ARKANSAS WASTEWATER LICENSING COMMITTEE WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 9, 2022 ONLINE ZOOM CONFERENCING MEETING

Committee Members

Jeff Ford, Vice-Chairman, Kimzey Regional Water
Doug Ford, Pollution Management, Inc.
Austin Ramsfield, Jacobs Engineering
Wen Zhang, Ph.D., University of Arkansas – (available @ 10:30)
Lance McAvoy, Chairman, City of Fort Smith – (absent)
David Sartain, El Dorado Chemical Company – (absent)
Richard Healey, Executive Secretary, ADEE

MINUTES

The meeting of the Arkansas Wastewater Licensing Committee (AWLC) was called to order by Vice-Chairman Jeff Ford, at 10:32 A.M. on Wednesday, February 9, 2022.

<u>Public Present</u>: Dennis Sternberg with Arkansas Rural Water Association; Shannon Smith with Arkansas Environmental Training Academy; Stacie Wassell, Sandy Luttrell, and Leslie Allen-Daniel, ADEE, Division of Environmental Quality.

<u>Previous Minutes</u>: After a brief review, **Ms. Zhang made a motion to accept the minutes as written, which was seconded by Mr. Doug Ford. The motion carries.**

Financial Report: Ms. Luttrell presented the quarterly budget and expenditures report to the Committee.

<u>Licensing Report</u>: Ms. Luttrell gave a report of the number of wastewater exams proctored and license certifications issued during in the past quarter.

<u>Training Updates</u>: Mr. Shannon Smith was present on behalf of Mr. Randy Harper, with the AR Environmental Training Academy. He presented a report of the classroom attendance and added courses to the calendar year.

Mr. Dennis Sternberg with the Arkansas Rural Water Association presented a report of their classroom training and the numbers in attendance.

Public Comments: Mr. Jeff Ford announced there were no topics for discussion at this time.

<u>Old Business</u>: Mr. Healey gave a continuing update of the 2021 wastewater operator license renewals still in progress, which gave operators a training hour requirements extension through the end of the license renewal year, December 31, 2021. The staff has been inundated with training hours accumulating daily to meet this deadline, not to mention a slow-down created when a staff member relocated. The majority of operator hours were accomplished by taking the EPA's free online webinar training courses.

<u>New Business</u>: Ms. Luttrell announced the Committee must vote to approve the stipend reimbursement amount set for the 2022 calendar year, which is always addressed at the first meeting of each year. **Mr. Doug Ford made a motion to accept the set stipend rate of \$60.00, which was seconded by Ms. Zhang. The motion was accepted.**

Mr. Healey announced that one nomination had been received by the department for the Committee board member vacancy. It calls for a member to be appointed by the commission, who shall be an employee of a municipality operating a wastewater treatment plant who holds the position of chief administrative officer, city engineer, director of public utilities, or other equivalent position. Mr. Healey informed the Committee that Chairman Lance McAvoy and the Arkansas Water Works and Water Environment Association (AWWWEA) recommended Mr. Heath Ward with Springdale Water Utilities. He has been the Executive Director over water and wastewater with Springdale since 2013. Ms. Zhang made a motion to accept his nomination for the vacant seat left by Ms. Enos, to be presented to the Arkansas Pollution Control and Ecology Commission for their approval. This motion was seconded by Mr. Doug Ford and it carries.

Vice-Chairman Jeff Ford announced the next scheduled meeting of this Committee: May 11, 2022 at 10:00 a.m.

The meeting adjourned at 10:57 a.m.