Arkansas

Pollution Control and Ecology Commission

Rule No. 7 -- Civil Penalties

SECTION 1. Authority

Pursuant to the authority and provisions of the Arkansas Solid Waste Management Act, A.C.A. §§8-6-210 through 709; the Arkansas Water and Air Pollution Control Act, §§A.C.A. 8-4-101 through 313 and §§8-5-101 through 612; the Arkansas Hazardous Waste Management Act and the statutes governing regulated substance storage tanks, A.C.A. §§8-7-101 through 908; and the Recycling Act, A.C.A. 8-9-101 through 406; including amendments to these Acts and acts which the Division may be charged with enforcement authority,

WHEREFORE, the Arkansas Pollution Control & Ecology Commission hereby promulgates this Rule No. 7 to provide guidance for the assessment of civil penalties for the violation of any provisions of these Acts, or for the violation of any rules issued pursuant to these Acts or for the violations of any order, rule, agreement or permit, or any part thereof, issued under these Acts.

SECTION 2. Definitions

When used in this rule:

- (a) "Commission" means the Arkansas Pollution Control and Ecology Commission.
- (b) "Division" means the Division of Environmental Quality.
- (c) "Director" means the Director of the Division of Environmental Quality.
- (d) "Violation" means the failure to comply with any statute, order, rule, agreement, permit, or any part thereof, and includes both acts and omissions.
- (e) "Person" means any individual, corporation, company, firm, partnership, association, trust, joint stock company, state agency, government instrumentality or agency, institution, county, city, town, or municipal authority or trust, venture, or any other legal entity, however organized.

SECTION 3. Procedure

The assessment of civil penalties hereunder shall be in accordance with the administrative procedures specified in Rule No. 8, or if an action in a court of competent jurisdiction, then under the Arkansas Rules of Civil Procedure.

SECTION 4. Solid Waste Management

The amount of any civil penalty to be assessed for any person for the violation of any provision of the Arkansas Solid Waste Management Act, the Recycling Act or the Arkansas Solid Waste Disposal Code, and rules, plans or procedures developed thereunder, or the violation of any permit, order, rule or agreement, or any part thereof, shall be in accordance with the provisions of Act 1057 of 1991 and shall not exceed \$10,000.00 per violation. Each day of a continuing violation may be deemed a separate violation.

SECTION 5. Air

The amount of any civil penalty to be assessed any person for the violation of any provision of Part II of the Arkansas Water and Air Pollution Control Act and rules, plans or procedures developed thereunder or the violation of any permit, order, rule or agreement, or any part thereof, shall be in accordance with the provisions of Act 1057 of 1991 and shall not exceed \$10,000.00 per violation. Each day of a continuing violation may be deemed a separate violation.

SECTION 6. Hazardous Waste Management

The amount of any civil penalty to be assessed any person for the violation of any provision of the Arkansas Hazardous Waste Management Act and rules, plans or procedures developed thereunder, the Arkansas Hazardous Waste Management Code or the violation of any permit, order, rule or agreement, or any part thereof, shall not exceed \$25,000.00 per violation. Each day of a continuing violation may be deemed a separate violation.

SECTION 7. Water

The amount of any civil penalty to be assessed any person for the violation of any provision of Part I of the Arkansas Water and Air Pollution Control Act and rules, plans, or procedures developed thereunder, or the violation of any permit, order, rule, or agreement, or any part thereof, shall not exceed \$10,000.00 per violation. Each day of a continuing violation may be deemed a

separate violation.

SECTION 8. Regulated Substance Storage Tanks

The amount of any civil penalty to be assessed any person for the violation of any provision of the Regulated Substance Storage Tank Act and rules, plans and procedures developed thereunder, or the violation of any permit order, rule, or agreement, or any part thereof, shall not exceed \$10,000.00 per violation. Each day of a continuing violation may be deemed a separate violation.

