## ARKANSAS WASTEWATER LICENSING COMMITTEE WEDNESDAY, May 11, 2022 ONLINE ZOOM CONFERENCING MEETING

## **Committee Members**

Jeff Ford, Vice-Chairman, Kimzey Regional Water Doug Ford, Pollution Management, Inc. Austin Ramsfield, Jacobs Engineering Wen Zhang, Ph.D., University of Arkansas Lance McAvoy, Chairman, City of Fort Smith David Sartain, El Dorado Chemical Company – (absent) Richard Healey, Executive Secretary, ADEE

## **MINUTES**

The meeting of the Arkansas Wastewater Licensing Committee (AWLC) was called to order by Chairman Lance McAvoy, at 10:03 A.M. on Wednesday, May 11, 2022.

<u>Public Present</u>: Susan Poe and Ches Jackson with Arkansas Rural Water Association; Randy Harper and Kenneth Robertson with Arkansas Environmental Training Academy; Heath Ward (joined at 10:30) with Springdale Water Utilities; Stacie Wassell (joined at 10:45), Sandy Luttrell, Sarah Pierce and Leslie Allen-Daniel, ADEE, Division of Environmental Quality.

<u>Previous Minutes</u>: After a brief review, **Jeff Ford made a motion to accept the minutes as written, which was seconded by Mr. Doug Ford. The motion carried.** 

Financial Report: Ms. Allen-Daniel presented the quarterly budget and expenditures report to the Committee.

<u>Licensing Report</u>: Ms. Allen-Daniel gave a report of the number of wastewater exams proctored and license certifications issued during in the past quarter.

<u>Training Updates</u>: Mr. Randy Harper, with the AR Environmental Training Academy, introduced Kenneth Robertson as the new WW Trainer. Mr. Harper also stated that most locations have opened back up for training and new locations were added. The new locations are Fairfield, Jacksonville, and Paragould. All Camden classes now offer Zoom classes. They have also added new classes with pumps, chlorine, microbiology, and that the new classes are up about 15 % with attendance.

Ms. Susan Poe with the Arkansas Rural Water Association presented a report on the new EPA program dealing with facilities in SNC. Stating she will be going to the facility to assist the operators.

<u>Old Business</u>: Mr. Healey gave a continuing update of the 2021 wastewater operator license renewals still in progress, which gave operators a training hour requirements extension through the end of the license renewal year, December 31, 2021. There were 367 operators who paid the renewal fee but did not have enough hours. They are now down to 118 operators remaining.

Mr. Healey gave an update on Heath Ward's appointment stating that all Commission meetings were pushed to May 26, 2022 and hope to have him approved at that time.

<u>New Business</u>: Reciprocities – James Jamieson, Class A, license from Colorado, requested a Class IV. Colorado does ABC testing. **Mr. Jeff Ford made the motion to grant Class IV and Mr. Austin Ramsfield seconded the motion. The motion carried.** 

Richard Pursley, Class A, license from Texas, requested a Class IV. Texas has state exams for all levels, past practice is to grant a Class III and allow them to test for a Class IV immediately following. Mr. Jeff Ford made the motion to grant a Class III and allow to test immediately for Class IV and Ms. Wen Zhang seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Jason Terry, Class B, license from Texas, requested a Class III license. Mr. Jeff Ford motions to grant Class III license and Mr. Austin Ramsfield seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Kyle Sharp, Class B, license from Texas, requesting a Class III license. Mr. Jeff Ford motioned to grant a Class III license and Ms. Wen Zhang seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Mr. Healey announced the next Committee meeting dates. Ms. Wen Zhang requested moving the August 10, 2022 meeting date to August 17, 2022. The committee was all in agreement. **Next Committee meeting is August 17, 2022, at 10:00 am via Zoom.** 

Ms. Stacie Wassell gave a presentation about going to ePortal for operator licenses; she discussed submitting Training Hours Submittal Form and then adding applications, reciprocity, training requests, etc.

Mr. Doug Ford, motion to adjourn and Austin Ramsfield seconded the motion.

The meeting adjourned at 11:04 a.m.