ARKANSAS WASTEWATER LICENSING COMMITTEE WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 11, 2009 ADEQ MEETING ROOMS 5C05/06

MEMBERS

Mark Johnson, Rogers Water Utilities, Chair Cindy Garner, Executive Secretary, ADEQ Steve Upton, Heber Springs Wastewater Department David Thomason, Arkadelphia Water & Sewer David Gross, Future Fuels Chemical, Batesville Kelly Bryant, Evergreen Packaging, Inc. Jennifer Bouldin, Ph.D. Arkansas State University Dennis Brunson, Hot Springs Municipal Utilities Dawn Keller, Wastewater Licensing Administrator, ADEQ Sandy Luttrell, Wastewater Licensing Coordinator, ADEQ

MINUTES

The meeting of the Wastewater Licensing Committee was called to order at 10:06 a.m., on Wednesday, February 11, 2009, by Chairman Johnson. Members present were Johnson, Upton, Bryant, Gross, Bouldin, Thomason, Brunson & Garner. Guests present were Martin Nutt, ADH; Suzanne Stair; L. Lamor Williams, Reporter, Arkansas Democrat Gazette; Dawn Keller, Wastewater Licensing Administrator and Sandy Luttrell, Wastewater Licensing Coordinator.

The minutes from November 12th meeting were reviewed by the members and no changes or additions were noted. A motion was made by Bouldin to accept the minutes and seconded by Bryant, the motion was approved.

The financial report was given by Garner. Appropriations were discussed. Garner informed the committee that a vehicle has been requested for the wastewater licensing staffs use. Also, updated versions of the California wastewater operator's manuals have been ordered for ADEQ's stock. These are utilized by operators when preparing for tests.

The Licensing Report was given by Keller.

No one was present with the Rural Water Association or Environmental Academy for this meeting.

Under new business, the reappointment of Mark Johnson and Dennis Brunson for a second term was discussed. Both would be interested in serving consecutive terms on the committee, if it be the wishes of the other members. A motion was made by Gross to reappoint Johnson and Brunson to the committee and seconded by Thomason, the motion was approved.

The continuous of the stipend payments to the board members was discussed. Ms. Garner informed the committee that the current amount of \$60 is the maximum allowed by the state. A motion was made by Gross to approve the stipend continuation at the current rate and was seconded by Thomason. The motion passed.

Garner and Keller discussed their research findings for utilizing the ABC Testing Center for Class IV testing of operators, as discussed in the last meeting. To get started, a one time membership fee of \$1,800 for the paper-based testing, which is good for all levels of testing once you join. A separate fee of \$1,000 for web-based testing set-up. An exam charge per operator of \$23.00 for paper-based test and \$36.00 for web-based test.

Aside from the fees involved, we could add some of our own questions, grades would be known immediately, the time allowed would be about the same and everyone agreed there was no down side to implementing this program. Thomason made a motion to implement ABC's paper and web-based testing for the multiple choice portion of the Class IV exam and Bouldin seconded. It passed with no opposition.

Garner then brought to the table, the need for a panel of no less than 3 to be created for the purpose of grading the essay portion of the Class IV test. Discussion ensued as to whether to keep the essay portion of the test. Upton made a motion to keep the essay portion of the Class IV testing in place, which was seconded by Brunson and approved by the committee.

Then the board discussed the required qualifications of the panel members to be chosen. They should currently hold a Class IV operators license; no 2 people from the same organization should be seated on the panel during any one given time; and the grades will be the average of all scores earned from each panel member. Suggestions for the panel pool were made by numerous members of the board and the audience. They included: Mike Thomason (Maumelle), Stan Suel (LRWW), Dennis Brunson (Hot Springs), Lisa White (Texarkana), Alma Clark (Mtn. Home), Greg Raney (Clarksville), Mike Ross (OMI, Fayetteville), Doug Pendergrass (Ft. Smith), Dan Dawson (Searcy), Lisa Ellington (Paragould), Belva Plumlee (Bentonville), Harold Baker (El Dorado), Bill Miller (Sherwood), Stan Miller (LRWW), Larry Hazel and Duyen Tran (OMI, Fayetteville). Keller will notify each to ask if interested in becoming members of this panel. A motion to create this panel was made by Brunson and seconded by Bouldin, and was passed.

Another issue was changes to Regulation 3. These included removal of grandfather language and adding time held to a Class II license before obtaining a Class III. This discussion was tabled until the next meeting.

Johnson announced the next scheduled meeting is set for Wednesday, May 13, 2009, at 10am.

A motion to adjourn the meeting was called by Bouldin and seconded by Upton. The meeting adjourned.