## ARKANSAS WASTEWATER LICENSING COMMITTEE WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER 10, 2021 ONLINE ZOOM CONFERENCING MEETING

## **Committee Members**

Jennifer Enos, Chairman, Springdale Water Utilities
Lance McAvoy, Vice-Chairman, City of Fort Smith – (absent)
Doug Ford, Pollution Management, Inc. – (absent)
Jeff Ford, Kimzey Regional Water
Wen Zhang, Ph.D., University of Arkansas
David Sartain, El Dorado Chemical Company
Austin Ramsfield, Jacobs Engineering
Richard Healey, Executive Secretary, ADEE

## **MINUTES**

The meeting of the Arkansas Wastewater Licensing Committee (AWLC) was called to order by Chairman Jennifer Enos, at 10:05 A.M. on Wednesday, November 10, 2021.

<u>Public Present</u>: Stacie Wassell, Sandy Luttrell, Leslie Allen-Daniel and Elizabeth Kizer, ADEE, Division of Environmental Quality.

<u>Previous Minutes</u>: After a brief review, **Mr. Jeff Ford made a motion to accept the minutes as written, which was seconded by Mr. Sartain. The motion carries.** 

Financial Report: Ms. Luttrell presented the quarterly budget and expenditures report to the Committee.

<u>Licensing Report</u>: Ms. Luttrell gave a report of the number of wastewater exams proctored and license certifications issued during in the past quarter.

<u>Training Updates</u>: Ms. Enos announced since no one was present from the AR Environmental Training Academy or the Arkansas Rural Water Association; we will skip this item and revisit it if someone joins the meeting shortly.

<u>Public Comments</u>: Ms. Enos said since no public was in attendance, there are no topics for discussion at this time.

<u>Old Business</u>: Mr. Healey gave an account of the 2021 wastewater operator license renewals still in progress, with the training hours being extended through the end of the year.

Ms. Daniel presented minute orders approved by the Arkansas Pollution Control & Ecology Commission appointing new board member, Austin Ramsfield and the reappointment to a second term for board member, Jeff Ford.

<u>New Business</u>: Ms. Luttrell presented the committee with documentation on a Missouri Class A reciprocity applicant, Daniel Scherer, who is requesting consideration for an Arkansas Class IV license. **Mr. Jeff Ford made a motion to grant Mr. Scherer an Arkansas Class III operator license with the opportunity to take the Class IV exam if requirements are met. The motion was seconded by Mr. Sartain and it carried.** 

Ms. Luttrell presented a request by Texas Class A reciprocity applicant, Steven McHenry, who wishes to be considered for an Arkansas Class IV operator license. Mr. Jeff Ford made a motion to grant Mr. McHenry an Arkansas Class III operator license with the opportunity to sit for our Class IV exam as long as all requirements have been met. Mr. Sartain seconded the motion and it carries.

Mr. Healey announced that Chairman Jennifer Enos was quickly approaching the end of her second term of service on this Committee (January 31, 2022). He recognized her outstanding service during the past six years and how valuable her efforts and knowledge have been to the state of Arkansas. A plague of appreciation for her service will be sent by the agency acknowledging her dedication.

Mr. Healey asked if there are any nominations of a new Committee Chairman or Vice-Chairman to the board at this time. Mr. Jeff Ford made a motion to nominate Vice-Chairman Lance McAvoy as the new Chairman. This motion was seconded by Ms. Zhang and it carries. After further discussion, Chairman Enos made a motion to nominate Jeff Ford as Vice-Chairman to the Board. The motion was seconded by Ms. Zhang and it carries.

Chairman Enos announced the next scheduled meeting of this Committee: February 9, 2022 at 10:00 a.m.

The meeting adjourned at 10:50 a.m.