SOLID WASTE LICENSING COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES August 13, 2015

A regular meeting of the Solid Waste Licensing Committee was held on Thursday, August 13, 2015, at 10:30 a.m., in Room 1E09 of the Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality Headquarters, 5301 Northshore Drive, North Little Rock, Arkansas.

The meeting was called to order by William Wright, Chair, who called the roll. Members present included William Wright, Rosemary Rogers, Phillip Davis, Neil Washburn, Elizabeth Hoover, Warren Atkins, Bill Burroughs, and Angela Sparks. Members absent were Gussie Robinson and Randy Harper. Others in attendance included Rickey Cole, Cassie Kent, and Jane Schwartz.

The minutes from the prior meeting were reviewed and approved.

The first order of business was to hold the annual election of Chair and Vice Chair. Motion was made, seconded and passed to move Neil Washburn from Vice Chair to Chair. An additional motion was made, seconded and passed electing Phillip Davis to Vice Chair.

Elizabeth Hoover provided the Department update. She stated that ADEQ continues to process renewals and that Jane Schwartz has done a wonderful job getting those out the door. She stated that the assessment results and modules had been mailed out, and that the department was waiting on comments from stakeholders. Elizabeth said that the Department was scheduled to meet with SWANA the next week to discuss the module concept. She told the members that ADEQ and AETA had met and discussed AETA proctoring some of the exams, and that an MOU had been drafted and was currently under review.

Elizabeth explained to the group that the new law, Act 937 of 2015, would be incorporated into Regulation 27. The group discussed that it was initiated because of Clean Harbors. Elizabeth also told the group that the Disclosure Statements no longer have to be notarized.

Ricky Cole gave the April through June AETA report for Randy Harper. He said that there were 203 hours, 265 students, and 17 locations.

The next meeting date was set for November 19, 2015. Having no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Neil Washburn, Chairman