## SOLID WASTE LICENSING COMMITTEE

## MEETING MINUTES

## MAY 24, 2018

A regular meeting of the Solid Waste Licensing Committee was held on Thursday, May 24, 2018 at 10:30 a.m., in Room 1E09 of the Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality Headquarters at 5301 Northshore Drive, North Little Rock, Arkansas.

The meeting was called to order by Angela Sparks, Chairperson. (Via telephone) Members present included Jodi Reynold-Coffelt, Paige Davis, Randy Atkinson, Rosemary Rogers, Stan Chivers, Wendy Bland, Warren Atkins, and Gene Little. Others present included Randy Harper (still awaiting re-appointment), Kenny Nutt, and Jennifer Merritt. None of the members were absent.

Warren Atkins made a motion to approve the minutes from the previous meeting. And Rosemary Rogers seconded the motion. The minutes from the previous meeting were approved.

Gene Little welcomed the new committee members. Stipend payments were explained and paperwork was made available to any members of the board that might be interested in pursuing the stipend payment. He announced that all newly nominated members were accepted by the Department of Pollution Control and Ecology except for Randy Harper, who will be presented before the board again next month for approval. Gene gave the Department report stating that 820 solid waste licenses had been issued since 7/1/2017, and 29 Illegal Dump Control Officer Certifications in that same time period. He informed the committee that solid waste license renewal notices, had been send out by ADEQ on 5/23/18.

Randy Harper gave the Academy Report, saying that all training for the Fiscal year has been completed. Kenny Nutt reported that in this quarter he had 306 contact hours, with 343 enrolled, at 26 locations. From July 1, 2017-May 11, 2018 that he had 876 contact hours with 791 enrolled, at 69 locations. Angela Sparks asked for clarification on the difference between enrolled vs contact hours and Kenny provided that clarification.

Angela Sparks arrived at 10:52 a.m. and the meeting continued on with her in person versus the on the phone. A question was raised about who the Vice Chairman was? A motion was made to add that to the agenda by Wendy Bland, Warren Atkins seconded the motion. Wendy Bland nominated Warren Atkins as Vice Chairman and Rosemary Rogers seconded the motion. No one opposed the motion and so it passed.

The committee discussed the next meeting date and it was decided on August 30th, at 10:30 a.m. at ADEQ.

With no further business, a motion was made to adjourn by Jodi Reynold-Coffelt and Paige Davis seconded the motion. The meeting was adjourned.

Angela Sparks, Chairperson