## SOLID WASTE LICENSING COMMITTEE

## MEETING MINUTES February 15, 2024

A regular meeting of the Solid Waste Licensing Committee was held on Thursday, February 15, 2024, at 10:30 a.m. in the Arkansas River Valley conference room of the Arkansas Department of Environment and Energy Headquarters at 5301 Northshore Drive, North Little Rock, Arkansas.

The meeting was called to order by Randy Harper, Chairman. Members present in person: Jennifer Parslow, Randy Harper, Tony Lee, Joe Hopper, Jodi Reynolds-Coffelt, and Shane Ellis. Members absent were Wendy Bland (Joe Hopper acting as proxy) and Jeff Barfield (Jennifer Parslow acting as proxy). Guests to the meeting were Haley Griffith, Lori Burke representing DEQ and Alan Spangler, representing the Arkansas Environmental Training Academy and Mason Goheen.

Joe Hopper made a motion to approve the minutes from the previous meeting. Tony Lee seconded the motion. The motion carried, and the minutes from the previous meeting were approved.

Jennifer Parslow reviewed current member tenure.

Election of chair and vice chair was held. Joe Hopper made a motion to leave the chair position the same, Jodi Reynolds-Coffelt seconded the motion. The motion carried. Randy Harper will serve the 2024 year as the chairman.

Joe Hopper nominated Jeff Barfield as vice-chair, Jodi Reynolds-Coffelt seconded the motion. The motion carried. Jeff Barfield will serve the 2024 year as the vice-chairman.

New member nominations were discussed, committee members were provided a map showing each members location. Jennifer Parslow advised that Angela Sparks is eligible to hold the position vacated by Billy Sawyer. Joe Hopper made a motion to nominate Angela Sparks for that position, Jodi Reynolds-Coffelt seconded the motion. The motion carried. Angela Sparks will be presented to the APC&E Commission in a future meeting. Upcoming vacancies were discussed. Members recommended names of potential candidates (Joe Pence, Blake Small, John Dyson, and Brian Pugh). Jennifer Parslow will reach out to potential candidates to gauge interest in joining.

Jennifer Parslow followed up on questions raised in the last meeting. Term limits when filling a vacated position were discussed. A member filling a vacated position is eligible to hold a second term. Jennifer Parslow will create a standard operating procedure for testing and re-test procedures. Disclosures were discussed, ePortal payment methods were discussed.

Jennifer Parslow gave the DEQ report: There are 842 active operators expiring on December 31st, 2024. 3 phone exams have been given to date. 26 provisional licenses are active. New curriculum for the Environmental Officer and testing was discussed.

Alan Spangler gave the Academy report: 698 students in 2023. He compared 2022 student numbers with 2023 and the Academy is down 117 students across all levels of solid waste classes, most significantly in the update classes.

The committee discussed the next meeting date of May16th, 2024 at 10:30 a.m. at DEQ. The 2024 remaining meeting dates are set as August 15<sup>th</sup>, and November 21<sup>st</sup>.

With no further business, the chair adjourned the meeting.

Randy Harper, Chairperson