## ARKANSAS WASTEWATER LICENSING COMMITTEE WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 8, 2017 Room 1E09

## **Committee Members**

Lisa Ellington, Chairman, Paragould Light, Water & Cable Jennifer Enos, Springdale Water Utilities Rodney Williams, Ph.D., University of Arkansas William Wright, Albemarle Corporation Tommy Tooke, Tyson Foods, Inc. Michael Overstreet, Jacksonville Wastewater Jo Anna Brown, Little Rock Wastewater Richard Healey, Executive Secretary, ADEQ

## **MINUTES**

The meeting of the Arkansas Wastewater Licensing Committee was called to order by Chairman, Lisa Ellington, at 10:00 A.M. on Wednesday, February 8, 2017.

<u>Public Present</u>: Randy Harper and Kenneth Harvey, AR Environmental Training Academy; Susan Poe, AR Rural Water Association; Jane Hurley, Central Arkansas Water; Sandy Luttrell and Leslie Allen-Daniel, ADEQ.

<u>Previous Minutes</u>: The November 9<sup>th</sup> meeting minutes were reviewed by the Committee. **Ms. Enos made a** motion to approve the minutes as written. **Mr. Williams seconded the motion and it was accepted.** 

<u>Financial Report</u>: Ms. Luttrell presented the Financial Report for the Wastewater Licensing division.

<u>Licensing Report</u>: Ms. Luttrell presented the License Issuance Report for the past quarter.

<u>Training Updates</u>: Mr. Harper reported that SAU Tech University now has a new chancellor, Dr. Jacob Morrison. Mr. Harvey handed out publications of the Arkansas Environmental Training Academy's 2017 schedules.

Ms. Poe provided training reports on the Rural Water Association's quarterly training courses and attendance. She also mentioned their monthly specialized training for renewal hours, which began at the first of the year.

<u>Public Comments</u>: Ms. Luttrell informed the Board that the newest member, Ms. Jo Anna Brown, had been approved to serve on the Committee by the Arkansas Pollution Control and Ecology Commission, and her minute order reflecting this approval was provided in their packets.

Ms. Luttrell also brought to the Committee's attention that the required annual approval of the stipend reimbursement amount was needed by all members on the Board. Ms. Ellington made a motion to accept the \$60 amount set for stipend reimbursement by each committee member, with the exception of those working for the state. The motion was seconded by Mr. Williams and it carried.

<u>Old Business</u>: Discussion continued over the proposed idea of a new license for non-municipal domestic sewage treatment plant operators, which was presented by Mr. Bob Blanz of ADEQ's Office of Water Quality. Many feel that a Class I license would be adequate, as long as the facility remains in compliance. Small systems with diverse differences, each to be handled on a case by case basis (ex: a drip irrigation system requires no licensed operator).

Ms. Ellington suggested that we formulate a recommendation for Mr. Blanz, require a Class I operator or above depending on the process needs of the plant. Refer to Regulation 3, Classification of Plants, using the same point system as the NPDES permits to determine the class of license. This will be provided to all Committee Members for revisions before presentation to Mr. Blanz.

Mr. Healey pointed out that the Committee had agreed to accept ABC's testing agreement at our last meeting. Also mentioned during this discussion, having an additional class/test covering Regulation 3 materials, even adding a day to the Class I course to cover these important state specific points which ABC cannot provide.

Regulation 3 changes were discussed further. Mr. Williams suggested waiting until legislation from Representative Andy Davis come about and then incorporating later. Ms. Ellington suggest all members start reviewing the regulations to determine what changes are needed to address the issues of clarification and to clean-up the verbiage so it makes better sense.

Finally, talks continue over the online training offered through Houston Industrial Training Institute. Several are still opposed to allowing training providers from outside the state to be approved for credit hours. Ms. Brown asked if we could request internet access to their training programs, to view the courses for ourselves and see what the training consists of firsthand. This will be tabled until the next meeting, giving Ms. Luttrell time to request this information for the board to access their training program.

<u>New Business</u>: Ms. Ellington brought up the need to appoint a new Vice-Chairman after her taking the Chairman's seat. Mr. Wright makes a motion to nominate Rodney Williams for this position, which is seconded by Ms. Enos. The nomination/motion carries.

David Poe with Pine Bluff Wastewater has requested a list of the past years newly licensed Class IV operators. He wants to invite these operators to attend and be recognized the AWW&WEA Wastewater Awards luncheon at this year's spring conference, which will be held on May 1, 2017. Ms. Hurley would also like to be included to receive this list. Due to unfortunate circumstances, Class IV operators were not properly invited and in attendance at the 2016 conference from the previous year, so all agreed we need to reach out to operators obtaining their Class IV licenses during the past 2 years to be recognized at the 2017 conference luncheon.

Ms. Luttrell presented documentation to the Committee on Thomas W. Vinson, reciprocity applicant requesting Arkansas municipal and industrial wastewater operator licenses. He held an Arkansas Class IV and Advanced Industrial license from 2003 through 2009 when he moved out of state and let them lapse and become inactive. Mr. Vinson currently holds a California Class IV and Colorado Class A industrial license, which was obtained through ABC certification. Mr. Wright made a motion to grant him an Arkansas Class IV and Advanced Industrial operator license. Ms. Enos recused herself from voting, due to their friendship. Mr. Williams seconded the motion and it carried.

Ms. Ellington announced the next scheduled meeting: May 10, 2017, at 10:00 a.m.

Mr. Williams made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 11:32 a.m., which was seconded by Mr. Wright. The motion carried.