## ARKANSAS WASTEWATER LICENSING COMMITTEE WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 12, 2014 Room 1E09

## **Committee Members**

Kelly Bryant, Chairperson, Evergreen Packaging, Inc.
Jennifer Bouldin, Ph.D., Arkansas State University
Lisa Ellington, Paragould Light, Water & Cable
Jimmy Smith, Searcy Water & Sewer
Tommy Tooke, Tyson Foods, Inc.
Steven Upton, Heber Springs Wastewater Department
William Winn, City of Fayetteville
Craig Uyeda, Executive Secretary, ADEQ – absent

## **MINUTES**

<u>Public Present</u>: Sandy Luttrell, Amy Schluterman, and Deborah Gerst, ADEQ; Jonathan Richardson and Randy Harper, AR Environmental Training Academy; Susan Poe, AR Rural Water Association

<u>Executive Session</u>: Ms. Bryant explained that guests and staff would be dismissed for a brief executive session to discuss personnel matters.

The public meeting was called to order by Ms. Bryant at 10:10 A.M.

<u>Previous Minutes</u>: The November 13, 2013, meeting minutes were reviewed. **Mr. Smith moved to approve the minutes as written. Mr. Winn seconded the motion, carried.** 

Financial Report: Ms. Luttrell presented the Wastewater Licensing Funds Report, there was no discussion.

<u>Licensing Report</u>: Ms. Luttrell presented the Licensing Report. Ms. Ellington said that it seemed unusual for no one to pass the Class IV exam. Ms. Schluterman explained that they offered different materials and workbooks to the class, but only two people out of the seventeen borrowed books. Mr. Winn asked if there have been requests for the ABC books. Ms. Luttrell verified that they have been requested.

<u>Public Comments</u>: The AR Environmental Academy gave a brief summary of classes and The AR Rural Water Association gave a handout showing their classes.

<u>Old Business</u>: The Arkansas Wastewater Licensing Committee met in Executive Session to discuss nominations for the open position on the Committee held by Dr. Jennifer Bouldin whose term has expired. After discussion of the two nominees, the consensus of the Arkansas Wastewater Licensing Committee was to recommend Dr. Rodney Williams for the open position.

EdX under Delft University wastewater webinar was considered for approval for license renewal training hours. Mr. Winn said he didn't see a need to go out of state for this type of training. Mr. Winn motioned to deny the request. Ms. Ellington seconded the motion, carried.

<u>New Business</u>: The Committee considered Oklahoma Class A and current Arkansas operator, Blake Winkle, for Class IV reciprocity. Mr. Winn noted that he had been doing some consulting work and he asked to remove himself from voting. Ms. Bouldin motioned to deny his reciprocity request and allow him to sit for the Arkansas Class IV test once he has 6 years of work experience. Ms. Ellington seconded the motion, carried.

The Committee considered possible reciprocity of the Kansas Class IV reciprocity applicant, Steven Gorszczyk. It was noted that he has 26-years-experience and had also been licensed in Missouri. **Mr. Smith moved to accept the reciprocity for Steven Gorszczyk. Mr. Upton seconded the motion, carried.** 

Class III license eligibility for Mayo Miller and Class II license eligibility for Nicholas Galuska were handled previous to the meeting. They were both attending class this week with the Committees approval to test afterwards.

Ms. Bryant made note of Committee member terms ending:

Second Term

Kelly Bryant 7/31/2014 Steven Upton 9/30/2014

First Term

Tommy Tooke 8/31/2014 He expressed a desire to continue serving on the Committee.

Ms. Bryant announced the next scheduled meeting: May 14, 2014, at 10:00 A.M.

Ms. Bouldin expressed her enjoyment and appreciation in working with everyone.

Mr. Tooke moved to adjourn the meeting. Mr. Smith seconded the motion, carried. The meeting was adjourned at 10:34 A.M.

Respectfully submitted, Deborah Gerst