SOLID WASTE LICENSING COMMITTEE

MEETING MINUTES

February 3, 2022

A regular meeting of the Solid Waste Licensing Committee was held on Thursday, February 3, 2021 at 10:30 a.m., via Zoom conference call.

The meeting was called to order by Jennifer Parslow, Executive Secretary. Members present included, Jennifer Parslow, Jodi Reynold-Coffelt, Jeff Barfield, Joe Hopper and Shane Ellis. Alan Spangler represented Randy Harper. Wendy Bland, Billy Sawyer and Randy Atkinson were absent.

No minutes were available from the last meeting. The recording of the meeting was lost.

Randy Atkinson gave his vote to Jodi Reynold-Coffelt via proxy. Billy Sawyer gave his vote to Jennifer Parslow via proxy.

Randy Harper was nominated to be the Committee chairperson. Jodi Reynold-Coffelt made the motion. Shane Ellis seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Joe Hopper was nominated to be the Committee vice chairperson. Jodi Reynold-Coffelt made the motion. Jeff Barfield seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Jennifer Parslow gave the DEQ report: There are 720 active operators, 116 inactive for a total of 836 operators. 15 provisional licenses have been issued, from 13 different facilities. The committee discussed turnover, retention rates and attrition causes among operators. 52 phone exams were given in 2020. In 2021, 70 were given. An update on Rule 27 was given, charting next steps towards final approval of the Rule.

Alan Spangler gave the Academy report: Apprentice exams 92 in 2020 and 107 in 2021, Journeyman exams 53 in 2020 and 81 in 2021, Master exams 57 in 2020 and in 2021 44. 512 update classes given in 2020 and 532 given in 2021. In 2020 735 operators were taught in 76 classes. In 2021, 720 operators were taught with 78 classes. The apprentice and journeymen courses have been rewritten and new tests developed. The new masters course will be available soon.

The committee discussed the next meeting date and it was decided on May 19, at 10:30 a.m. at DEQ and via Zoom.

With no further business, a motion was made to adjourn by Jeff Barfield and Joe Hopper seconded the motion. The meeting was adjourned.

Randy Harper, Chairperson