NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Arkansas Pollution Control and Ecology Commission (APC&EC) will hold a public hearing at North Little Rock January 9, 2012, to receive public comments on proposed revisions to Commission Regulation 30 (Remedial Action Trust Fund/Hazardous Substances Site Priority List). The hearing will begin at 2:00 p.m. in the Commission Room at the Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality (ADEQ) headquarters building, 5301 Northshore Drive, North Little Rock.

The deadline for submitting written comments on the proposed Regulation 30 changes is January 24, 2012.

In the event of inclement weather or other unforeseen circumstances, a decision may be made to postpone the hearing. If the hearing is postponed and rescheduled, a new legal notice will be published to announce the details of the new hearing date and comment period.

Regulation 30 establishes the state Hazardous Substances Site Priority List (SPL), which identifies Arkansas locations with hazardous substance issues which have been authorized to for funding by the state Hazardous Substances Remedial Action Trust Fund for assessment and possible remedial action.

The APC&EC's authority for amending Regulation No. 30 is found in Arkansas Code Annotated, Section 8-7-501, et seq.

Proposed changes to Regulation 30 include deleting five sites from the SPL because remedial actions at the locations have been performed to the extent that the sites no longer pose an unacceptable risk to human health or the environment; and the addition of one new site to the SPL.

Sites proposed for deletion from the SPL are:

- Dana Minton Property, 7126 Anderson Road, Alexander, Saline County.
- Baird Manufacturing, Highway 79B and Ann Alden Street, Clarendon, Monroe County.
- I. Easter Property (formerly Arkansas Power and Light Company Plant), 1400 W. 4th Street, Pine Bluff, Jefferson County.
- Value Line, 1205 N. 10th Street, Arkadelphia, Clark County.
- Walgreens Store No. 03425, 159 E. Grand, Hot Springs, Garland County. The proposed addition to the SPL is the former Fulton Class 3C Landfill on Quail

Road in Rogers, Benton County.

Copies of the proposed changes are available for public inspection during regular business hours at the ADEQ Headquarters Building in the Public Outreach and Assistance Division, or at ADEQ information depositories located in public libraries at Arkadelphia, Batesville, Blytheville, Camden, Clinton, Crossett, El Dorado, Fayetteville, Forrest City, Fort Smith, Harrison, Helena, Hope, Hot Springs, Jonesboro, Little Rock, Magnolia, Mena, Monticello, Mountain Home, Pocahontas, Russellville, Searcy, Stuttgart, Texarkana, and West Memphis; in campus libraries at the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff and the University of Central Arkansas at Conway; or in the Arkansas State Library, 900 W. Capitol, Suite 100, Little Rock. In addition, a copy of the regulation showing the proposed changes, along with related support documents, is available for viewing or downloading at the ADEQ's Internet web site located at www.adeq.state.ar.us.

Oral and written comments will be accepted at the hearing, but written comments are preferred in the interest of accuracy. In addition, written and electronic mail comments will be considered if received no later than 4:30 p.m. January 24, 2012. Written comments should be sent to Doug Szenher, Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality, Public Outreach

and Assistance Division, 5301 Northshore Drive, North Little Rock, AR 72118. E-mail comments should be sent to: <u>reg-comment@adeq.state.ar.us</u>.

Published December 7 and 8, 2011,

Teresa Marks, Director, Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality