SOLID WASTE LICENSING COMMITTEE

MEETING MINUTES

May 23, 2019

A regular meeting of the Solid Waste Licensing Committee was held on Thursday, May 23, 2019 at 10:30 a.m., in Room 1E09 of the Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality Headquarters at 5301 Northshore Drive, North Little Rock, Arkansas.

The meeting was called to order by Angela Sparks, Chairperson. Members present included Jodi Reynold-Coffelt, Randy Harper, Wendy Bland, Paige Davis and Gene Little. Others present included Jennifer Merritt, David Witherow, and Michael Duren. Randy Atkinson and Warren Atkins were absent.

Wendy Bland made a motion to approve the minutes from the previous meeting. Randy Harper seconded the motion. The minutes from the previous meeting were approved.

Gene Little gave the Department report. 874 operators and 34 IDCO's. 725 renewals were sent out for solid waste and 34 for IDCO. There was discussion about why the solid waste bill didn't pass and what the confusion was about the bill. There was some discussion about the positive changes that were in the bill that will not happen until the bill can be revisited. Angela said that she would like to revisit the positive changes in the bill and would like to pursue those changes in the next legislative session in 2021.

Randy Harper gave the Academy report. Randy discussed the Environmental Office training that the academy was working with Shane Knight and Michael Grappe for an upcoming class in September. He mentioned that since the class will no longer be affiliated with ALETA that the class can now be held in other parts of the state. He mentioned that current IDCO's will be grandfathered in to EO's, that they will no longer be allowed to carry a weapon and it's been opened up to more people at the city government level. He said that Kenny Nutt's last day is July 31st, and there will be a party for him at noon. 32 people were not paid to the academy for classes they have taken (14 internet students and 18 traditional) Michael Duren reported 300 contact hours for 315 students at 25 locations. They reported since July 2018 till now (fiscal year) the academy had 897 contact hours for 891 students at 73 locations state wide.

David Witherow introduced the Lean project for online renewals. Pro's and con's were discussed as well as what the committee and the industry were looking for and wanting in functionality. The best ways to communicate renewals with the industry were discussed. (E-mail, snail mail, text messages etc) Operator license number, add a comment section, call your training provider line were all discussed. Credit card choices and Source Well as a possible way to find different

vendor than INA were suggested. It was suggested that the AAFIN could be used as a standard identifier.

New business: The committee was informed by Wendy Bland that Rosemary Rogers was no longer in her position and therefore could not hold her seat on the committee. Suggestions were made for replacement nominees. Billy Sawyer was suggested from Garland County.

The committee discussed the next meeting date and it was decided on August 22nd, at 10:30 a.m. at ADEQ.

With no further business, a motion was made to adjourn by Randy Harper and Wendy Bland seconded the motion. The meeting was adjourned.

Angela Sparks, Chairperson