ARKANSAS WASTEWATER LICENSING COMMITTEE WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 10, 2021 ONLINE ZOOM CONFERENCING MEETING

Committee Members

Jennifer Enos, Chairman, Springdale Water Utilities Lance McAvoy, Vice-Chairman, City of Fort Smith Doug Ford, Pollution Management, Inc. Jeff Ford, Kimzey Regional Water Wen Zhang, Ph.D., University of Arkansas David Sartain, El Dorado Chemical Company Richard Healey, Executive Secretary, ADEE

MINUTES

The meeting of the Arkansas Wastewater Licensing Committee (AWLC) was called to order by Chairman Jennifer Enos, at 10:12 A.M. on Wednesday, February 10, 2021.

<u>Public Present</u>: Susan Poe, AR Rural Water Association; Stacie Wassell, ADEE, Legal Division; Sandy Luttrell, Leslie Allen-Daniel and Elizabeth Kizer, ADEE, Division of Environmental Quality.

<u>Previous Minutes</u>: After reviewing the November 4th meeting minutes, Mr. McAvoy noted several corrections that need to be made to the minutes. **Mr. Jeff Ford made a motion to accept the minutes as edited, which was seconded by Mr. Doug Ford. The motion was accepted.**

Financial Report: Ms. Luttrell presented the quarterly budget and expenditures report to the Committee.

<u>Licensing Report</u>: Ms. Luttrell reported the number of wastewater exams proctored and license certifications issued during in the past quarter.

<u>Training Updates</u>: Mr. Randy Harper was out teaching a Class IV training course this week, so he was not in attendance. He did provide a summary report outlining the number of students enrolled and the training hours awarded by the Environmental Training Academy.

Ms. Susan Poe presented the Committee with an overview of courses, training hours issued and students in attendance from the Rural Water Association.

<u>Public Comments</u>: There were no topics brought up for discussion at this time.

<u>Old Business</u>: The discussion resumed over the approval of Water Otter training courses being accepted for Arkansas wastewater operators. This topic was brought before the committee at November's meeting, which was tabled for six months to gather more information on accessing their training program for our board members. We will revisit this at our next meeting in May, 2021.

Mr. Healey informed the board that the 2021 wastewater operator license renewal process would begin the first of April. Approximately 3,500 operators will be receiving their renewal statements the first week and we would be including an announcement of the six month extension for training hours to be met. Ms. Enos suggested we spell out how any training hours acquired after July 1, 2021 to complete the full 24-hour requirement, would only apply once to their training records to complete the 2021 renewal (not eligible to use for the 2021-2023 license period).

<u>New Business</u>: Ms. Luttrell announced that the Committee must vote to approve the stipend reimbursement amount for the new calendar year, which is always addressed at the first meeting of the year. **Mr. McAvoy made a motion to accept the set stipend rate, which was seconded by Mr. Jeff Ford. The motion was accepted.**

Ms. Enos welcomed our newest board member, Mr. David Sartain, with El Dorado Chemical Company. We appreciate your willingness to serve and look forward to working with you.

Ms. Enos relayed that an email was sent to several members by Ms. Wassell, regarding revisions now being considered for Rule 3. Members need to make suggestions for any updates they feel are necessary to recommend in addition to those gathered over a period of time which Ms. Wassell has in her possession. Mr. McAvoy stated that the legislature is working to incorporate the changes we have been diligently requesting for years. Ms. Wassell stated that the proposed changes will initially go before the Commission before it is introduced to the legislature.

Mr. McAvoy brought up new legislation passed last week regarding criminals convicted of crimes, cannot hold certain licenses (after 5 years in some cases). Is DEQ working on any type of waiver for this legislation? Ms. Wassell stated that Title 17 may not be directly applicable to wastewater operator licenses. She plans to let Mr. Healey know so he can pass along information to the Wastewater Licensing Committee.

Mr. Healey announced that Ms. Jamie Ewing with Little Rock Water Reclamation Authority, withdrew her earlier nomination for a committee member on our board.

Chairman Enos announced the next scheduled meeting of this Committee: May 12, 2021 at 10:00 a.m.

The meeting adjourned at 11:02 a.m.