## ARKANSAS WASTEWATER LICENSING COMMITTEE WEDNESDAY, AUGUST 13, 2014 Room 1E09

<u>Committee Members</u> Kelly Bryant, Chairman, Evergreen Packaging, Inc. Lisa Ellington, Paragould Light, Water & Cable Jimmy Smith, Searcy Water & Sewer Tommy Tooke, Tyson Foods, Inc. Rodney Williams, Ph.D., University of Arkansas William Winn, Winn Environmental Consulting Steven Upton, Eden Isle Corporation

## **MINUTES**

The meeting of the Arkansas Wastewater Licensing Committee was called to order at 10:00 A.M. on Wednesday, August 13, 2014, by Chairman Bryant.

<u>Public Present</u>: Richard Healey, Sandy Luttrell and Amy Schluterman, ADEQ; Terri Upton; Heather Parker Foster and Kevin Suel, Military Dept. of AR.

<u>Previous Minutes</u>: The May 14, 2014, meeting minutes were reviewed. **Mr. Williams moved to approve the** minutes as written. Ms. Ellington seconded the motion, carried.

Financial Report: Ms. Luttrell presented the Wastewater Licensing Funds Report.

<u>Licensing Report</u>: Ms. Luttrell presented the Licensing Report. Discussion began over the Class IV test results. How many applicants were retesting? Are applicants checking out reference materials available through ADEQ?

<u>Public Comments</u>: Chairman Bryant recognized that no one was present at the meeting from the AR Environmental Training Academy or the AR Rural Water Association.

Mr. Healey with ADEQ presented Chairman Bryant with an appreciation plaque for her service on the Wastewater Licensing Committee for the past six years.

Mr. Suel requested the total amount available in the Wastewater Licensing funds, which Chairman Bryant made available. He asked about when nominations were being taken for Ms. Bryant's position on the Board. It was noted that nominations had already been accepted and were to be discussed shortly. Ms. Foster inquired about other Class IV wastewater training available to operators besides the course offered through the AR Environmental Training Academy.

<u>Old Business</u>: The Committee reviewed additional details provided by the City of Fort Smith for their request to approve training course hours, which was tabled during the May meeting. Mr. Smith motioned to accept all hours that apply to the City of Fort Smith's training classes: Chlorine Safety training taught by Brenntag Southwest (2/12/2014 - 4 direct hours); Hazardous Materials Emergency Responder Operations training taught by SET Environmental (1/29/2014 - 8 indirect hours; 2/19/2014 - 4 indirect hours; 2/25/2014 - 4 indirect hours). Mr. Upton seconded the motion, carried.

<u>New Business</u>: Chairman Bryant asked for nominations to her seat as Chairman on the Board. **Mr. Upton moved** to appoint William Winn as the new Chairman for the Committee. Mr. Smith seconded the motion, carried.

The Committee reviewed three (3) wastewater operator nominations submitted for Mr. Upton's seat on the Board, term ending November 30, 2014. Mr. Smith motioned to recommend Mr. Michael Overstreet to the Commission to fill this position. Ms. Ellington seconded the motion, carried.

Chairman Bryant announced Mr. Tooke's first term with the Board was ending August 31<sup>st</sup>. She then asked if he would be interested in continuing to serve for a second consecutive term at this time, which he agreed to do so.

The Committee considered reciprocity approval of a New Jersey / Maryland applicant, Michael John Carroll, for an Arkansas Class III / Advanced Industrial license. Mr. Winn made a motion to allow this application for reciprocity to a Class III license and to submit an additional application, if interested in obtaining an Advanced Industrial license, which would be reviewed and approved at the next Committee meeting. Mr. Upton seconded the motion, carried.

The Committee was provided a minute order approval by the Commission for Mr. Wright to serve a three year term on the Committee starting September 1, 2014.

Ms. Bryant announced the next scheduled meeting: November 12, 2014, at 10:00 A.M.

**Mr. Smith moved to adjourn the meeting. Mr. Tooke seconded the motion, carried.** The meeting was adjourned at 10:37 A.M.