## SOLID WASTE LICENSING COMMITTEE

## MEETING MINUTES November 9, 2023

A regular meeting of the Solid Waste Licensing Committee was held on Thursday, November 9th, 2023, at 10:30 a.m. in the Boston Mountains Conference room of the Arkansas Department of Environment and Energy Headquarters at 5301 Northshore Drive, North Little Rock, Arkansas.

The meeting was called to order by Randy Harper, Chairman. Members present in person: Jennifer Parslow, Randy Harper, Jeff Barfield, Tony Lee, and Joe Hopper. Members absent were Jodi Reynolds-Coffelt (Randy Harper acting as proxy), Shane Ellis (Jennifer Parslow acting as proxy), and Wendy Bland (Joe Hopper acting as proxy). Guests to the meeting were Carolyn Pollard, Susan Speake, Jarrod Zwiefel, Melody Walker, and Haley Griffith representing DEQ and Alan Spangler, representing the Arkansas Environmental Training Academy.

Joe Hopper made a motion to approve the minutes from the previous meeting. Tony Lee seconded the motion. The motion carried, and the minutes from the previous meeting were approved.

Randy Harper read in to the record the resignation of Billy Sawyer from the committee. Tony Lee made a motion to accept the resignation, Jeff Barfield seconded the motion. The motion carried, and the resignation was accepted.

New member nominations were discussed, committee members were provided a map showing each members location. A void in the north east corner of the state is present and Jennifer Parslow recommended that a new member that qualifies, to fill the vacancy, come from that section of the state. Jennifer Parslow will consult with legal to get clarification on if the backfill for this vacancy is eligible to fulfill the second term of this position or if they will be presented to the commission as a new member and therefore eligible to hold two terms upon appointment after completing the remainder of this members term as dictated in code. Jennifer Parslow will also get clarification from legal if Angela Sparks, a former member of the committee who would be willing to rejoin, is eligible for the vacated position.

Jennifer Parslow gave the DEQ report: There are 821 active operators expiring on December 31st, 2024. 42 phone exams have been given to date. 25 provisional licenses are active. An update on ePortal exam applications and the various marketing efforts to get the word out about ePortal given. QR codes for a link to ePortal and the disclosure statement was discussed. The committee discussed the retest process when an operator fails an exam. The procedure recommended is that a same day retest is offered with a different exam, if they fail a second time

they have to wait a month to retest again. If they fail the third test it is recommended that they go through the course again. The powers and duties of the committee were discussed.

Alan Spangler gave the Academy report: 620 students in 2023. Apprentice 149 students to date. Journeyman 46 students to date. Master 28 year to date. Update classes have had 375 students. Hunter Schelle added as a SW adjunct. Shane Knight is returning as a SW adjunct.

The committee discussed the next meeting date of May16th, 2024 at 10:30 a.m. at DEQ. The 2024 remaining meeting dates are set as August 15<sup>th</sup>, and November 21<sup>st</sup>.

With no further business, the chair adjourned the meeting.

Randy Harner, Charperson