## SOLID WASTE LICENSING COMMITTEE

## MEETING MINUTES May 18, 2023

A regular meeting of the Solid Waste Licensing Committee was held on Thursday, May 18, 2023 at 10:30 a.m. in the Boston Mountains Conference room of the Arkansas Department of Environment and Energy Headquarters at 5301 Northshore Drive, North Little Rock, Arkansas.

The meeting was called to order by Randy Harper, Chairman. Members present in person, Jennifer Parslow, Randy Harper, Billy Sawyer, Jodi Reynolds-Coffelt, Tony Lee, Jeff Barfield and Joe Hopper. Members absent Shane Ellis and Wendy Bland. A guest to the meeting was Carolyn Pollard representing DEQ.

Joe Hopper made a motion to approve the minutes from the previous meeting. Jeff Barfield seconded the motion. The motion carried and the minutes from the previous meeting were approved.

Jennifer Parslow gave the DEQ report: There are 728 active operators expiring on December 31, 2024. 13 phone exams have been given to date. 11 provisional licenses are active. ePortal exam applications are a few weeks from going live for credit card transactions only. There was a discussion about class sizes compared to the previous four years and operators scores based on the regions they tested in. There was a discussion about hiring and retention of operators and the new course location in Hot Springs.

Randy Harper gave the Academy report: Fiscal year end 2022: Overall the largest training year for the Academy. They taught 347 classes, 5,843 training hours to 4,164 students for the Academy as a whole. Solid Waste classes are down compared to the same time frame last year: down 9 apprentices, down 12 Journeyman and down 11 masters. Update classes are up 6 students. All total down 21 students compared to the same time frame last year.

The committee discussed member turnover and term expiration dates.

The committee discussed the next meeting date on August 3<sup>rd</sup>, 2023 at 10:30 a.m. at DEQ. The other 2023 meeting date is November 9<sup>th</sup>.

With no further business, the chair adjourned the meeting.

Randy Harper, Chairperson