Magnolia, Mena, Monticello, Mountain Home, Pocahontas, Russellville, Searcy, Stuttgart, Texarkana, and West Memphis; in campus libraries at the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff and the University of Central Arkansas at Conway; or in the Arkansas State Library located on the State Capitol grounds at Little Rock. In addition, a copy of the regulation showing the proposed changes, along with related support documents, is available for viewing or downloading at the ADEQ's Internet web site located at www.adeq.state.ar.us.

Oral and written comments will be accepted at the hearing, but written comments are preferred in the interest of accuracy. In addition, written and electronic mail comments will be considered if received no later than 4:30 p.m. December 14, 2009. Written comments should be sent to Doug Szenher, Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality, Public Outreach and Assistance Division, 5301 Northshore Drive, North Little Rock, AR 72118. E-mail comments should be sent to: reg-comment@adeq.state.ar.us.

Published October 28 and 29, 2009,

Teresa Marks, Director, Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality