## ARKANSAS WASTEWATER LICENSING COMMITTEE WEDNESDAY, MAY 13, 2015 Room 1E09

<u>Committee Members</u> William Winn, Chairman, Winn Environmental Consulting Lisa Ellington, Paragould Light, Water & Cable Jimmy Smith, Searcy Water & Sewer Tommy Tooke, Tyson Foods, Inc. Rodney Williams, Ph.D., University of Arkansas William Wright, Albemarle Corporation Michael Overstreet, Jacksonville Wastewater Richard Healey, Executive Secretary, ADEQ

## MINUTES

The meeting of the Arkansas Wastewater Licensing Committee was called to order by Chairman William Winn at 10:01 A.M. on Wednesday, May 13, 2015.

Public Present: Sandy Luttrell and Leslie Daniel, ADEQ.

<u>Previous Minutes</u>: The February 11, 2015, meeting minutes were reviewed. **Mr. Williams made a motion to** approve the minutes as written. **Mr. Tooke seconded the motion, carried.** 

Financial Report: Ms. Luttrell presented the Wastewater Licensing Funds Report.

Licensing Report: Ms. Luttrell presented the Licensing Report.

Public Comments: No one was present from ARWA or AETA.

<u>Old Business</u>: The Committee discussed the previously tabled matter of accepting the online training courses offered through Water-Otter.com. Several members agree that sufficient training is already offered to Arkansas operators by the states approved training facilities currently in use. The online courses available through the Arkansas Environmental Training Academy provide wastewater operators with college hour recognition, whereas with Water-Otter.com, there is no accreditation. Finally, without the interaction of a classroom training environment, operators lose the benefit of consulting one-on-one with other experienced and knowledgeable operators. **Mr. Wright made a motion to deny acceptance of the Water-Otter.com online training program, which was seconded by Ms. Ellington. The motion carried.** 

<u>New Business</u>: Committee members, Lisa Ellington and William Winn, are approaching the end of their first term of service on the Wastewater Licensing Committee (May 31, 2015). Ms. Luttrell asked if they would like to serve a second term immediately following this date. They both agreed to serve consecutively. **Mr. Williams motioned to allow Ms. Ellington and Mr. Winn to serve their second term on the Board immediately following the May 31<sup>st</sup> end date. Mr. Wright seconded the motion and it carries.** 

The Committee considered materials provided by Georgia reciprocity applicant, Lawrence Jacob Smith, for approval of an Arkansas Wastewater license. After some review, Ms. Ellington made a motion that the Committee accept his application for an Arkansas Class III operator. The motion was seconded by Mr. Smith, and it carried.

The Committee briefly discussed the need for Regulation 3 language changes and the need for adding a new classification for Collection System operators to the current licensure list. It was also announced that Ms. Becky Keogh has been appointed as the new director for the Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality.

Chairman Winn informed the Committee that the Arkansas Water Environment Association plans to implement an ABC based Collection System license/certificate to operators completing this course. He stated that 36 states currently issue collection system licenses to wastewater operators.

The next scheduled meeting: August 12, 2015, at 10:00 A.M.

Mr. Williams motioned to adjourn the meeting at 10:40 A.M. Mr. Tooke seconded the motion and it carried.