SOLID WASTE LICENSING COMMITTEE

MEETING MINUTES

February 22, 2018

A regular meeting of the Solid Waste Licensing Committee was held on Thursday, February 22, 2018, at 10:30 a.m., in Room 1E09 of the Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality Headquarters, 5301 Northshore Drive, North Little Rock, Arkansas.

The meeting was called to order by Phillip Davis, Chairman. Members present included Phillip Davis, Neal Washburn, Angela Sparks, Rosemary Rogers, Ken Nutt, Warren Atkins, Ronald (Gene) Little, Licensing Manager, Jane Schwartz, and also special guest Paige Davis and Jennifer Merritt. Gussie Robinson, Randy Harper, Bill Burroughs, and William Wright were absent.

Neal Washburn made a motion to approve the minutes from the November 16, 2017 meeting, and Rosemary Rogers seconded the motion. The minutes from the prior meeting were approved.

Gene Little gave the Department report with an update on the recent ADEQ re-organizational changes. He explained that we have been moved under Julia Nicols, Sr. Manager of Policy and Administration in the Office of Land Resources. After sharing some of his duties in the RST Licensing, he outlined his role as the Manager, of the Licensing Program. He introduced Jennifer Merritt who is now with the licensing program to help Jane with the Solid Waste Licensing. He concluded by saying that Jane Schwartz issued 738 Solid Waste Licenses since June 30, 2017.

As an instructor for the Arkansas Environmental Academy classes, Angela Sparks ask Gene about the test questions in regard to the new Tire Regulation 36. She said she was still teaching the old Regulation 14 in class since Regulation 36 was not final and was in the process of being changed. It was discussed that until Regulation 36 is final, the test questions for the Licensing would not be changed. A discussion followed on the tire changes.

Kenny Nutt gave the Academy Report, after saying that Randy Harper was doing good after his recent medical procedure. He reported that he had – 180 Contact Hours, 145 Enrolled, at 15 Locations. Since January 1st, he had 74 Contact hours, 130 Enrolled, at 10 locations.

.

SOLID WASTE LICENSING COMMITTEE MEETING FEBRUARY 22, 2018 PAGE TWO

The next discussion was on the replacement of the members with terms that are expiring.

Three (3) solid waste management facility operators are needed to replace Bill Burrough, Neil Washburn, and William Wright; one (1) On-site operator or supervisor of a nonsegregated materials recovery, transfer, or composting facility to replace Gussie Robinson. The other members whose terms are expiring (Rosemary Rogers and Angela Sparks) can be extended with the Committee's vote and Commission's approval to another 3-year term. Angela has agreed to serve as the Chairwoman for the next three (3) years. Warren Atkins and Rosemary Rogers agreed to a second 3-year term at the August meeting and will serve until July 2020. All of these appointments will need to be placed on the Commission's agenda sometime after February, so the appointments will comply with statute.

The Committee discussed the following nominations: Stanley A. Chivers - Riceland; Paige Davis - Davis Rubber Co.; Jodi Reynolds - Waste Management; Randy Atkinson - City of Hot Springs; Warren Atkins-City of Little Rock Landfill (extended term)Angela Sparks – Craighead Co. RSWMD Lf (extended term);Rosemary Rogers - Marion Co. Transfer/Recycle. Angela Sparks made a motion, that pending the approval from the Board, that the Committee vote on the acceptance of the nominations, Rosemary Rogers seconded. Motion was approved. Gene Little, said he would contact the candidates by letter and let the Committee know at the next meeting.

The next meeting date was set for May 24th, on Thursday at 10:30 a.m. at ADEQ.

With no further business, a motion was made to adjourn by Angela Sparks, and seconded by Rosemary Rogers. The meeting was adjourned

Phillip Davis, Chairman