SOLID WASTE LICENSING COMMITTEE

MEETING MINUTES

November 16, 2017

A regular meeting of the Solid Waste Licensing Committee was held on Thursday, November 16, 2017, at 10:30 a.m., in Room 1E09 of the Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality Headquarters, 5301 Northshore Drive, North Little Rock, Arkansas.

The meeting was called to order by Phillip Davis, Chairman. Members present included Phillip Davis, Neal Washburn, William Wright, Ken Nutt, Warren Atkins, Susan Speake, Jane Schwartz, and also special guest Paige Davis, and Jarrod Zweifel, Senior Manager, Assessment and Remediation. Gussie Robinson, Rosemary Rogers, Randy Harper, Bill Burroughs, and Angela Sparks were absent.

Warren Atkins made a motion to approve the minutes from the August 24, 2017 meeting, and Neal Washburn seconded the motion. The minutes from the prior meeting were approved.

Susan Speake reported that Jane Schwartz issued 697 Solid Waste Licenses and 30 Illegal Dump Control Officer Certifications since June 30, 2017. The schedule published from the Environmental Academy is on the ADEQ website.

She followed up with new highlights of the "Used Tire Recycling and Accountability Program" that implements a "rim removal fee" on the sale of all new tires and used tires, which ensures all commercial tire sales and internet sales are included; and implements an electronic manifest system and business plan requirements.

As of now, the Tire Program has three Managers, with Tammie Hynum, as Sr. Manager.

-E-Manifest Manager - Daniel Marks

-Facility Manager - Scott McWilliams

-Business Manager - Everett Hatcher

She also added that, at this time, she will be still handling the financial part of the tire program. Susan also gave a brief summary of those three tiers in the program

Sec. 3.

SOLID WASTE LICENSING COMMITTEE MEETING NOVEMBER 16, 2017 PAGE

Following this report, Susan asked for an update from Jarrod Zweifel. Jarrod said that the process has started for the hiring of a Licensing Manager to work with Jane in the Solid Waste Operator Licensing Program. This Manager will also be a contact person for all questions and concerns in Licensing. Susan concluded by reminding everyone to keep in mind that new committee member nominees need to be nominated and discussed at the February meeting.

Three (3) solid waste management facility operators are needed to replace Bill Burrough, Neil Washburn, and William Wright; one (1) On-site operator or supervisor of a nonsegregated materials recovery, transfer, or composting facility to replace Gussie Robinson. The other members whose terms are expiring (Rosemary Rogers and Angela Sparks) can be extended with the Committee's vote and Commission's approval to another 3-year term. Angela has agreed to serve as the Chairwoman for the next three (3) years. Warren Atkins agreed to a second 3-year term at the August meeting and will serve until July 2020. All of these appointments will need to be placed on the Commission's agenda sometime after February, so the appointments will comply with statute. A discussion followed.

Ken Nutt gave his training report from the Academy. Last quarter there were 250 contact hours, 130 Students enrolled, 15 different locations. January 1 till now 701 hours contacts, 748 students, at 60 locations, and more contract classes scheduled for December.

The next meeting date was set for February 22nd, Thursday at 10:30 a.m. at ADEQ.

With no further business, a motion was made to adjourn by Warren Atkins, and seconded by Neal Washburn. The meeting was adjourned

Phillip Davis, Chairman