ARKANSAS WASTEWATER LICENSING COMMITTEE WEDNESDAY, November 9, 2022 ONLINE ZOOM CONFERENCING MEETING

Committee Members

Lance McAvoy, City of Fort Smith, Chairman Jeff Ford, Vice-Chairman, Kimzey Regional Water Doug Ford, Pollution Management, Inc. Austin Ramsfield, Jacobs Engineering Wen Zhang, Ph.D., University of Arkansas Heath Ward, Springdale Water Utilities Richard Healey, Executive Secretary, ADEE

MINUTES

The meeting of the Arkansas Wastewater Licensing Committee (AWLC) was called to order by Chairman Lance McAvoy, at 10:01 A.M. on Wednesday, November 9, 2022.

<u>Public Present</u>: Chesli Jackson with Arkansas Rural Water Association; Randy Harper with Arkansas Environmental Training Academy; Dennis Sternberg with ARWA; Sarah Pierce, Leslie Allen-Daniel and Karren Thomas ADEE, Division of Environmental Quality.

<u>Previous Minutes</u>: After a brief review, **Heath Ward made a motion to accept the minutes as written, which was seconded by Austin Ramsfield. The motion carried.**

<u>Financial Report</u>: Ms. Allen-Daniel presented the quarterly budget and expenditures report to the Committee. No irregularities noted.

<u>Licensing Report</u>: Ms. Allen-Daniel gave a report of the number of wastewater exams proctored and license certifications issued during in the past quarter. Good report layout and appreciate the addition of Reciprocity Licenses Issued.

<u>Training Updates</u>: Mr. Randy Harper, with the AR Environmental Training Academy, appreciated help from ADEQ with the Train the Trainer classes. Schedule for 2023 is at the printer and should be ready in two to three weeks. In-house classes in Camden and classes will also be available by Zoom.

Also provided update on classes in 2022. Increase of elected officials and licensed operators attending classes. Reason for increase may be availability of funding and training requirements. Online training classes are full and are adding more in-class which is also full.

Explanation of ARPA – American Rescue Plan Act by?

Funding provided (approximately 150 Million each to Hospitals, Broadband and Waste Water. Projects must be complete by December '26 with plans including infrastructure by December '22. More bipartisan funds will be available but no details at this time.

Dennis Sternberg, ARWA reviewed 2022 Waste Water Training Report. Richard advised that Dennis had received a grant to provide technical assistance to facilities. Susan is in charge of identifying plants that are not in compliance and is providing the assistance to help plants improve their processes.

<u>Old Business</u>: Mr. Healey noted Commission meeting has been delayed until December 2 and the approval of Andrew Rike to serve the remaining term vacated by David Sartain will be addressed at this meeting.

Also the decision to approve the nomination of Lance McAvoy to serve a 2nd three year term will be addressed at the December 2nd meeting. Lance's current term does not expire until the end of the year.

Mr. Healey presented the Certification Statement for Waste Water Operators. Certification Statement would be required for new Waste Water Operators and Reciprocity Applicants. It was also suggested new applicants be required to have form notarized.

Lance McAvoy suggested that anyone renewing a license should also be required to sign every two years. This would ensure that operators are aware of changes and updates in Rule 3

Mr. Healy noted that the Certification Statement can be incorporated in the e-portal and due to the unique set-up process would not need to be notarized when renewing licenses.

Motion by Heath Ward to accept Certification Statement and Jeff Ford seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Lance McAvoy noted work on Certification Statement by Stacie Wassell appreciated and she was missed at the meeting today.

<u>New Business</u>: E-Portal Update by Leslie. Moving all licensing forms (application, THSF, etc.) to e-portal. Sarah is working to create form for submitting Hours. Application is finalized and will turn off paper application first of year. 40 or more operators signed up at conference and Sarah is working with facilities to set up operators on e-portal. Heath Ward said efforts are appreciated and he is placing emphasis on e-portal by including it as a goal on evaluations. Richard Healy also appreciates everyone efforts; encountering some challenges but working through each one.

Reciprocities – Frank Steward, Class A license from Missouri, wants to be granted an Arkansas Class IV and Basic license. Precedent for requests of this nature is to grant license for class below and applicant is eligible to set for next class when available. Motion made by Heath Ward to grant Class III and Basic Industrial and allow to sit for Class IV exam with a second by Jeff Ford. The motion carried.

Janice Drake-Guy, Grade IV license from Oregon, wants to be granted an Arkansas Class IV license. Oregon uses the ABC Standardized Exam. Applicant also holds a Grade V license from California. Motion by Heath Ward to grant Class IV and Doug Ford seconded motion. The motion carried.

Skye Laine Rose – Grade III license from Tennessee, wants to be granted an Arkansas Advanced Industrial license. No established precedent to grant Industrial license from Municipal. Applicant state tested in 2019 and does have a Class III with the additional training that would qualify her for an Industrial license. Lance McAvoy recommends if approved will be a **one-time** unique instance – **not** a precedent. Motion by Heath Ward to grant Advanced Industrial license. Second by Jeff Ford. Motion carried.

Mr. Healey announced the next Committee meeting dates for 2023. Ms. Wen Zhang requested moving the dates to Thursday due to conflict of another meeting scheduled on Wednesday. Meetings in 2023 will be moved to Thursday. **Next Committee meeting is February 9, 2023 at 10:30 am via Zoom.** Leslie will send everyone an Outlook Calendar Reminder for the date and time of next meeting.

Heath Ward commented that the Bethel Heights clean-up and remediation has begun.

Lance McAvoy stated he has been honored to serve as the chair for the committee.

Mr. Jeff Ford, motion to adjourn and Doug Ford seconded the motion.

The meeting adjourned at 11:07 a.m.