SOLID WASTE LICENSING COMMITTEE

MEETING MINUTES

AUGUST 30, 2018

A regular meeting of the Solid Waste Licensing Committee was held on Thursday, August 30, 2018 at 10:30 a.m., in Room 1E09 of the Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality Headquarters at 5301 Northshore Drive, North Little Rock, Arkansas.

The meeting was called to order by Angela Sparks, Chairperson. Members present included Jodi Reynolds-Coffelt, Paige Davis, Rosemary Rogers, Warren Atkins, Randy Harper and Gene Little. Others present included Kenny Nutt, and Jennifer Merritt. Randy Atkinson, Wendy Bland and Stan Chivers were absent.

Randy Harper made a motion to approve the minutes from the previous meeting. Rosemary Rogers seconded the motion. The minutes from the previous meeting were approved.

Gene Little gave the Department report stating that 644 solid waste licenses had been issued since 7/1/2018, and 29 Illegal Dump Control Officer Certifications in that same time period. He informed the committee that an IDCO class was starting the first week of September and there could potentially be 6 new IDCO's and briefly covered some of the proposed changes to the IDCO program. Angela asked if ADEQ was proactive in chasing down the 100 or so people that had not renewed yet. Jennifer Merritt answered no, some of those people were no longer in the industry and it is not a good use of her time. Gene also discussed the proposed changes to Reg 27, namely that it would be changed from renewing every Fiscal Year to renewing on the Calendar year. The committee discussed the pros and cons of changing the timing of the renewals and Jodi Reynolds-Coffelt made a motion that the Committee recommend the change to ADEQ, Warren Atkins seconded the motion and it was approved. Randy Harper abstained from the vote. New board member needed because Stan Chivers has accepted a different position and is now dealing with air issues. The suggestion of the Committee was to try to contact Neal Washburn from Riceland and see if he had any suggestions to the board. Jennifer Merritt was tasked with finding out what spot on the board that Stan Chivers was filling.

Update classes through the Training Academy were discussed, including the current timing of the classes, and how that would change if the proposed changes to Reg 27 take effect. Other issues discussed were online payments and getting people to pay faster so the information can be sent to ADEQ faster.

Jodi Reynolds-Coffelt asked about online license renewal and if there was an option online to renew your license. Jennifer Merritt told her no, that is not currently an option but that would be something to look in to.

Randy Harper discussed the Train the Trainer event that the Training Academy held at Angela Sparks' facility in Jonesboro. He thanked Jennifer Merritt for being a guest speaker at that event. He announced that the 2019 schedule would be finalized next week and that they would send copies out to use as soon as possible. Kenny Nutt reported that in this quarter he had167 contact hours, with 255 enrolled, at18 locations.

Angela Sparks brought two items before the Committee. The Committee discussed voting by proxy, by having a non-committee member represent a board member at the meeting. Randy Harper brought a motion for approving voting by proxy, Rosemary Rogers seconded the motion. A vote was taken and the motion passed. Angela will create and send everyone a proxy form, to give to their representative.

The Committee discussed allowing meeting participation via telephone. The members did not like the idea, saying that there are only four meetings a year and they are scheduled three months in advance so people should be able to attend in person. Angela Sparks mentioned difficulties hearing when phoning in to the meeting, and the concern was that people would not come if they could just call in. No motion was made on this issue. It is a dead issue.

The committee discussed the next meeting date and it was decided on November 15th, at 10:30 a.m. at ADEQ.

With no further business, a motion was made to adjourn by Rosemary Rogers and Randy Harper seconded the motion. The meeting was adjourned.

Ingela Sparke

Angela Sparks, Chairperson