## ARKANSAS WASTEWATER LICENSING COMMITTEE WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 13, 2019 Room 1E09 – Conference Room

<u>Committee Members</u> Rodney Williams, Chairman, Ph.D., University of Arkansas Jennifer Enos, Vice-Chairman, Springdale Water Utilities Michael Overstreet, Jacksonville Wastewater Lance McAvoy, City of Fort Smith Richard Healey, Executive Secretary, ADEQ Jonathan Richardson, Martin Operating Partnership - absent Cecil Zolliecoffer, Ozark Water Department - absent

## MINUTES

The meeting of the Arkansas Wastewater Licensing Committee (AWLC) was called to order by Chairman Rodney Williams, at 10:05 A.M. on Wednesday, February 13, 2019.

<u>Public Present</u>: Andrew Rike, P.E., Harbor Environmental, Inc.; Doug Ford, P.E., Pollution Management, Inc.; Susan Poe, AR Rural Water Association; Rickey Cole, AR Environmental Training Academy; Sandy Luttrell and Leslie Allen-Daniel, ADEQ, Office of Water Quality.

<u>Previous Minutes</u>: After reviewing the November 14<sup>th</sup> meeting minutes, Mr. McAvoy noted a change under "New Business". The current year of test questions being proctored by ABC reads 2017, but should be changed to 2012. Ms. Luttrell stated that correction would be made. **Ms. Enos made a motion to accept the minutes as corrected, which was seconded by Mr. McAvoy. The motion was accepted.** 

<u>Financial Report</u>: Ms. Daniel presented the financial reports to the Committee.

<u>Licensing Report</u>: Ms. Daniel reported the number and types of wastewater exams proctored and licenses issued during the past quarter.

<u>Training Updates</u>: Mr. Cole presented a training report for all 2018 wastewater classes held, showing the total number of students enrolled and training hours awarded by the Environmental Training Academy.

Ms. Poe presented the Committee with a training report of attendance and training hours issued by the Rural Water Association for December, 2018, and January, 2019.

There were no additional public comments brought before the Committee.

<u>Old Business</u>: The Arkansas Pollution Control & Ecology (APC&E) Commission's minute order was provided to the Board, approving the reappointment of Ms. Jennifer Enos for a second term on the Wastewater Licensing Committee.

Ms. Luttrell informed the Committee that the appreciation plaque they approved at November's meeting has been mailed to Mr. William Wright, for his four (4) plus years of service on our Board.

Mr. Healey updated the Board on the status of changing the wastewater licensing fees. He stated that the licensing fees ADEQ currently charges are set in statue. The goal was to remove the maximum wastewater licensing fees in statute and set them through regulation, so third-party (Association of Boards of Certification - ABC) testing costs could be paid by exam applicants. During our review process, ADEQ's Legal Division noted that due to constitutional issues, the maximum fee imposed must be set in statute to avoid "unlawful delegation of legislative powers". The Department will re-evaluate this matter and address the issue at a future legislative session.

Mr. McAvoy updated Board members about his January trip to Georgia for the annual ABC conference. There was valuable discussion daily and he learned some interesting things. They have created a professional operator license and discussed making reciprocity much easier for everyone seeking licensure. Mr. Williams was concerned this would allow felons that are not repeat offenders, the opportunity for licensure, which creates character issues. He does plan to return next year and will provide the department with a summary from his attendance.

Mr. Healey updated the Board regarding a decision made during the November meeting, when they chose a program option with ABC. It has been brought to his attention that ADEQ's original program with ABC was never changed over to the 2017 standardized testing, as we thought. The test questions are still 2012 state specific. This was an error by ABC, as they admitted. Mr. Healey recommended electing to wait the 6 month period and then switch to the 2019 version.

<u>New Business</u>: Mr. Healey announced that the Committee must vote to approve the stipend reimbursement amount for the new calendar year, which is always addressed at the first meeting of the year. Mr. McAvoy made a motion to accept the set rate, which was seconded by Ms. Enos. The motion was accepted.

The Committee reviewed two nominations received for the vacant seat held by William Wright, who resigned in September, 2018. Both candidates are present for today's meeting and addressed several questions from our Board. The audience was asked by our chairman to be excused while the Committee broke for executive session. Upon their return, Chairman Williams announced their decision to recommend Mr. Doug Ford to the Arkansas Pollution Control and Ecology Commission for appointment to the Arkansas Wastewater Licensing Committee, to fulfill the existing term left from this vacancy.

Mr. Williams announced the next scheduled meeting: May 8, 2019 at 10:00 a.m.

## The meeting adjourned at 11:41 a.m.