SECTION 9. Determination of Amount

In determining the amount of a civil penalty to be assessed hereunder, the Division shall consider the following factors which may increase or decrease the amount of the assessed fine:

- (a) The seriousness of the noncompliance and its effect upon the environment, including the degree of potential or actual risk or harm to the public health caused by the violation.
- (b) Whether the cause of the noncompliance was an unavoidable accident.
- (c) The violator's cooperativeness and expeditious efforts to correct the violation.
- (d) The history of a violator in taking all reasonable steps or procedures necessary or appropriate to correct any noncompliance.
- (e) The violator's history of previous documented violations regardless of whether or not any administrative, civil, or criminal proceeding was commenced therefore.
- (f) Whether the cause of the violation was an intentional act or omission on the part of the violator.
- (g) Whether the noncompliance has resulted in economic benefit or pecuniary gain to the violator, including but not limited to cost avoidance.
- (h) Whether the pursuit and the execution of the enforcement action has resulted in unusual or extraordinary costs to the Division or the public.
- (I) Whether any part of the noncompliance is attributable to the action or inaction of the state government.
- (j) Whether the violator has delayed corrective action.

These factors, along with the provisions of the above named Acts and specifically Act 1057 of 1991, shall be used when determining an appropriate amount. In addition, the Division may develop and utilize formulas for the calculation of penalties for specific offenses, in an effort to uniformly assign penalty amounts where practicable.

SECTION 9. Effective Date

This rule shall be in full force and effect as of July 24,1992.

File: L:\PC&EREGS\REG07.WPD

By Arkansas Secretary of State at 8:39 am, Dec 15, 2021

ARKANSAS REGISTER



Transmittal Sheet

Use only for **FINAL** and **EMERGENCY RULES**

Secretary of State

John Thurston

500 Woodlane, Suite 026 Little Rock, Arkansas 72201-1094 (501) 682-5070





For Office Use Only:		
Effective Date	Code Number	
Name of Agency Arkansas Pollution (Control & Ecology Commission	n
Department Department of Energy a	and Environment	
Contact Michael McAlister	E-mail_mcalister@adeq.state.ar.us	Phone 501-682-0918
Statutory Authority for Promulgating Rul	es Act 704 of the 93rd Genera	al Assembly
Rule Title: Rule 7, " Civil Pena	ılties"	
Intended Effective Date		Date
Emergency (ACA 25-15-204)	Legal Notice Published	
10 Days After Filing (ACA 25-15-204)	Final Date for Public Comment	
Other(Must be more than 10 days after filing date.)	Reviewed by Legislative Council	
	Adopted by State Agency	12/03/2021
Electronic Copy of Rule e-mailed from: (Require	ed under ACA 25-15-218)	
Peter Alberg Peter.Alb	perg@adeq.state.ar.us	12/15/2021
Contact Person	E-mail Address	Date
CERTIFICATI	ON OF AUTHORIZED OFFI	CER
	fy That The Attached Rules Were Adopted	
In Compliance with the Ar	kansas Administrative Act. (ACA 25-15-20	1 et. seq.)
	hulls mouth	_
501-682-7890	moulton@adeq.state.ar.us	
Phone Number	E-mail Address	
Administrative Law	7 Juage Title	-
	12/13/2021	
	Date	_

2021 DEC 20 AM 10: 27

ARKANSAS ARKAANSAS STATE LIBRARY



Agency Certification Form For Depositing Rules

At the Arkansas State Library

DOCUMENT SERVICES, ARKANSAS STATE LIBRARY 900 West Capitol Avenue, Suite 100 Little Rock, AR 72201 501-682-2550

aslib-govdocs@ade.arkansas.gov



For Office Use Only				
Classification Number:				
Name of Agency:	Division/Department/	Office		
	•			
Arkansas Pollution Control & Ecolog		y and Environment		
Contact Person:	Telephone:			
Michael McAlister	501-682-0918			
Statutowy Authority for Dromulget	ring Dulas			
Statutory Authority for Promulgating Rules:				
Act 704 of the 93rd General Assembly				
Title of Rule: See attached index of rules amended.				
See attached index of rules amended.				
Rule Status	Date Adopted by Agency	Effective Date		
A	12/03/2021	10 Days After Filing		
Amended	12/03/2021			
_		Other:		
(Use drop down to select different status)	MM/DD/YYYY and will be replaced by final version	(if other, specify date)		
(Use drop down to select different status) Rule above is proposed a	MM/DD/YYYY and will be replaced by final version	(if other, specify date)		
(Use drop down to select different status) Rule above is proposed a	MM/DD/YYYY	(if other, specify date)		
(Use drop down to select different status) Rule above is proposed a	MM/DD/YYYY and will be replaced by final version	(if other, specify date)		
(Use drop down to select different status) Rule above is proposed a Financial and/or Fiscal I	MM/DD/YYYY and will be replaced by final version mpact Statement Attached	(if other, specify date)		
(Use drop down to select different status) Rule above is proposed a Financial and/or Fiscal I	MM/DD/YYYY and will be replaced by final version	(if other, specify date)		
(Use drop down to select different status) Rule above is proposed a Financial and/or Fiscal I Certi	MM/DD/YYYY and will be replaced by final version mpact Statement Attached fication of Authorized	(if other, specify date) Officer		
(Use drop down to select different status) Rule above is proposed a Financial and/or Fiscal I Certification I hereby certify that the attached residues	MM/DD/YYYY and will be replaced by final version mpact Statement Attached fication of Authorized rules were adopted in compliance v	Officer with Act 434 of 1967 as amended.		
(Use drop down to select different status) Rule above is proposed a Financial and/or Fiscal I Certification I hereby certify that the attached residues	MM/DD/YYYY and will be replaced by final version mpact Statement Attached fication of Authorized	Officer with Act 434 of 1967 as amended.		
(Use drop down to select different status) Rule above is proposed a Financial and/or Fiscal I Certification I hereby certify that the attached residues	MM/DD/YYYY and will be replaced by final version mpact Statement Attached fication of Authorized rules were adopted in compliance v	Officer with Act 434 of 1967 as amended.		

2021 DEC 20 AM 10: 27

ARKANSAS STATE LIBRARY

ARKANSAS POLLUTION CONTROL AND ECOLOGY

COMMISSION RULE AMENDMENTS INDEX

The following rules of the Arkansas Pollution Control and Ecology Commission have been amended following the expedited procedure of Act 704 of the 93rd General Assembly:

- a. Rule 1, "Prevention of Pollution by Oil Filed Waste";
- b. Rule 3, "Licensing of Wastewater Treatment Plant Operators";
- c. Rule 4, "Rule to Require a Disposal Permit for Real Estate Subdivisions in Proximity to Lakes and Streams";
- d. Rule 7, "Civil Penalties";
- e. Rule 9, "Fee Rule";
- f. Rule 11, "Rules for Solid Waste Disposal Fees; Landfill Post-Closure Trust Fund; Solid Waste Management and Recycling Fund Distribution; and Recycling Grant Programs";
- g. Rule 12, "Storage Tanks";
- h. Rule 15, "Arkansas Open-Cut Mining and Land Reclamation";
- i. Rule 17, "Arkansas Underground Injection Control Code";
- j. Rule 18, "Arkansas Air Pollution Control Code";
- k. Rule 20, "The Arkansas Surface Coal Mining and Reclamation Code";
- 1. Rule 21, "Arkansas Asbestos Abatement Rule";
- m. Rule 22, "Solid Waste Management Rules";

- n. Rule 26, "Rules of the Arkansas Operating Air Permit Program";
- o. Rule 28, "Rule of the State of Arkansas for County Recycling Programs";
- p. Rule 29, "Arkansas Brownfield Redevelopment";
- q. Rule 30, "Arkansas Remedial Action Trust Fund Hazardous Substances Site Priority List";
- r. Rule 31, "Nonattainment New Source Review Requirements";
- s. Rule 32, "Environmental Professional Certification";
- t. Rule 33, "Motor Vehicle Racing Facility Rules";
- u. Rule 34, "State Water Permit Rule"; and
- v. Rule 36, "Tire Accountability Program".

ARKANSAS POLLUTION CONTROL AND ECOLOGY COMMISSION

SUBJECT: Approval of Amendments to APC & EC Rules

Docket No. 21-003-MISC

MINUTE ORDER NO. 21-18

Pursuant to Act 704 of the 93rd General Assembly, the Arkansas Pollution Control and Ecology Commission hereby grants and approves the Division of Environmental Quality's Motion to Approve Rule Amendments, and approves the amendments to rules which are specifically set forth and contained in the mark-up drafts of rules provided to the Commission with the above-referenced motion; that further, the Commission orders that the existing effective date of each rule shall remain the same and that no substantive changes to these rules are promulgated or intended by these amendments.

THIS 3RD DAY OF DECEMBER, 2021, BY ORDER OF THE ARKANSAS POLLUTION CONTROL AND ECOLOGY COMMISSION.

COMMISSIONERS:

S. Ausbrooks
L. Bengal
C. Colclasure
J. Fox
M. Goggans
R. McMullen

D. Melton
R. Moss, Jr.
R. Reynolds
R. Roper
D. Vandergriff
W. Ward

R. Roper, Chair